$160 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

The Priory

3 stars
View map of 614 Pressley St., Pittsburgh, PA 15212

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
58 reviews
Quick weekend trip

The hotel was beautiful and had a lot of character. The neighborhood isn't dangerous at all and the... See full review

  • Prioryfan
  • Apr 6, 2015
Beautiful hotel in the Heart of Pittsburgh

We stayed here at the last minute to go the the Pirates game. The hotel is a beautiful historic... See full review

  • Maccool
  • Oct 3, 2014
With 42 unique rooms, The Priory is Pittsburgh's only European-style hotel. Once a Benedictine monastery, The Priory now blends 19th century elegance with modern day comforts and conveniences. With its just-opened new wing, The Priory offers 17 elegant additional guestrooms with King size beds and many amenities. Be sure to check out the Monks' Bar and the verdant courtyard. Centrally located, The Priory is within easy walking distance of downtown, Heinz Field, PNC Park, the Andy Warhol Museum, and many other attractions.

Top hotels

The Priory Rooms

Standard Room
This guest room features one Queen bed, cable TV, iron and hair dryer. Each guest room is decorated with Victorian/Edwardian antiques and reproductions.
Deluxe King Room
Each Deluxe King room is outfitted with one King bed, flat screen televisions, iron, hair dryer, coffee maker, and hard wired complimentary Internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • PNC Park: 0.5 mi
  • Mellon Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Heinz Field: 1 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 1 mi
  • Petersen Events Center: 2 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,144.4 mi

Dining

Monks' Bar
The newly opened Monks' Bar offers a variety of scotches, bourbons, vodkas and fine wines in a cozy setting. The Monks' Bar offers light but tasty food service consisting of fresh sandwiches, soups and snacks.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Priory offers meeting spaces for 5 guests to more than 350, including the newly opened Chapter House room in its new wing.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Priory

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 58
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.9
Location:
3.1
Value:
4.4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brcooper1971
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
May 15, 2014

Weekday Getaway

We live in Pittsburgh and stayed one night for a night away from kids. We were impressed with the historical value of the place. The place is kept up very well and provided a comfortable and restful night of sleep. We enjoyed the included breakfast in the back courtyard, which was surprisingly quiet considering the location. We would go back again. This is the place to go if you are looking for a classy nostalgic comfy place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Not too far from ball parks and city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DGNJ
Business
New Jetsey
Aug 29, 2014

Nice hotel. Would be fantastic in a different area.

Close to the Pirates game and nothing else. Very nice staff and the room was terrific. But the area is not welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cosmastro
Business
Washington DC
Aug 5, 2014

Beautiful Hotel!

This hotel is beautiful. It doesn't get much better! The only comment I would make is that if you are looking for food service, the hours and the menu are very limited!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 11, 2008

Beautiful Accomodations

My visit at The Priory started with the door being opened and my family and I greeted by named. We were told that they were glad we could make it and asked how bad our trip was in the snow. The service continued the best from there. The beauty of the room, the friendliness of the other guests during the complimentary brekfast in the antique rooms were beyoynd compare. I will never stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bethel Turners
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
May 29, 2013

Priory Perfection

The Priory is so very charming! It has the historic charm that I love and the updated amenties that my husband loves. I love the sound of the creeking stairs as you go up to your room, if that's not your thins then take the elevator. Valet was great. The front desk desk was fine. Try the Monk bar for a cocktail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Corabeth
Business
Alaska
Jun 25, 2014

A good value

My daughter and I stayed at the Priory for two restful nights. We enjoyed ourselves immensely. The room was clean, fresh and nicely furnished, and the bathroom and shower was just fine. Great continental breakfast and a lovely courtyard. The hotel is well situated just a little ways over the 9th Street bridge. We were able to walk from the hotel to Heinz Hall and the theatre district. The neighborhood is interesting with a real mix of recently renovated housing and some boarded up ones. Completely safe during the day, but I'd be inclined to take a taxi at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kubat
Business
hamden, ct
Aug 18, 2014

Pittsburgh trip

I would recommend (and do) the Priory as an outstanding place to stay for anyone visiting Pittsburgh. Not only are the rooms beautiful, clean and comfortable, but the Monks bar is a great place to have a late night drink and relax. The breakfast in the morning is amazing, fresh eggs and pastry! We sat out in the beautiful courtyard to eat our food, we didn't want to leave the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top