$101 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Quality Inn University Center

2 stars
View map of 3401 Blvd of the Allies, Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn University Center

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dropping Oldest at OU
Gaithersburg, MD
Nov 6, 2012

Good, not great... but good.

We were visiting Pitt, so we were not spending a lot of time in the room. I didn't want a pricey hotel - this was an excellent value. The location was PERFECT and the staff had print out directions to everywhere we wanted to go. The room was clean, nice flat screen TV, balcony we didn't use (November), and clean bathroom with double sinks. The bathroom counters were not granite, the floor was not marble, and the bedspreads were not designer fabrics. I didn't want to pay for that, either. I wanted clean, comfortable, and good location. It was all that - I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Taryn R.
Business
Erie, PA, USA
Apr 16, 2012

okay for price

I only stayed at this hotel for one night thankfully, but it was not great. The pillows were mushy, the bed was hard, and I couldn't find an outlet near the bed to charge my phone. Probably wouldn't stay there again, but worked for what I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paytontech
Business
Seattle, Wa
Apr 1, 2012

Not a bad place

This isn't a bad hotel. It could be a little cheaper but that's forgivable. The room was reasonably big with a desk and TV and full size bathroom. The place was clean and the staff were nice. BIG plus is that they have a computer in the lobby you can use for free and PRINT for free too. I hope they don't make the mistake of discontinuing this service. It's a Godsend if you don't happen to bring a laptop and/or smartphone. Not everybody has a smartphone and those who have laptops don't always bring them. Location wise, it's right next to U Pitt, though that wasn't my target. Mine was downtown. By cab you can get to the Lawrence Convention Center for about $9 but walk up a street or two and you can catch a bus. You can also catch 28X back to the airport when you're ready to go home. 28X will also get you downtown, not far from the Convention Center, just be sure to get off at that stop because the next is far away from it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PiTT in Steelers
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Not a bad location and people are polite

The location of the hotel was not that bad. It was relatively farther than any other hotels that are located near the University of Pittsburgh. However, it was in walkable location (about 15 minutes away from the school). Also, if we consider the price. it was a good deal. However, they do not provide any breakfast. So, you need to find stores that are near by. But, then on same building, there is Panera. So, I guess it was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
huntshri
Business
NJ
Nov 8, 2011

Overpriced !

This hotel is overpriced ! Toilet Flush was not working , bedsheets were not smelling good ...could hear a loud thumping sound from the elevator outside all night !!! Good Part : Panera Bread right adjacent to the hotel open 6 am to 9 pm , Television in room was 40 " LCD HD :) with HBO !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Solitary
Business
Ventura, CA, USA
Nov 6, 2011

Great spot in Pittsburgh

This was the most reasonable hotel I found in Pittsburgh near the University. Still, it was great! Fresh coffee in the lobby any time. The rooms have coffeemaker, a refrigerator and a microwave. Rooms were kept clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. They run a shuttle for the vicinity. Bus lines are nearby as is the hospital. Restaurant in building for breakfast and sandwiches. What's not to like?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TMSC
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Quality Inn near Pitt

This Quality Inn was a good no-frills place to rest your head while in Pittsburgh. The room was basic but clean. The free internet service was good enough to connect to my office over VPN. Given the prices of other hotels in the area, it was an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NAV3563
Business
PA
Oct 19, 2011

In need of Upgrade

Tv's are old and bulky. Wi-Fi was not that fast. very slow this time around. The furnishing need to be thrown out and upgraded. Chairs do not adjust to better height at the desk and are very hard. Switches all do not work at the bedside and there was no lamp at the one side of the bed where the phone and clock were. Rooms need mini frigerators also. I asked for one and none were avail. Had to use Ice to keep some medications cold. Bathroom the floor gets totally wet when your showering. no plastic liner on the shower curtain to keep water in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
beachbroad
Business
Neotsu, Oregon
Oct 6, 2011

If I had it to do over...

I would have paid the extra money and stayed somewhere else. Our stay was wretched. Our room had a paper-thin door to an adjoining room. The people in that room might as well have been in bed with me. They were trying, quietly, to talk over old times. I know their high school science teacher's name, for cryin' in the night! I finally had to rap on the door at 12:30, and I felt guilty doing it because they seemed like such nice people, with the three little kids and two dogs, you know. We were right over the main entrance so were awakened very early in the morning by people in loud conversation with taxi and shuttle drivers, etc. We tried to get a different room, but no. The whole place felt scruffy. Good things? There was a wonderful woman on staff the night we checked in, running all over trying to help us get settled--our key didn't work, the rollaway bed hadn't been delivered, there was no place to get something to eat after 9, etc. She was a 10. The hotel wasn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Panera is in the building. Good food.

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
azfanua
Business
Tucson, AZ, USA
Sep 25, 2011

nice stay

Nice hotel near amenities. Free bus service around town, no cabs needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
montreal, canada
Sep 5, 2011

for location only

good for the price but not to stay longer then one night , very basic, we have a car and can go to the city not very far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top