$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Quality Inn University Center

2 stars
3401 Blvd of the Allies, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
115 reviews
great location, very comfortable

easy access to many places. right next to Panera. Room is clean. Wonderful value. See full review

  • CarnegieParent
  • Aug 18, 2014
college touring - pit stop

The hotel staff were extremely helpful as we were in town to visit the various universities. Having... See full review

  • pre college mom
  • Jul 14, 2014
Rooms with a Pittsburgh view and private balconies, too

The Quality Inn University Center is in an ideal location for visitors looking to stay near Pittsburgh's major medical centers and universities. Many are walkable from the hotel's front door, if not in plain sight from one of the hotel's private balconies. Guests not interested in walking can catch a ride on the hotel's complimentary shuttle. Fans of Panera Bread restaurants will be thrilled to discover a location in the hotel lobby.

Policies and fees
Pets are not allowed within the hotel premises.
Highlights
  • Near Pittsburgh education institutions, including universities and medical centers
  • Rooms have private balconies
  • Free shuttle
Rooms

All 119 rooms in this seven-story hotel have private balconies. Each room also has free Wi-Fi, local calls, and weekday paper delivery. Guests can request a room with a microwave and/or refrigerator as well.

Features

It is not everyday that a hotel in the city offers its guests a private balcony with every room. But that is exactly what visitors to the Quality Inn University Center can expect. Other room benefits include free Wi-Fi, free weekday paper delivery, and free local calls. While each room has a coffee maker, the hotel offers a 24-hour coffee service for guests who would prefer not to brew their own coffee.

 

Other conveniences here include a free shuttle in the Oakland area, the Pittsburgh neighborhood where the hotel is located, which is home to the city's major universities. Many of those universities, including the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University, are a short walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • Allegheny County Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
  • Pittsburgh Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (20 mi/32.2 km)
  • Free shuttle throughout the Oakland neighborhood
Nearby attractions
  • University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • University of Pittsburgh (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Carnegie Mellon University (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

40.4361 -79.9581
Nearby airports
Pittsburgh Int'l Airport, (PIT), 18.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, Univ. of Pitts.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn University Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
In-Room Safe
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Petersen Events Center: 0.6 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 1.7 mi
  • Mellon Arena: 1.8 mi
  • PNC Park: 2.6 mi
  • Heinz Field: 3.1 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,146.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn University Center

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 115
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Karina M
Business
Juarez,MX
Aug 6, 2014

Good location and excelent service but needs renovations

It's a good place to stay if you go for business, it's right off the highway, and you're downtown in under 10 minutes.There was always coffee and tea available, it would be nice if they include water in this service and in the rooms. The Panera was also convenient. The desk staff were nice. The hotel also provides free shuttle service, on the hour, to anywhere within a few mile radius, they took me to the carnegie museum of natural history and to the schenley plaza .There are also some interesting, but good restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is an old building that needs renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

take the hotel shuttle and ask them to take you to schenley plaza & carnegie museum of natural history

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MystiqueChico
Business
Norfolk, vA
May 8, 2014

Price not worth it

Well I paid for this hotel more than I should have. I asked for a non smoking room and instead got a smoking room and it was terrible, I had to endure the awful smell of smoke in everything. The bathroom had burn stains on the toilet and the sink, the lights in the bathroom did not work. The sad part about it all was that I was so scared to fall asleep on that bed I stayed up all night. I mean if all of the above has been neglected i could just imagine that the bed was not as clean as it should have been, Awful place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business traveller 5
Business
Pennsylvania
Feb 3, 2014

Okay but not great

Room somewhat clean. Desk staff at night and early morning were not knowledgeable. Does not keep road nor other room noise out. Had access to Panera Bread directly inside hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe T from DC
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 5, 2013

Basic

Hotel is basic. Best feature is a Pannera in the building at street level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Pannera for breakfast, lunch, dinner or coffee

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mlle
Business
Camp Hill, PA
Dec 10, 2012

business trip and campus visit

Facility was very close to Pitt campus. Good value for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Panera Bread is downstairs

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mlle
Business
Camp Hill, PA
Dec 7, 2012

Great location for visiting Pitt

My room was nice, clean and comfortable. Close to Pitt campus. Good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Firecracker
Business
Pittsburgh
Nov 13, 2012

probably wouldn't stay there again unless didn't have a choice

Neither lamp on the bedside stands were plugged in to an outlet so they didn't work at all, the TV schedule had odd channels like 2.1 or 3.3 that didn't register, when I called the front desk the attendant could not help me and said she would call maintenance and call me back which she never did. I had called ahead to ask questions about the shuttle service and was made to believe it had an open schedule and then found out it only ran on the hour and by the time I knew that it was too late to use it to get to my destination so I had to call a cab to take me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Student from Indiana
Business
Indiana
Nov 1, 2012

Accomplished what we needed

It was a place to stay that was close to the convention center. Nothing special, nothing terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yurikate
Business
brooklyn, ny
Sep 24, 2012

No frills, no complaints

I stayed at this Quality Inn for a business trip. It was a little on the shabby side, but was perfectly clean and had everything I needed. A comfortable bed, an ironing board, a desk, coffee in room, and it was conveniently located to both the area I needed to visit for work (near Carnegie Mellon) and the areas in which I wanted to hang out in(the Cultural District and the South Side. It was also easily a hundred dollars less than all the other hotels even close to the city center. I would absolutely stay here again in Pittsburgh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soup lady
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Jun 4, 2012

most convenient and quiet Oakland stay

This was the second time I stayed at this hotel. Staff is MOST helpful and pleasant. My favorite things are that the balcony sliding doors DO open and there's a bookcase in the lobby where folks can take or leave kids' books or reading to get one through an airport delay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search