$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2014 Check-out: Apr 25, 2014

Quality Inn University Center

2 stars
3401 Blvd of the Allies, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
107 reviews
Nice for the price

The room was very spacious and clean. I enjoy have the refrigerator and microwave was very... See full review

  • NOT EASY TO PLEASE
  • Mar 25, 2014
Convenient for campus visit

Stayed here w/ our daughter, who had an admissions interview at the Pitt med school. Good facility... See full review

  • JHKr
  • Dec 16, 2013
Rooms with a Pittsburgh view and private balconies, too

The Quality Inn University Center is in an ideal location for visitors looking to stay near Pittsburgh's major medical centers and universities. Many are walkable from the hotel's front door, if not in plain sight from one of the hotel's private balconies. Guests not interested in walking can catch a ride on the hotel's complimentary shuttle. Fans of Panera Bread restaurants will be thrilled to discover a location in the hotel lobby.

Policies and fees
Pets are not allowed within the hotel premises.
Highlights
  • Near Pittsburgh education institutions, including universities and medical centers
  • Rooms have private balconies
  • Free shuttle
Rooms

All 119 rooms in this seven-story hotel have private balconies. Each room also has free Wi-Fi, local calls, and weekday paper delivery. Guests can request a room with a microwave and/or refrigerator as well.

Features

It is not everyday that a hotel in the city offers its guests a private balcony with every room. But that is exactly what visitors to the Quality Inn University Center can expect. Other room benefits include free Wi-Fi, free weekday paper delivery, and free local calls. While each room has a coffee maker, the hotel offers a 24-hour coffee service for guests who would prefer not to brew their own coffee.

 

Other conveniences here include a free shuttle in the Oakland area, the Pittsburgh neighborhood where the hotel is located, which is home to the city's major universities. Many of those universities, including the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University, are a short walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • Allegheny County Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
  • Pittsburgh Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (20 mi/32.2 km)
  • Free shuttle throughout the Oakland neighborhood
Nearby attractions
  • University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • University of Pittsburgh (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Carnegie Mellon University (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
In-Room Safe
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn University Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.4361 -79.9581
Nearby airports
Pittsburgh Int'l Airport, (PIT), 18.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, Univ. of Pitts.

Nearby points of interest

  • Petersen Events Center: 0.6 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 1.7 mi
  • Mellon Arena: 1.8 mi
  • PNC Park: 2.6 mi
  • Heinz Field: 3.1 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,146.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn University Center

Overall score

2.5 / 5
20 out of 107
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

1
Let down and out
Reading, PA
Apr 7, 2014

Not a pleasant experience.

We requested a non smoking room and were placed in a smoking room. It was terrible. The room smelled so bad it was almost unbearable to sleep in. The guests in the next room were so loud and obnoxious from 1:30-3:30am. We called the front desk but they didn't do anything about so it was quite a bad experience. Although the location of the hotel to the University was great, I would never make a reservation there again nor would I recommend it to anyone I know. My recommendation to all hotel locators would be to send notifications to your customers if their requests are not available. I would rather have cancelled out that reservation and looked for another hotel then be stuck at the smoke pit and out $145.00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
JHKr
Herndon VA
Dec 16, 2013

Convenient for campus visit

Stayed here w/ our daughter, who had an admissions interview at the Pitt med school. Good facility and staff, very convenient to campus. Recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
FMCE
England
Nov 8, 2013

Great location

Stayed for 12 nights. Excellent location in Oakland between Forbes Avenue and Schenley Park. For a mid price hotel the amenities were excellent, room spacious and had a fridge and microwave. 3 mins walk to Forbes Ave and 10 mins by bus to downtown. Staff very friendly and helpful and the courtesy bus was very good (Gene the driver a lovely man). Panera bread onsite but Pamela's diner just up the road. Great pub, Uncle Jimmy's, 1 min walk from hotel and for those who are staying for more than a few days a laundrette 2 mins walk away. Have seen some negative reviews of this place but cannot understand them from my experience. Would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fuel and Fuddle. Great food reasonably priced

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
RoxyP
Philadelphia
Aug 10, 2013

Friendly Staff; good location for Univ of Pitt

We were on a marathon of college visits, which the staff picked up immediately as we checked in. They were very helpful, providing campus maps without being asked. Being able to walk to campuses was a plus. Hotel is average. We had a smoking room because they were sold out, and the curtains were stained, not to mention the odor in the room and on the floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
VGRK
Maryland, USA
Aug 1, 2013

College vist

The staff was super friendly and helpful. The location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mexican restauratn

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
dlouis
Lisburn, PA
Mar 4, 2013

off to a very bad start

Room very noisy - could hear neighbors every move beside and above us, and outside our door at the elevator. Worst experience was upon arrival in room, entire toilet seat assembly was completely off its base and perpindicular to the toilet tank - thus unusable. Who rents a room to anyone in that condition? They did, however, fix it while we were out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
CMU Grandma
Cincinnati, OH
Nov 13, 2012

Close to CMU

Great location for proximity to CMU. Parking convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
Dropping Oldest at OU
Gaithersburg, MD
Nov 6, 2012

Good, not great... but good.

We were visiting Pitt, so we were not spending a lot of time in the room. I didn't want a pricey hotel - this was an excellent value. The location was PERFECT and the staff had print out directions to everywhere we wanted to go. The room was clean, nice flat screen TV, balcony we didn't use (November), and clean bathroom with double sinks. The bathroom counters were not granite, the floor was not marble, and the bedspreads were not designer fabrics. I didn't want to pay for that, either. I wanted clean, comfortable, and good location. It was all that - I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
Gmoms
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 25, 2012

Close to Hospitals, Universities, and Downtown

Swift check-in/check-out. Friendly staff. Clean room, although very small. Convenient access to Parkway, Schenley Park, Oakland, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
college hopper
cleveland ohio
Jul 31, 2012

one nite stay

priced a little high for a dumpy outdated room.only setting on a window air conditioner was high , very outdated room, needed paint and a new carpet,would not stay there again,way over priced for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

university of pittsburg

Back to menu Return to top