$168 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 4, 2014 Check-out: May 5, 2014

The Priory

3 stars
614 Pressley St., Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
30 reviews
Steeler game weekend

Very friendly and helpful staff, especially the shuttle van drivers. We felt like we were in a... See full review

  • Nana and Pappy
  • Nov 12, 2013
Stay in Pittsburgh

This hotel is awesome! It is very unique and the furnishings are neat. I enjoyed the courtyard and... See full review

  • Travel Bug1
  • Oct 3, 2013
With 42 unique rooms, The Priory is Pittsburgh's only European-style hotel. Once a Benedictine monastery, The Priory now blends 19th century elegance with modern day comforts and conveniences. With its just-opened new wing, The Priory offers 17 elegant additional guestrooms with King size beds and many amenities. Be sure to check out the Monks' Bar and the verdant courtyard. Centrally located, The Priory is within easy walking distance of downtown, Heinz Field, PNC Park, the Andy Warhol Museum, and many other attractions.

The Priory Rooms

Standard Room
This guest room features one Queen bed, cable TV, iron and hair dryer. Each guest room is decorated with Victorian/Edwardian antiques and reproductions.
Deluxe King Room
Each Deluxe King room is outfitted with one King bed, flat screen televisions, iron, hair dryer, coffee maker, and hard wired complimentary Internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Priory also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

40.4523 -79.9982
Area served
Pittsburgh, PA
Nearby airports
Pittsburgh International Airport
Area description
From the Pittsburgh International Airport take I 376 East toward Pittsburgh. At the interchange with I 279, follow 279 North to the East Ohio exit. Turn left onto East Ohio Street, then right on Cedar Street and finally turn left onto Pressley Street.

Nearby points of interest

  • PNC Park: 0.5 mi
  • Mellon Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Heinz Field: 1 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 1 mi
  • Petersen Events Center: 2 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,144.4 mi

Dining

Monks' Bar
The newly opened Monks' Bar offers a variety of scotches, bourbons, vodkas and fine wines in a cozy setting. The Monks' Bar offers light but tasty food service consisting of fresh sandwiches, soups and snacks.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Priory offers meeting spaces for 5 guests to more than 350, including the newly opened Chapter House room in its new wing.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for The Priory

Overall score

4 / 5
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
mshirk
Ebensburg, PA
Nov 12, 2013

Unique...Historical Gem!

The staff is super friendly and helpful. The hotel has a very European bed and breakfast feel. The area where the hotel is located felt a little sketchy, but we were able to walk to Heinz Stadium in about 20 minutes and didn't have any issues. There is also ample parking behind a locked gate. I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stop by The Church Brew Works. Fantastic beers on tap, large selection of foods including brick oven pizza and some fancy game dishes, all in the ambiance of a renovated church.

Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
Nana and Pappy
Berwyn, Pa
Nov 12, 2013

Steeler game weekend

Very friendly and helpful staff, especially the shuttle van drivers. We felt like we were in a European inn. So comfortable and warm. So much charm!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Market square had a number of great food places. Our van driver was helpful and we appreciated not having to navigate the streets of Pittsburgh.

Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
Delaware Pappap
Glenside, Pa
Oct 23, 2013

Basic, but Quaint, Clean, and Comfortable

This hotel is rather close to both stadiums, but in an area where you wouldn't expect to find a hotel. It was clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Nice rooms, amenities, and a cute courtyard. An easy one mile walk to Heinz Field. We enjoyed it; and we will come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
Big Brad
Millsboro DE
Oct 22, 2013

We had a ball at the game.

Good location for as it is close to the stadium and park your car and take hotel shuttle to the game. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
DGP2
Fairport, NY
Oct 19, 2013

Hidden Gem

This is such a unique hotel and location. If you're looking for something other than the chain hotels, this is a great option. We enjoyed eating on the courtyard - a beautiful feature! The ambiance was great - takes you back in time with elegant doors and rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
hmsh
Business
Tyrone PA
Oct 17, 2013

Wonderful stay

Excellent hotel. Restored former Benedictine bonastery with many beautiful architectural features. Lovely courtyard garden area to relax in. In convenient location--when you factor in the free shuttle service all over downtown. The staff are gracious and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
Travel Bug1
St. Louis, MO
Oct 3, 2013

Stay in Pittsburgh

This hotel is awesome! It is very unique and the furnishings are neat. I enjoyed the courtyard and breakfast was delicious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
Joan Steeler Nation
Virginia Beach, VA
Sep 20, 2013

Felt like you were visiting family

Impressive and historic, yet the room and hotel environment felt so comfortable, it was like visiting family. Staff very accommodating and friendly. Close to everything downtown. Hotel van takes you around within a good vicinity. We had the van take us to Rivers Casino. There is a full size grocery store in walking distance to stock up on snacks. Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
edgar2
Business
DC
Sep 7, 2013

very friendly

Great amenities including cozy bar, shuttle van, breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Warhol museum close by

Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
SMGA
Columbus, OH
Jun 14, 2013

Fun neighborhood

The hotel is beautiful-- high ceilings and chair rails, staircases-- within walking distance of the Warhol museum, the National Aviary, and PNC Field. Lots of restored brick row houses, a senior citizens high rise, and a Giant Eagle in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top