$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

4 stars
View map of 1000 Penn Avenue, 1000 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Asax
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 13, 2012

Nice but not spectacular

The Westin is in a great location and looks really nice. But overall it was a little blah. The other thing that was annoying was that the room was about 86 degrees when I walked into it. That's right 86! It was like a sauna! Other than that, it was okay. It would have been nice to have free wi-fi, but for one night it was good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
troy boy12
Couples
temple, pa
Jul 30, 2012

awesome getaway

I enjoyed the whole hotel experience. Paying for parking should be included the price of the room. $20 for 24 hours. Come On!!! The room was comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful. And we walked to our concert. Got to love it!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

you can walk to the strip, down to the park and shopping everywhere. location, location,location.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. Clair Duke
Family
Marion NY
Jul 11, 2012

Baseball weekend.....

My son and I stayed in the Westin Convention Center....The staff was great.When we arrived at noon our room was ready for us to check in.The room was spotless.Everything about the room was perfect....I can't say enough good things.The location was even better.We could walk to the game,it was a nice area so we got to take in some nice places.We hope to return for more games in the future and this hotel will surely get our business.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sightsee-er
Couples
NY
Jul 7, 2012

Ok, not what I expected

For the price, I was expecting a lot more. The location is great if you are on business or in town to see a ball game. It is a short walk to PNC park and Heinz Field. One slightly annoying feature is that you must use your room key to turn on the lights...which is fine until your husband leaves the room with the key while you are in the bathroom. Rooms are clean and relatively comfortable but I wouldn't call this a "good value." Parking is not included but there is a self park lot under the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Carnegie Science Center across from Heinz Field. Definitely a must see!

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bed Bug Infestation
Family
Sharon, PA, USA
Jan 11, 2012

Overall: "Very Good Stuff"

Overall, the hotel was clean, accommodating, and very close to all downtown attractions. Valet parking was also reasonable with unlimited retrievals of your vehicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bed Bug Infestation
Family
Sharon, PA, USA
Jan 11, 2012

Overall: "Very Good Stuff"

Overall, the hotel was clean, accommodating, and very close to all downtown attractions. Valet parking was also reasonable with unlimited retrievals of your vehicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brian G.
Couples
Altoona, PA
Nov 20, 2011

Weekend Getway

Stayed for a weekend getway. Parking under the hotel is not included in on the price of the hotel. For the price, not that great. Stay at any other chain hotels (Comfort Inn, Holiday Inn) with the same ammenities for a much better value. Nothing special here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
clown
Couples
Indiana, PA, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Excellent escape

Check-in was flawless with a very professional clerk who took time to ask where we were from and what plans we had for the evening. No information was given about morning coffee being served or where to find more information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the area of the hotel are some excellent tapas restaurants that can be enjoyed with a pleasant walking tour.

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trk in nyc
nyc
Aug 27, 2011

ok for pittsburgh

i would have enjoyed a more cordial welcome...room was drab

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

gym was ok

Review of The Westin Convention Center, Pittsburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Davia
Couples
Williamsport, PA
Apr 25, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

We were in Pittsburgh to attend a show at the Console Center. The hotel was within walking distance which was very convenient. No complaints about the hotel. Staff was attentive and very friendly. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

August Henry's Restaurnant arond the corner on Penn Ave. was excellent! Shopping on the Strip is also a lot of fun. Pittsburgh is a wonderful, clean, friendly city!

Back to menu Return to top