$155 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

The Priory

3 stars
614 Pressley St., Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
49 reviews
Beautiful hotel in the Heart of Pittsburgh

We stayed here at the last minute to go the the Pirates game. The hotel is a beautiful historic... See full review

  • Maccool
  • Oct 3, 2014
Pittsburgh trip

I would recommend (and do) the Priory as an outstanding place to stay for anyone visiting... See full review

  • Kubat
  • Aug 18, 2014
With 42 unique rooms, The Priory is Pittsburgh's only European-style hotel. Once a Benedictine monastery, The Priory now blends 19th century elegance with modern day comforts and conveniences. With its just-opened new wing, The Priory offers 17 elegant additional guestrooms with King size beds and many amenities. Be sure to check out the Monks' Bar and the verdant courtyard. Centrally located, The Priory is within easy walking distance of downtown, Heinz Field, PNC Park, the Andy Warhol Museum, and many other attractions.

Hotel Map

40.4523 -79.9982
Area served
Pittsburgh, PA
Nearby airports
Pittsburgh International Airport
Area description
From the Pittsburgh International Airport take I 376 East toward Pittsburgh. At the interchange with I 279, follow 279 North to the East Ohio exit. Turn left onto East Ohio Street, then right on Cedar Street and finally turn left onto Pressley Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Priory also booked these hotels.

The Priory Rooms

Standard Room
This guest room features one Queen bed, cable TV, iron and hair dryer. Each guest room is decorated with Victorian/Edwardian antiques and reproductions.
Deluxe King Room
Each Deluxe King room is outfitted with one King bed, flat screen televisions, iron, hair dryer, coffee maker, and hard wired complimentary Internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • PNC Park: 0.5 mi
  • Mellon Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Heinz Field: 1 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 1 mi
  • Petersen Events Center: 2 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,144.4 mi

Dining

Monks' Bar
The newly opened Monks' Bar offers a variety of scotches, bourbons, vodkas and fine wines in a cozy setting. The Monks' Bar offers light but tasty food service consisting of fresh sandwiches, soups and snacks.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Priory offers meeting spaces for 5 guests to more than 350, including the newly opened Chapter House room in its new wing.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for The Priory

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 49
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Daniel423
Business
Iowa
Dec 9, 2012

Nice place but a tough neighborhood

I would not recommend this facility. There's not much more to say

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reading, PA
Jul 28, 2010

can use some help

staff is friendly, bed was not inviting,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Middle Seat Traveler
Business
Orange County California
Sep 19, 2009

A diamond in the rough

All that makes The Priory a great place to stay lies within its walls: great staff, clean rooms, historic atmosphere. All the amenities of a larger business hotel but on a small, intimate scale. What lies outside is a transitional neighborhood in a location that makes getting a taxi challenging--plan for up to a 45-minute wait from request--and a walk to downtown out of the question. If you've planned a full schedule of meetings plan to stay downtown; otherwise, for a relaxed, off the beaten path location The Priory is a great option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jescey
Business
utah
May 18, 2014

Cool hotel, bad location

The hotel was cute and close to the convention center (we were there for a trade show in the convention center). Room was clean and breakfast was good. However, the hotel is right next to a reception hall. There was a wedding right outside our room until pretty late in the evening. It was so loud we couldn't sleep, which is a bad thing when you are in the city for important business meetings! Also, the location of the hotel didn't feel super safe. Not HORRIBLE, just not super safe. There is a grocery store within walking distance and when we went to get dinner there a bunch of police cars filled the lot and were arresting some guys. No one acted very surprised, and even to us it just felt like what would happen in that part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KWLa
Business
Florida
Mar 31, 2012

What a gem, fantastic bargain this close to downtown

What a great, historic, place. A fantastic bargain this close to downtown, do not miss taking a peak at the "Great Hall" just through a back door off the very nice breakfast room and outdoor patio area. Impressive to say the least. Also, probably should insist on a third floor room as they were constantly compared to other rooms as the better available. I'll definitely book here again. One thing I will note, the staff is sincerely friendly and helpful, and service is perfectly fine, however, if the team running the place knew what 4-star details and service entailed I believe they'd get a 4-star rating. However, they're doing fine as it is and they are close to a rough neighborhood, though it only looks bad, I never had an issue walking back late to the hotel or exercising in the large, open park just one block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There is no food available at the hotel that I know of, but the very good "Meat and Potatoes" Gastropub in the theater district is within walking distance (albeit an appetite building walk over the bridge). So, take advantage of the great restaurants in the theater district and then a short cab ride or walk back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry Lynn
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Business Trip

I love this place - so restful and the staff is very helpful! A great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mybrothergeorge
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 20, 2012

Different but good

The Priory is a nice inn-style hotel, with very comfortable rooms and excellent staff. The building is historic, and has a great feel. The rooms are spacious and clean, and though simple, are very much adequate for my needs as a business traveler. The neighborhood might require a certain sense of adventure (there's a housing project right across the street), but it seems perfectly safe. The location is quite good if you want to be able to walk (perhaps a half mile to a mile) to stadiums, downtown, etc.). Expect to travel a little bit for decent food. Breakfast at the hotel is just okay, and the small bar offers decent sandwiches. Anything more will require you to take a trip of at least a few blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Expect to travel a bit for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CharmCityCEW
Business
Baltimore, MD
Dec 15, 2012

Cute place

I enjoyed my stay at the Priory. The front desk staff was super helpful when I needed to check in early, the bartender in the little bar downstairs was friendly and the room was cute. The bathroom is small, but it's an old converted monastery; they aren't known for their spacious baths. I was here by myself on business, so it was a bit of a different experience, but it was close to downtown and very charming. I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Good running along the river

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Red CPA
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 7, 2013

Business stay

The facilities were nice and the room was clean. However, I did not realize a standard room didn't really come with a work space/desk. I assume you would have to upgrade your room to get a workspace. I ate in the small dining area and had a salad. The staff was very pleasant and food was tasty. I suggest calling the hotel and getting a price. It was better than the one I was stuck paying through an on-line travel site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

In hotel dining is very limited plan on driving to a restaurant. The neighborhood did not look safe to walk in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
edgar2
Business
DC
Sep 7, 2013

very friendly

Great amenities including cozy bar, shuttle van, breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Warhol museum close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top