$180 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

The Priory

3 stars
View map of 614 Pressley St., Pittsburgh, PA 15212

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Priory

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DGNJ
Business
New Jetsey
Aug 29, 2014

Nice hotel. Would be fantastic in a different area.

Close to the Pirates game and nothing else. Very nice staff and the room was terrific. But the area is not welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kubat
Business
hamden, ct
Aug 18, 2014

Pittsburgh trip

I would recommend (and do) the Priory as an outstanding place to stay for anyone visiting Pittsburgh. Not only are the rooms beautiful, clean and comfortable, but the Monks bar is a great place to have a late night drink and relax. The breakfast in the morning is amazing, fresh eggs and pastry! We sat out in the beautiful courtyard to eat our food, we didn't want to leave the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prioryfan
Business
Columbus, ohio
Aug 17, 2014

A quick weekend trip

The hotel is in a nice neighborhood; don't be dismayed by the gas station on the corner. We loved the shuttle, the coffee, and the upgraded size of our room. I would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use uber if returning after the shuttle is done for the night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
muffysmom
Business
ann arbor
Aug 14, 2014

priority hotel baseball trip

The priority is an interesting hotel which compared to others in the area is a lot more reasonably priced. Staff lack people skills and can be rude. The hotels history is very interesting. The rooms and common areas are lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cosmastro
Business
Washington DC
Aug 5, 2014

Beautiful Hotel!

This hotel is beautiful. It doesn't get much better! The only comment I would make is that if you are looking for food service, the hours and the menu are very limited!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raineymike
Business
Olyphant, PA
Jul 25, 2014

Good location for Pirates games

My husband and I stayed at Priory for 3 nights as we were in town to see 3 Pirates games. This hotel is perfect. The location is near the North Shore, the Strip, & Station Square. The building is beautiful. Lovely old architecture. Beautiful woodwork, windows, & doors. Free parking, buffet breakfast included, free shuttle to local areas. Great little bar. Deana (?) makes wonderful drinks - especially the bramble. We were initially a little apprehensive driving down Pressley to the hotel, but were reassured it was safe. We walked from the strip to the hotel during the day and it was extremely safe. We will certainly stay here again and recommend it whoeheartedly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom to 3
Business
Altoona pa
Jul 21, 2014

Game getaway

We loved the hotel! The bar was very small but the bartender was great! We walked back to the hotel very late after the pirate game & did not feel very safe walking past the projects & all the people from there on the street near the hotel. The street is dark & is a bit scary!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
loiukd
Business
pittsburgh pa
Jul 21, 2014

unique

for the money very nice and not too far from the ballparks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
txgirlinpa
Business
Mifflinburg, PA
Jul 9, 2014

Very enjoyable stay

I chose The Priory because I tire of cookie cutter hotels that are obnoxiously priced. The Priory has a tremendous amount of history and character and is priced lower than other downtown hotels. I loved the detail of the doors and trim. Our room was on the first floor and near an exit but was very quiet. It was small, but we were there to sleep, so it was more than adequate. I'm sure other rooms are larger. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. It was our first visit to Pittsburgh so everyone's suggestions were greatly appreciated. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice location if attending an event at the Consol Energy Center. Even closer to the baseball field.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Priory

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Corabeth
Business
Alaska
Jun 25, 2014

A good value

My daughter and I stayed at the Priory for two restful nights. We enjoyed ourselves immensely. The room was clean, fresh and nicely furnished, and the bathroom and shower was just fine. Great continental breakfast and a lovely courtyard. The hotel is well situated just a little ways over the 9th Street bridge. We were able to walk from the hotel to Heinz Hall and the theatre district. The neighborhood is interesting with a real mix of recently renovated housing and some boarded up ones. Completely safe during the day, but I'd be inclined to take a taxi at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top