$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Quality Inn University Center

2 stars
3401 Blvd of the Allies, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
122 reviews
Convenience and friendly accomodation

We stayed overnight for college campus visit. Location is very close to U Pitt & Carnegie Mellon.... See full review

  • Hooah Steve
  • Apr 2, 2013
college touring - pit stop

The hotel staff were extremely helpful as we were in town to visit the various universities. Having... See full review

  • pre college mom
  • Jul 14, 2014
Rooms with a Pittsburgh view and private balconies, too

The Quality Inn University Center is in an ideal location for visitors looking to stay near Pittsburgh's major medical centers and universities. Many are walkable from the hotel's front door, if not in plain sight from one of the hotel's private balconies. Guests not interested in walking can catch a ride on the hotel's complimentary shuttle. Fans of Panera Bread restaurants will be thrilled to discover a location in the hotel lobby.

Policies and fees
Pets are not allowed within the hotel premises.
Highlights
  • Near Pittsburgh education institutions, including universities and medical centers
  • Rooms have private balconies
  • Free shuttle
Rooms

All 119 rooms in this seven-story hotel have private balconies. Each room also has free Wi-Fi, local calls, and weekday paper delivery. Guests can request a room with a microwave and/or refrigerator as well.

Features

It is not everyday that a hotel in the city offers its guests a private balcony with every room. But that is exactly what visitors to the Quality Inn University Center can expect. Other room benefits include free Wi-Fi, free weekday paper delivery, and free local calls. While each room has a coffee maker, the hotel offers a 24-hour coffee service for guests who would prefer not to brew their own coffee.

 

Other conveniences here include a free shuttle in the Oakland area, the Pittsburgh neighborhood where the hotel is located, which is home to the city's major universities. Many of those universities, including the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University, are a short walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • Allegheny County Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
  • Pittsburgh Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (20 mi/32.2 km)
  • Free shuttle throughout the Oakland neighborhood
Nearby attractions
  • University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • University of Pittsburgh (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Carnegie Mellon University (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

40.4361 -79.9581
Nearby airports
Pittsburgh Int'l Airport, (PIT), 18.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, Univ. of Pitts.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn University Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
In-Room Safe
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Petersen Events Center: 0.6 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 1.7 mi
  • Mellon Arena: 1.8 mi
  • PNC Park: 2.6 mi
  • Heinz Field: 3.1 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,146.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn University Center

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Let down and out
Reading, PA
Apr 7, 2014

Not a pleasant experience.

We requested a non smoking room and were placed in a smoking room. It was terrible. The room smelled so bad it was almost unbearable to sleep in. The guests in the next room were so loud and obnoxious from 1:30-3:30am. We called the front desk but they didn't do anything about so it was quite a bad experience. Although the location of the hotel to the University was great, I would never make a reservation there again nor would I recommend it to anyone I know. My recommendation to all hotel locators would be to send notifications to your customers if their requests are not available. I would rather have cancelled out that reservation and looked for another hotel then be stuck at the smoke pit and out $145.00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Val SL
Ontario, Canada
Apr 24, 2014

Never Again

We arrived at the hotel. Check in was fine. The elevator worked sporadically and we had to switch to another one 3 or 4 different times during our stay. When we arrived in our room, there were two big spots on the carpet near the sliding door. The entire room stank of urine but was worse near the two big spots...There were also several big black spots on the carpet in front of the bathroom - possibly a contractor's oily boots? We went for a concert at the Consol Center. We left our hotel room at 10 AM. At that time, the hotel staff cleaner was in the room next to ours. When we returned just after midnight, the room had not been touched. The bed was not made, towels, anything...After a call to the front desk, the night security guard brought us a bag of stuff which included towels, shampoo, Kleenex, toilet paper etc. We spent as little time in the room as possible because of the smell. We were afraid to walk on the carpet without shoes. My husband put our extra shoes up on top of the hanging rack to keep them off the floor too. We will never stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If in Pittsburgh, visit the shops in the Strip District - all old warehouses etc and a real adventure!

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
huntshri
NJ
Nov 8, 2011

Overpriced !

This hotel is overpriced ! Toilet Flush was not working , bedsheets were not smelling good ...could hear a loud thumping sound from the elevator outside all night !!! Good Part : Panera Bread right adjacent to the hotel open 6 am to 9 pm , Television in room was 40 " LCD HD :) with HBO !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HateThisHotel
Washington, DC
Apr 15, 2009

At best, this hotel rates a paltry "meh"

Came here for my buddys wedding. The hotel where everyone was staying at cost about $170 per night and this one only cost me about $70 per night. This being one of the cheapest hotels in the area plus still being close to the campus is the only thing that makes this hotel a viable option to stay at. Fortunately, it's close to 376 so you can get out fairly quickly. This hotels looks like it's old because it is. The interior looks run down and the balconies are pretty shoddy looking. When you first walk in the lobby, or to your floor, or to your room will be the smell. It smells funky in there. Almost as if everyone there forgot to bath for a day. If you're single or hanging out with your friends and need a place to crash, this will do the trick. if you're taking your family on a vacation and, god only knows why, decide to stay here, you need to pony up some more money and hit the Wyndam Garden or the Marriots in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located pretty close to the Pitt campus. It would take you about 15-20 minutes to walk from here to the Cathedral of Learning so it's close to pretty much everything.

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Birmingham AL
Oct 11, 2009

Awful, Dirty

The hotel is rundown, the walls in the elevators were chipped. I was placed on the third floor which is a smoking FLOOR. I pointed out that I requested no smoking and they said that when you book through a third party like [...], it is a request and is not guaranteed. They were full and could not move me. The room did not appear clean and I made them rechange the sheets. I will never stay there again and am upset with [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 5, 2010

Disappointing

I got the hotel room because it was close to downtown Pittsburgh and the least expensive. The room seemed small and unclean. The bathroom was even smaller and the shower head and dial were not attached to the wall. The light switches and outlets were setup wrong. The only nice thing was the view of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Walmart

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 20, 2007

Not Quite up to snuff

The rooms were clean and comfortable, with signs of age. The manager said that a major upgrade was scheduled in four months, which would address our issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This is near the University's (Pitt and Carnegy Mellon), museums, and parks. It is also a short drive to downtown. Eating places are abundant, but these are in older buildings with limited access for disbled. (One place we succeeded in getting into, had its disabled access bathroom down a flight of stairs).

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charleston S.C.
Jun 24, 2009

bad

should have -star was a dump, made a Motel 6 look like 5-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Eastern Pennsylvania
Jun 27, 2011

Yuck

This was the most run down place I have ever stayed. The room was not clean and the area outside the hotel was very "sketchy." I was concerned that if I unpacked my suitcase, something would crawl into my clothes. I didn't even take a shower there because the bathtub had hair in it and the toilet seat was up when I first went into the room. Don't stay here unless you absolutely have to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville, TN
Jan 4, 2010

Ghetto, Slummy, Filthy & Decrepit

This hotel (more aptly described as a cesspool) is in serious need of being demolished. No renovation could possibly fix all of the issues this place has. The staff was courteous and helpful and helped us find a room that was slightly more acceptable than the one we originally checked into, but it was still scuzzy, old, and generally nasty. It smelled like a mix between a New York City public restroom and a smokey bar. This place cost me over $115 a night (holiday rate) and I would have been much better off paying $10 more dollars and staying in the University Holiday Inn. Do not waste your money on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search