$155 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

The Priory

3 stars
614 Pressley St., Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
51 reviews
Beautiful hotel in the Heart of Pittsburgh

We stayed here at the last minute to go the the Pirates game. The hotel is a beautiful historic... See full review

  • Maccool
  • Oct 3, 2014
Pittsburgh trip

I would recommend (and do) the Priory as an outstanding place to stay for anyone visiting... See full review

  • Kubat
  • Aug 18, 2014
With 42 unique rooms, The Priory is Pittsburgh's only European-style hotel. Once a Benedictine monastery, The Priory now blends 19th century elegance with modern day comforts and conveniences. With its just-opened new wing, The Priory offers 17 elegant additional guestrooms with King size beds and many amenities. Be sure to check out the Monks' Bar and the verdant courtyard. Centrally located, The Priory is within easy walking distance of downtown, Heinz Field, PNC Park, the Andy Warhol Museum, and many other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Priory also booked these hotels.

The Priory Rooms

Standard Room
This guest room features one Queen bed, cable TV, iron and hair dryer. Each guest room is decorated with Victorian/Edwardian antiques and reproductions.
Deluxe King Room
Each Deluxe King room is outfitted with one King bed, flat screen televisions, iron, hair dryer, coffee maker, and hard wired complimentary Internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • PNC Park: 0.5 mi
  • Mellon Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Heinz Field: 1 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 1 mi
  • Petersen Events Center: 2 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,144.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Priory offers meeting spaces for 5 guests to more than 350, including the newly opened Chapter House room in its new wing.

Dining

Monks' Bar
The newly opened Monks' Bar offers a variety of scotches, bourbons, vodkas and fine wines in a cozy setting. The Monks' Bar offers light but tasty food service consisting of fresh sandwiches, soups and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for The Priory

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.5
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 11, 2008

Beautiful Accomodations

My visit at The Priory started with the door being opened and my family and I greeted by named. We were told that they were glad we could make it and asked how bad our trip was in the snow. The service continued the best from there. The beauty of the room, the friendliness of the other guests during the complimentary brekfast in the antique rooms were beyoynd compare. I will never stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Mtzlplk
Business
Charleston, WV
May 19, 2013

Great place!

A beautifully restored old priory, this hotel has charm, style and grace that you rarely find today. Our room was a little small, but otherwise perfect. The staff were gracious, knowledgeable and helpful. The courtyard was beautiful, and we enjoyed sitting out with a glass of wine from the convenient "mini-bar" (an actual small bar) off the lobby. Even though it is in an urban neighborhood, there was free parking. And the breakfast was an excellent European-style meal. Location was great for us, too. We went to a Pirates game, and it was about a 12 minute walk. It would be a little further to a Steelers game, but still not a bad walk. It would also be easy to walk to downtown Pittsburgh, across the Sixth Street Bridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay here for an easy walk to Pirates games.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bethel Turners
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
May 29, 2013

Priory Perfection

The Priory is so very charming! It has the historic charm that I love and the updated amenties that my husband loves. I love the sound of the creeking stairs as you go up to your room, if that's not your thins then take the elevator. Valet was great. The front desk desk was fine. Try the Monk bar for a cocktail.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SMGA
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 14, 2013

Fun neighborhood

The hotel is beautiful-- high ceilings and chair rails, staircases-- within walking distance of the Warhol museum, the National Aviary, and PNC Field. Lots of restored brick row houses, a senior citizens high rise, and a Giant Eagle in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jean1216
Business
Altoona, PA
Jun 13, 2013

Great service

We found the Priory to be a very charming place. The customer service and friendliness what the best we have ever had. The shuttle was a wonderful perk. The location was close to where we wanted to be. We found it to be safe neighborhood. We walked back to to hotel late at night with no problem and did not feel afraid. The court yard is a quiet place to sit and the surroundings are very nice. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
troutman II
Business
athens, ohio
Jun 13, 2013

Priory Pittsburgh

Quaint, quiet, clean, well kept hotel on the north shore of Pittsburgh and within walking distance to downtown, museums, ball parks and national aviary. Highly recommend the Priory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Bug1
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 3, 2013

Stay in Pittsburgh

This hotel is awesome! It is very unique and the furnishings are neat. I enjoyed the courtyard and breakfast was delicious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nana and Pappy
Business
Berwyn, Pa
Nov 12, 2013

Steeler game weekend

Very friendly and helpful staff, especially the shuttle van drivers. We felt like we were in a European inn. So comfortable and warm. So much charm!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Market square had a number of great food places. Our van driver was helpful and we appreciated not having to navigate the streets of Pittsburgh.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington
Jun 11, 2008

Lovey Little Retreat

This hotel was delightful in almost every regard. Literally, to me, there were only two drawbacks to perfection: the bed was uncomfortable (I ended up sleeping on the floor!), and the room was too light (blackout shades would fix that issue). Otherwise, it was absolutely perfect and the staff was fanatastic. Clearly, each staff person adored his or her job working there and was so friendly and kind. I will never stay anywhere else in Pittburgh!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Andy Warhol musuem within walking distance (highly recommended!) The Strip District with its fabulous Italian food and awesome shops is a bit of hike, but would be a lovely stroll across a beautiful bridge on a nice day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LR0901
Business
central ohio
May 16, 2014

What an urban gem!

so glad found my new go-to place in pittsburg. Off the path but great shuttle service and quaintest little in. Had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

so close to strip and market districts without all the downtown hassle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top