$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Quality Inn University Center

2 stars
3401 Blvd of the Allies, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
175 reviews
college touring - pit stop

The hotel staff were extremely helpful as we were in town to visit the various universities. Having... See full review

  • pre college mom
  • Jul 14, 2014
Nice for the price

The room was very spacious and clean. I enjoy have the refrigerator and microwave was very... See full review

  • NOT EASY TO PLEASE
  • Mar 25, 2014
Rooms with a Pittsburgh view and private balconies, too

The Quality Inn University Center is in an ideal location for visitors looking to stay near Pittsburgh's major medical centers and universities. Many are walkable from the hotel's front door, if not in plain sight from one of the hotel's private balconies. Guests not interested in walking can catch a ride on the hotel's complimentary shuttle. Fans of Panera Bread restaurants will be thrilled to discover a location in the hotel lobby.

Policies and fees
Pets are not allowed within the hotel premises.
Highlights
  • Near Pittsburgh education institutions, including universities and medical centers
  • Rooms have private balconies
  • Free shuttle
Rooms

All 119 rooms in this seven-story hotel have private balconies. Each room also has free Wi-Fi, local calls, and weekday paper delivery. Guests can request a room with a microwave and/or refrigerator as well.

Features

It is not everyday that a hotel in the city offers its guests a private balcony with every room. But that is exactly what visitors to the Quality Inn University Center can expect. Other room benefits include free Wi-Fi, free weekday paper delivery, and free local calls. While each room has a coffee maker, the hotel offers a 24-hour coffee service for guests who would prefer not to brew their own coffee.

 

Other conveniences here include a free shuttle in the Oakland area, the Pittsburgh neighborhood where the hotel is located, which is home to the city's major universities. Many of those universities, including the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University, are a short walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • Allegheny County Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
  • Pittsburgh Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (20 mi/32.2 km)
  • Free shuttle throughout the Oakland neighborhood
Nearby attractions
  • University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • University of Pittsburgh (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Carnegie Mellon University (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
In-Room Safe
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn University Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.4361 -79.9581
Nearby airports
Pittsburgh Int'l Airport, (PIT), 18.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, Univ. of Pitts.

Nearby points of interest

  • Petersen Events Center: 0.6 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 1.7 mi
  • Mellon Arena: 1.8 mi
  • PNC Park: 2.6 mi
  • Heinz Field: 3.1 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,146.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn University Center

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nonk
Business
Lansing, MI
Jun 7, 2011

Ok Hotel

high price for an old hotel. they have shuttle bus, but it only serves nearby area, where you can reach by walking anyway. otherwise cleanliness is appropriate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim From Boston
Business
Boston, MA
May 31, 2011

Good Value

Good value for the money compared to other hotels in the area. Thr hotel has gone up in price considerably in the 7 years I've been traveling for business at Carnegie Mellon University. The neighborhood is a little grubby but safe enough I suppose. A quick walk to the action in Oakland, Pitt and CMU. The hotel is old, needs updating but I've found it very clean. The staff is good, no problems really and I've been back many times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim From Boston
Business
Boston, MA
May 31, 2011

Good Value

Good value for the money compared to other hotels in the area. Thr hotel has gone up in price considerably in the 7 years I've been traveling for business at Carnegie Mellon University. The neighborhood is a little grubby but safe enough I suppose. A quick walk to the action in Oakland, Pitt and CMU. The hotel is old, needs updating but I've found it very clean. The staff is good, no problems really and I've been back many times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
johnstown, pa
Apr 23, 2011

good location and price

It was clean and the staff were very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
johnstown, pa
Apr 23, 2011

good location and price

It was clean and the staff were very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Apr 17, 2011

Average location for the price

Average

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Allentown, Pa
Apr 3, 2011

adequate for our overnight stay

We were in Pittsburgh to visit Pitt. We arrived late and checked out by 8:30 so we wanted something close to the university but not a lot of money. The Quality Inn fit the bill. Easy to find, its right off the exit and only a mile or so from the university of Pittsburgh. It isn't anything fancy but was clean and comfortable for the night. It was less expensive than other hotels in the area that I checked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Allentown, Pa
Apr 3, 2011

adequate for our overnight stay

We were in Pittsburgh to visit Pitt. We arrived late and checked out by 8:30 so we wanted something close to the university but not a lot of money. The Quality Inn fit the bill. Easy to find, its right off the exit and only a mile or so from the university of Pittsburgh. It isn't anything fancy but was clean and comfortable for the night. It was less expensive than other hotels in the area that I checked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Feb 10, 2011

No issues!

I traveled there on business, used the 28x bus from the airport (cost 3.25 each way rather than a $50 cab!!) and they have a free shuttle at the hotel which will bring you around within the city which was helpful for my interview! The panera on the 1st floor was totally clutch!! Front desk workers were friendly and helpful. Room was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to the closest 28x bus pick up to get a ride to the airport (about 0.4miles) and you'll save yourself about $90 in taxi fare. It's $50 for a taxi each way, and $3.25 for the bus each way!

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Connecticut
Feb 10, 2011

No issues!

I traveled there on business, used the 28x bus from the airport (cost 3.25 each way rather than a $50 cab!!) and they have a free shuttle at the hotel which will bring you around within the city which was helpful for my interview! The panera on the 1st floor was totally clutch!! Front desk workers were friendly and helpful. Room was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to the closest 28x bus pick up to get a ride to the airport (about 0.4miles) and you'll save yourself about $90 in taxi fare. It's $50 for a taxi each way, and $3.25 for the bus each way!

Back to menu Return to top