$126 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

The Priory

3 stars
614 Pressley St., Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
53 reviews
Beautiful hotel in the Heart of Pittsburgh

We stayed here at the last minute to go the the Pirates game. The hotel is a beautiful historic... See full review

  • Maccool
  • Oct 3, 2014
Pittsburgh trip

I would recommend (and do) the Priory as an outstanding place to stay for anyone visiting... See full review

  • Kubat
  • Aug 18, 2014
With 42 unique rooms, The Priory is Pittsburgh's only European-style hotel. Once a Benedictine monastery, The Priory now blends 19th century elegance with modern day comforts and conveniences. With its just-opened new wing, The Priory offers 17 elegant additional guestrooms with King size beds and many amenities. Be sure to check out the Monks' Bar and the verdant courtyard. Centrally located, The Priory is within easy walking distance of downtown, Heinz Field, PNC Park, the Andy Warhol Museum, and many other attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Priory also booked these hotels.

The Priory Rooms

Standard Room
This guest room features one Queen bed, cable TV, iron and hair dryer. Each guest room is decorated with Victorian/Edwardian antiques and reproductions.
Deluxe King Room
Each Deluxe King room is outfitted with one King bed, flat screen televisions, iron, hair dryer, coffee maker, and hard wired complimentary Internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • PNC Park: 0.5 mi
  • Mellon Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Heinz Field: 1 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 1 mi
  • Petersen Events Center: 2 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,144.4 mi

Dining

Monks' Bar
The newly opened Monks' Bar offers a variety of scotches, bourbons, vodkas and fine wines in a cozy setting. The Monks' Bar offers light but tasty food service consisting of fresh sandwiches, soups and snacks.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Priory offers meeting spaces for 5 guests to more than 350, including the newly opened Chapter House room in its new wing.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for The Priory

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 53
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jefferson24083
Business
Daleville
Dec 21, 2014

Went for a Steelers game...

First time to PIttsburgh, and went for a Steelers game. The hotel was conveniently located, rooms were nice, staff was helpful, and breakfast was really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going to a NIGHT game at the Steelers, be prepared to walk home. Shuttle is pretty strick about Midnight cutoff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
101213girl
Business
indiana
Oct 31, 2014

unique and perfect fit

this was a great rate and perfect location for downtown Pittsburgh activities. the historic priory with its unique charm is comfortable, convenient, and it has aged well. perfect for Pittsburgh sporting events or exploring downtown. great local bars and restaurants too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to max's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cheron18
Business
Saratoga, CA
Oct 7, 2014

Romantic get-a-way

Lovely old building remade into a hotel w/bar. Breakfast included. Only annoyance... the bathroom door couldn't be closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maccool
Business
Wellsboro, PA
Oct 3, 2014

Beautiful hotel in the Heart of Pittsburgh

We stayed here at the last minute to go the the Pirates game. The hotel is a beautiful historic building hidden a few blocks from PNC Park. It was quiet, very clean, offers a free breakfast and free parking. Just the perfect place to stay to walk to everything. Will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
muffysmom
Business
ann arbor
Aug 14, 2014

priority hotel baseball trip

The priority is an interesting hotel which compared to others in the area is a lot more reasonably priced. Staff lack people skills and can be rude. The hotels history is very interesting. The rooms and common areas are lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raineymike
Business
Olyphant, PA
Jul 25, 2014

Good location for Pirates games

My husband and I stayed at Priory for 3 nights as we were in town to see 3 Pirates games. This hotel is perfect. The location is near the North Shore, the Strip, & Station Square. The building is beautiful. Lovely old architecture. Beautiful woodwork, windows, & doors. Free parking, buffet breakfast included, free shuttle to local areas. Great little bar. Deana (?) makes wonderful drinks - especially the bramble. We were initially a little apprehensive driving down Pressley to the hotel, but were reassured it was safe. We walked from the strip to the hotel during the day and it was extremely safe. We will certainly stay here again and recommend it whoeheartedly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom to 3
Business
Altoona pa
Jul 21, 2014

Game getaway

We loved the hotel! The bar was very small but the bartender was great! We walked back to the hotel very late after the pirate game & did not feel very safe walking past the projects & all the people from there on the street near the hotel. The street is dark & is a bit scary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
txgirlinpa
Business
Mifflinburg, PA
Jul 9, 2014

Very enjoyable stay

I chose The Priory because I tire of cookie cutter hotels that are obnoxiously priced. The Priory has a tremendous amount of history and character and is priced lower than other downtown hotels. I loved the detail of the doors and trim. Our room was on the first floor and near an exit but was very quiet. It was small, but we were there to sleep, so it was more than adequate. I'm sure other rooms are larger. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. It was our first visit to Pittsburgh so everyone's suggestions were greatly appreciated. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice location if attending an event at the Consol Energy Center. Even closer to the baseball field.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nlsp
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 20, 2014

Not impressed

The hotel is in a transitioning neighborhood walking distance to the ballpark, which is convenient. The room was quite small and stuffed with large furniture. The bathroom had a small glass shelf above the pedestal sink, the only place in the bathroom to set anything. The hairdryer was functional, a small travel size. The wireless did not work in the room -- I had to step into the hall in order to connect to download mail and could not connect at all in the room. The room is so jammed with furniture there is barely room to move and again very little space to set anything. (The desk had the coffee maker on it, which left little space for much else.) Also, the entrance to the hotel is up a short flight of steep steps, which was challenging with luggage. On the positive side, there is a lovely outdoor patio space. Every housekeeper we passed in the hallways was cheery and pleasant and the rooms very clean. The air conditioning was nicer than many hotels, in that it didn't have that stuffy icebox feeling. Towels were fluffy and soft. For the price, it was lovely but mostly uncomfortable, and I wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The City Café across the bridge on Liberty Street had wonderful coffee and a delicious breakfast for a very good price. Also open for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fivecatstwodogs
Business
Scranton pa
Jun 11, 2014

Not good for walking to pnc park

Cute place. Location not good. Scary neighborhood for walking to the ball field.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top