$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

4 stars
View map of 1000 Penn Avenue, 1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jamison, PA
Apr 11, 2011

Good stay, great location

Was there for high school fundraiser. Just stayed one night. Very convenient as fundraiser was at hotel. Did find mildew smell in bathroom, think it was shower curtain. There was empty champagne bottle in mini fridge. Room was very comfortable and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Enjoyable atmosphere at bar in hotel and breakfaast was fabulous next morning. Breakfast quesadilla was scrumptous

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Mar 7, 2011

very good

We went to the Benedum Center. The hotel service was very good and the hotel room was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, ga
Jan 9, 2011

Lovely city stay

The hotel is in a perfect location. Plenty of good restaurants and bars to walk to. Plus we were going to a game at the Consol which was only a ten minute walk from the hotel. The bed is very nice and comfortable as well and the conservatively decorated rooms were a pleasure to stay in. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sharp Edge. Amazing Belgium bar.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palm Beach Florida
Dec 8, 2010

Very fine hotel

The stay was very professional and aside from the bone-chilling cold weather, my staff was fine. Good location and up to date technical facility.How do I get a copy of the hotel bill? They did not give me one when I checked out saying that it's billed to [...]....not sure I understood that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food in the hotel was great and equally great restaurants within walking distance.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 7, 2010

Simply the best

I stayed to clear my head and go out and party for the night, but honestly I was so tired after work and the bed was so comfortable, I stayed in and channel surfed, slept and looked out at the beautiful night view of the strip district! I was completely content with that due to the room being totally comfortable. I'd definitely stay again. A little surprised there was no fridge or kitchenette for what was paid, but I was satisfied. I definitely recommend this hotel. Staff was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Strip district has all sorts of bars and clubs

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Jul 17, 2010

Westin Convention Center

The hotel is great! Its is perfectly located in the downtown. The restaurant downstairs was amazing!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fresh Market Restaurant Amazing Lobster Pasta.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 12, 2010

Westin

The hotel is nice, service is great. But no free wireless internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL.
Jul 11, 2010

Westin Pburgh

No turndown. Internet connection basically useless. Helpful valet staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sonoma Grill. Fantastic food.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 6, 2010

Nice hotel, very poor customer relations

I've been staying at this hotel since it was first established as the Vista probably 25 years ago. And through all the different hotels that have been at this location (Omni/Doubletree/Westin), I can say I've never had a bad experience here, until this last time. The room wasn't as clean as I'd like, or that I'm used to at this hotel, but it wasn't that big of a deal. The real problem was with the staff and their inability to either inform me of the impending noise come 7:30am on Saturday morning, or to take some sort of empathy to what was occuring. When I arrived asked the person at check-in how late I could stay in the room because I was not going to be getting to sleep until 4am or so. She told me checkout is at Noon. Indeed, I did not get back to hotel room until 4am and went to sleep. 3 and a half hours later, at 7:30am, horns began blaring and a person on a PA system began shouting at a crowd. I wasn't sure how long this would last, so I waited about an hour. When it continued I went down to the front desk to inquire. The woman there told me the Pittsburgh Marathon was on Sunday and this was some pre-race preparations of some sort. I asked how long it would go on and she said into the afternoon. When I asked for a discount on the room, she told me it was not a hotel event and there was nothing she could do. I told her there was, she could discount the room. She said she could not do that. I asked to speak with a manager. She said she was the manager. I asked again for a discount on the room since I paid over $200 for a room and I was not getting a quiet room in which to rest. Not only did she flatly refuse, she acted like I had no right to ask such a thing. She never apologized or showed any caring for my situation. She said I should have read the email they sent out about upcoming events around the hotel. This was a lie as I never received an email. She seemed irritated that I was bothering her. Some little gesture of caring would have been fine. How a hotel can employ someone with so little regard for their paying guests is beyond me. I will not ever go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sonoma Grill has good food, wine and beer.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 14, 2010

Great one night stay

A few friends and I reserved the room for the Pittsburgh St. patrick's day festivities. Our room was very nice and the bedding was SO comfortable. we took advantage of the Spa/Pool area, which was very relaxing. Check out was a breeze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the Best gay bars in Pittsburgh are less than 100 feet away from the front door. Not to mention the Convention Center and the african American history center.

Back to menu Return to top