$168 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

The Priory

3 stars
614 Pressley St., Pittsburgh, PA 15212
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
48 reviews
Good location for Pirates games

My husband and I stayed at Priory for 3 nights as we were in town to see 3 Pirates games. This... See full review

  • Raineymike
  • Jul 25, 2014
A good value

My daughter and I stayed at the Priory for two restful nights. We enjoyed ourselves immensely. The... See full review

  • Corabeth
  • Jun 25, 2014
With 42 unique rooms, The Priory is Pittsburgh's only European-style hotel. Once a Benedictine monastery, The Priory now blends 19th century elegance with modern day comforts and conveniences. With its just-opened new wing, The Priory offers 17 elegant additional guestrooms with King size beds and many amenities. Be sure to check out the Monks' Bar and the verdant courtyard. Centrally located, The Priory is within easy walking distance of downtown, Heinz Field, PNC Park, the Andy Warhol Museum, and many other attractions.

Hotel Map

40.4523 -79.9982
Area served
Pittsburgh, PA
Nearby airports
Pittsburgh International Airport
Area description
From the Pittsburgh International Airport take I 376 East toward Pittsburgh. At the interchange with I 279, follow 279 North to the East Ohio exit. Turn left onto East Ohio Street, then right on Cedar Street and finally turn left onto Pressley Street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Priory also booked these hotels.

The Priory Rooms

Standard Room
This guest room features one Queen bed, cable TV, iron and hair dryer. Each guest room is decorated with Victorian/Edwardian antiques and reproductions.
Deluxe King Room
Each Deluxe King room is outfitted with one King bed, flat screen televisions, iron, hair dryer, coffee maker, and hard wired complimentary Internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • PNC Park: 0.5 mi
  • Mellon Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Heinz Field: 1 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 1 mi
  • Petersen Events Center: 2 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,144.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Priory offers meeting spaces for 5 guests to more than 350, including the newly opened Chapter House room in its new wing.

Dining

Monks' Bar
The newly opened Monks' Bar offers a variety of scotches, bourbons, vodkas and fine wines in a cozy setting. The Monks' Bar offers light but tasty food service consisting of fresh sandwiches, soups and snacks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for The Priory

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.4
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Daniel423
Business
Iowa
Dec 9, 2012

Nice place but a tough neighborhood

I would not recommend this facility. There's not much more to say

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fivecatstwodogs
Scranton pa
Jun 11, 2014

Not good for walking to pnc park

Cute place. Location not good. Scary neighborhood for walking to the ball field.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WinR
Virginia
May 2, 2013

Not that good

Location was good in terms of accessibility to downtown but bad in terms of surroundings. Free parking was good thing. Hotel bar was expensive for the hotel like this. Rooms was not good, bathroom was too small. Overall not good for the rate they charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nlsp
Chicago, IL
Jun 20, 2014

Not impressed

The hotel is in a transitioning neighborhood walking distance to the ballpark, which is convenient. The room was quite small and stuffed with large furniture. The bathroom had a small glass shelf above the pedestal sink, the only place in the bathroom to set anything. The hairdryer was functional, a small travel size. The wireless did not work in the room -- I had to step into the hall in order to connect to download mail and could not connect at all in the room. The room is so jammed with furniture there is barely room to move and again very little space to set anything. (The desk had the coffee maker on it, which left little space for much else.) Also, the entrance to the hotel is up a short flight of steep steps, which was challenging with luggage. On the positive side, there is a lovely outdoor patio space. Every housekeeper we passed in the hallways was cheery and pleasant and the rooms very clean. The air conditioning was nicer than many hotels, in that it didn't have that stuffy icebox feeling. Towels were fluffy and soft. For the price, it was lovely but mostly uncomfortable, and I wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The City Café across the bridge on Liberty Street had wonderful coffee and a delicious breakfast for a very good price. Also open for lunch.

Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reading, PA
Jul 28, 2010

can use some help

staff is friendly, bed was not inviting,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reading, PA
Jul 28, 2010

can use some help

staff is friendly, bed was not inviting,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin' Trudy
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 30, 2010

An o.k. stay at the Priory

We were looking forward to this hotel very much, it seemed to have some character. Unfortunately, the room was very basic & the bathroom itty bitty. We heard a lot of loud conversations in the middle of the night, too, which we slept threw mostly, but was still quite annoying. The breakfast was also pretty standard. Overall, pretty "eh" experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Middle Seat Traveler
Business
Orange County California
Sep 19, 2009

A diamond in the rough

All that makes The Priory a great place to stay lies within its walls: great staff, clean rooms, historic atmosphere. All the amenities of a larger business hotel but on a small, intimate scale. What lies outside is a transitional neighborhood in a location that makes getting a taxi challenging--plan for up to a 45-minute wait from request--and a walk to downtown out of the question. If you've planned a full schedule of meetings plan to stay downtown; otherwise, for a relaxed, off the beaten path location The Priory is a great option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brcooper1971
Pittsburgh, PA
May 15, 2014

Weekday Getaway

We live in Pittsburgh and stayed one night for a night away from kids. We were impressed with the historical value of the place. The place is kept up very well and provided a comfortable and restful night of sleep. We enjoyed the included breakfast in the back courtyard, which was surprisingly quiet considering the location. We would go back again. This is the place to go if you are looking for a classy nostalgic comfy place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Not too far from ball parks and city

Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin' Trudy
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 30, 2010

An o.k. stay at the Priory

We were looking forward to this hotel very much, it seemed to have some character. Unfortunately, the room was very basic & the bathroom itty bitty. We heard a lot of loud conversations in the middle of the night, too, which we slept threw mostly, but was still quite annoying. The breakfast was also pretty standard. Overall, pretty "eh" experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top