$101 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Quality Inn University Center

2 stars
View map of 3401 Blvd of the Allies, Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
128 reviews
Nice hotel

Great location, shuttle to get to Steelers game was very convenient, and having Panera right in the... See full review

  • Alyssa A.
  • Jun 12, 2015
interview day

i just needed a place to sleep before my interview. overall it was clean and i had a good stay See full review

  • ANDREA I.
  • Apr 14, 2015

The Quality Inn University Center is in an ideal location for visitors looking to stay near Pittsburgh's major medical centers and universities. Many are walkable from the hotel's front door, if not in plain sight from one of the hotel's private balconies. Guests not interested in walking can catch a ride on the hotel's complimentary shuttle. Fans of Panera Bread restaurants will be thrilled to discover a location in the hotel lobby.

Rooms

All 119 rooms in this seven-story hotel have private balconies. Each room also has free Wi-Fi, local calls, and weekday paper delivery. Guests can request a room with a microwave and/or refrigerator as well.

Property features

It is not everyday that a hotel in the city offers its guests a private balcony with every room. But that is exactly what visitors to the Quality Inn University Center can expect. Other room benefits include free Wi-Fi, free weekday paper delivery, and free local calls. While each room has a coffee maker, the hotel offers a 24-hour coffee service for guests who would prefer not to brew their own coffee.

 

Other conveniences here include a free shuttle in the Oakland area, the Pittsburgh neighborhood where the hotel is located, which is home to the city's major universities. Many of those universities, including the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University, are a short walk from the hotel.

Highlights
Pets are not allowed within the hotel premises.
Nearby attractions
  • University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • University of Pittsburgh (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Carnegie Mellon University (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
Transportation
  • Allegheny County Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
  • Pittsburgh Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (20 mi/32.2 km)
  • Free shuttle throughout the Oakland neighborhood

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn University Center also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Petersen Events Center: 0.6 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 1.7 mi
  • Mellon Arena: 1.8 mi
  • PNC Park: 2.6 mi
  • Heinz Field: 3.1 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,146.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn University Center

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 128
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CarnegieParent
Business
San Jose, California
Aug 18, 2014

great location, very comfortable

easy access to many places. right next to Panera. Room is clean. Wonderful value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

"R" floor - push "R" button in elevator, you walk into the restaurant when door is opened.

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pre college mom
Business
Reading, PA
Jul 14, 2014

college touring - pit stop

The hotel staff were extremely helpful as we were in town to visit the various universities. Having the convenience of the shuttle was extremely helpful. The rooms were clean and quiet. Overall, a pleasant experience. I would recommend for anyone visiting as it is conveniently located to the major highway as well as the various universities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Panera restaurant located within the hotel making it convenient to grab a sandwich or breakfast without going anywhere.

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heener
Business
New York
Apr 29, 2014

PITT graduation

My only problem was that it was in the smoking section of the hotel, and it really smelled of smoke!!! Very offensive, but that was only room available. Staff was very pleasant, location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Let down and out
Business
Reading, PA
Apr 7, 2014

Not a pleasant experience.

We requested a non smoking room and were placed in a smoking room. It was terrible. The room smelled so bad it was almost unbearable to sleep in. The guests in the next room were so loud and obnoxious from 1:30-3:30am. We called the front desk but they didn't do anything about so it was quite a bad experience. Although the location of the hotel to the University was great, I would never make a reservation there again nor would I recommend it to anyone I know. My recommendation to all hotel locators would be to send notifications to your customers if their requests are not available. I would rather have cancelled out that reservation and looked for another hotel then be stuck at the smoke pit and out $145.00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JHKr
Business
Herndon VA
Dec 16, 2013

Convenient for campus visit

Stayed here w/ our daughter, who had an admissions interview at the Pitt med school. Good facility and staff, very convenient to campus. Recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FMCE
Business
England
Nov 8, 2013

Great location

Stayed for 12 nights. Excellent location in Oakland between Forbes Avenue and Schenley Park. For a mid price hotel the amenities were excellent, room spacious and had a fridge and microwave. 3 mins walk to Forbes Ave and 10 mins by bus to downtown. Staff very friendly and helpful and the courtesy bus was very good (Gene the driver a lovely man). Panera bread onsite but Pamela's diner just up the road. Great pub, Uncle Jimmy's, 1 min walk from hotel and for those who are staying for more than a few days a laundrette 2 mins walk away. Have seen some negative reviews of this place but cannot understand them from my experience. Would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fuel and Fuddle. Great food reasonably priced

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RoxyP
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 10, 2013

Friendly Staff; good location for Univ of Pitt

We were on a marathon of college visits, which the staff picked up immediately as we checked in. They were very helpful, providing campus maps without being asked. Being able to walk to campuses was a plus. Hotel is average. We had a smoking room because they were sold out, and the curtains were stained, not to mention the odor in the room and on the floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VGRK
Business
Maryland, USA
Aug 1, 2013

College vist

The staff was super friendly and helpful. The location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mexican restauratn

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dlouis
Business
Lisburn, PA
Mar 4, 2013

off to a very bad start

Room very noisy - could hear neighbors every move beside and above us, and outside our door at the elevator. Worst experience was upon arrival in room, entire toilet seat assembly was completely off its base and perpindicular to the toilet tank - thus unusable. Who rents a room to anyone in that condition? They did, however, fix it while we were out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CMU Grandma
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Nov 13, 2012

Close to CMU

Great location for proximity to CMU. Parking convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top