$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

4 stars
1000 Penn Avenue, 1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
42 reviews
luke bryan

Perfect!!! Loved it and was so nice! Would stay again See full review

  • kris6555
  • Jun 23, 2014
Baseball week-end

The Westin proved exceptionally clean and convenient for our week-end to catch the Pirates play at... See full review

  • old pirate fan
  • Sep 3, 2013
Sleek hotel where every room has a view of downtown Pittsburgh

No hotel offers easier access to the David L. Lawrence Convention Center than the Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh -- thanks to a skywalk that connects the two buildings. The hotel also has an impressive amount of meeting space of its own, and all rooms feature plush Westin Heavenly Beds. Guests who need to get to downtown destinations can catch a ride in the complimentary shuttle.

Highlights
  • Complimentary shuttle to downtown business and cultural destinations
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Connected to David L. Lawrence Convention Center
  • 8,000-square-foot fitness center
Rooms

All 616 rooms feature the Westin Heavenly Bed, a specially designed, 13-inch Simmons mattress with pillow top and motion-sensitive construction to minimize movement when one partner rolls over. The in-room coffeemaker comes with Starbucks coffee. Westin Workout Rooms are special guest room with private workout equipment. These larger rooms include either a Tomahawk stationery bicycle or LifeFitness treadmill.

Features

For travelers doing business at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, no other hotel offers the convenience of the Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh -- the two buildings are connected by a skywalk. Visitors doing business elsewhere in Pittsburgh can get to and from their meetings via a complimentary downtown shuttle.

 

The hotel is smoke free and offers free Wi-Fi in public spaces and guest rooms. The fitness center offers 8,000 square feet of workout space with Nautilus equipment and an indoor pool. Runners can hop on a treadmills or consult with the running concierge for a map of Pittsburgh outdoor running routes. Special Westin Workout Room guest rooms come with in-room exercise equipment.

 

Guests have multiple dining options including Penn City Grille and Panini and Pizza. Seafood lovers will enjoy the Original Fish Market, which serves lunch and dinner, and is highly regarded for its sushi and oysters.

Transportation
  • Complimentary shuttle to downtown destinations Monday through Friday
  • Pittsburgh Amtrak Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Allegheny County Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
Nearby attractions
  • David L. Lawrence Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • The Strip (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • PNC Park, home to the Pittsburgh Pirates (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • Connects by skywalk to adjacent David L. Lawrence Convention Center
  • 23 meeting rooms
  • 34,000 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Steam bath
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Doorman
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Mellon Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 0.5 mi
  • PNC Park: 0.5 mi
  • Heinz Field: 1.1 mi
  • Petersen Events Center: 1.8 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,144.8 mi

Dining

Penn City Grille
Penn City Grille features revitalizing dishes made from healthy ingredients rich in nutrients, antioxidants and appetizing flavors, to start your day feeling excellent.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Mar 7, 2011

very good

We went to the Benedum Center. The hotel service was very good and the hotel room was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, ga
Jan 9, 2011

Lovely city stay

The hotel is in a perfect location. Plenty of good restaurants and bars to walk to. Plus we were going to a game at the Consol which was only a ten minute walk from the hotel. The bed is very nice and comfortable as well and the conservatively decorated rooms were a pleasure to stay in. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sharp Edge. Amazing Belgium bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Beach Florida
Dec 8, 2010

Very fine hotel

The stay was very professional and aside from the bone-chilling cold weather, my staff was fine. Good location and up to date technical facility.How do I get a copy of the hotel bill? They did not give me one when I checked out saying that it's billed to [...]....not sure I understood that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food in the hotel was great and equally great restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 7, 2010

Simply the best

I stayed to clear my head and go out and party for the night, but honestly I was so tired after work and the bed was so comfortable, I stayed in and channel surfed, slept and looked out at the beautiful night view of the strip district! I was completely content with that due to the room being totally comfortable. I'd definitely stay again. A little surprised there was no fridge or kitchenette for what was paid, but I was satisfied. I definitely recommend this hotel. Staff was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Strip district has all sorts of bars and clubs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Jul 17, 2010

Westin Convention Center

The hotel is great! Its is perfectly located in the downtown. The restaurant downstairs was amazing!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fresh Market Restaurant Amazing Lobster Pasta.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 12, 2010

Westin

The hotel is nice, service is great. But no free wireless internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL.
Jul 11, 2010

Westin Pburgh

No turndown. Internet connection basically useless. Helpful valet staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sonoma Grill. Fantastic food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 6, 2010

Nice hotel, very poor customer relations

I've been staying at this hotel since it was first established as the Vista probably 25 years ago. And through all the different hotels that have been at this location (Omni/Doubletree/Westin), I can say I've never had a bad experience here, until this last time. The room wasn't as clean as I'd like, or that I'm used to at this hotel, but it wasn't that big of a deal. The real problem was with the staff and their inability to either inform me of the impending noise come 7:30am on Saturday morning, or to take some sort of empathy to what was occuring. When I arrived asked the person at check-in how late I could stay in the room because I was not going to be getting to sleep until 4am or so. She told me checkout is at Noon. Indeed, I did not get back to hotel room until 4am and went to sleep. 3 and a half hours later, at 7:30am, horns began blaring and a person on a PA system began shouting at a crowd. I wasn't sure how long this would last, so I waited about an hour. When it continued I went down to the front desk to inquire. The woman there told me the Pittsburgh Marathon was on Sunday and this was some pre-race preparations of some sort. I asked how long it would go on and she said into the afternoon. When I asked for a discount on the room, she told me it was not a hotel event and there was nothing she could do. I told her there was, she could discount the room. She said she could not do that. I asked to speak with a manager. She said she was the manager. I asked again for a discount on the room since I paid over $200 for a room and I was not getting a quiet room in which to rest. Not only did she flatly refuse, she acted like I had no right to ask such a thing. She never apologized or showed any caring for my situation. She said I should have read the email they sent out about upcoming events around the hotel. This was a lie as I never received an email. She seemed irritated that I was bothering her. Some little gesture of caring would have been fine. How a hotel can employ someone with so little regard for their paying guests is beyond me. I will not ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sonoma Grill has good food, wine and beer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 14, 2010

Great one night stay

A few friends and I reserved the room for the Pittsburgh St. patrick's day festivities. Our room was very nice and the bedding was SO comfortable. we took advantage of the Spa/Pool area, which was very relaxing. Check out was a breeze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the Best gay bars in Pittsburgh are less than 100 feet away from the front door. Not to mention the Convention Center and the african American history center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Chiltons
Business
Virginia
Jan 13, 2010

Fabulous Hotel, Great Location

This particular Westin is amazing. The rooms were spacious and well decorated. The bedding-amazing and the mattresses SO COMFORTABLE. We spent New Years Eve at this location. Within walking distance to just about everything. If you don't want to walt the hotel offers shuttle service to Station Square and other locations. The hotels restaurant "The Original Fish Market"....was supurb! Great food, atmosphere. We will indeed be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Rivers Casino offers shuttle pickup and return to the Westin. In addition the hotel itself offers complimentary shuttle service to Station Square which is great for nightlife,dancing,dining and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top