$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 5, 2014 Check-out: May 6, 2014

Quality Inn University Center

2 stars
3401 Blvd of the Allies, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
107 reviews
Nice for the price

The room was very spacious and clean. I enjoy have the refrigerator and microwave was very... See full review

  • NOT EASY TO PLEASE
  • Mar 25, 2014
Convenient for campus visit

Stayed here w/ our daughter, who had an admissions interview at the Pitt med school. Good facility... See full review

  • JHKr
  • Dec 16, 2013
Rooms with a Pittsburgh view and private balconies, too

The Quality Inn University Center is in an ideal location for visitors looking to stay near Pittsburgh's major medical centers and universities. Many are walkable from the hotel's front door, if not in plain sight from one of the hotel's private balconies. Guests not interested in walking can catch a ride on the hotel's complimentary shuttle. Fans of Panera Bread restaurants will be thrilled to discover a location in the hotel lobby.

Policies and fees
Pets are not allowed within the hotel premises.
Highlights
  • Near Pittsburgh education institutions, including universities and medical centers
  • Rooms have private balconies
  • Free shuttle
Rooms

All 119 rooms in this seven-story hotel have private balconies. Each room also has free Wi-Fi, local calls, and weekday paper delivery. Guests can request a room with a microwave and/or refrigerator as well.

Features

It is not everyday that a hotel in the city offers its guests a private balcony with every room. But that is exactly what visitors to the Quality Inn University Center can expect. Other room benefits include free Wi-Fi, free weekday paper delivery, and free local calls. While each room has a coffee maker, the hotel offers a 24-hour coffee service for guests who would prefer not to brew their own coffee.

 

Other conveniences here include a free shuttle in the Oakland area, the Pittsburgh neighborhood where the hotel is located, which is home to the city's major universities. Many of those universities, including the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University, are a short walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • Allegheny County Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
  • Pittsburgh Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (20 mi/32.2 km)
  • Free shuttle throughout the Oakland neighborhood
Nearby attractions
  • University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • University of Pittsburgh (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Carnegie Mellon University (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
In-Room Safe
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn University Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.4361 -79.9581
Nearby airports
Pittsburgh Int'l Airport, (PIT), 18.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, Univ. of Pitts.

Nearby points of interest

  • Petersen Events Center: 0.6 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 1.7 mi
  • Mellon Arena: 1.8 mi
  • PNC Park: 2.6 mi
  • Heinz Field: 3.1 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,146.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn University Center

Overall score

3 / 5
107 out of 107
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
Dropping Oldest at OU
Gaithersburg, MD
Nov 6, 2012

Good, not great... but good.

We were visiting Pitt, so we were not spending a lot of time in the room. I didn't want a pricey hotel - this was an excellent value. The location was PERFECT and the staff had print out directions to everywhere we wanted to go. The room was clean, nice flat screen TV, balcony we didn't use (November), and clean bathroom with double sinks. The bathroom counters were not granite, the floor was not marble, and the bedspreads were not designer fabrics. I didn't want to pay for that, either. I wanted clean, comfortable, and good location. It was all that - I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
beachbroad
Neotsu, Oregon
Oct 6, 2011

If I had it to do over...

I would have paid the extra money and stayed somewhere else. Our stay was wretched. Our room had a paper-thin door to an adjoining room. The people in that room might as well have been in bed with me. They were trying, quietly, to talk over old times. I know their high school science teacher's name, for cryin' in the night! I finally had to rap on the door at 12:30, and I felt guilty doing it because they seemed like such nice people, with the three little kids and two dogs, you know. We were right over the main entrance so were awakened very early in the morning by people in loud conversation with taxi and shuttle drivers, etc. We tried to get a different room, but no. The whole place felt scruffy. Good things? There was a wonderful woman on staff the night we checked in, running all over trying to help us get settled--our key didn't work, the rollaway bed hadn't been delivered, there was no place to get something to eat after 9, etc. She was a 10. The hotel wasn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

Panera is in the building. Good food.

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
azfanua
Tucson, AZ, USA
Sep 25, 2011

nice stay

Nice hotel near amenities. Free bus service around town, no cabs needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
black barbie
montreal, canada
Sep 5, 2011

for location only

good for the price but not to stay longer then one night , very basic, we have a car and can go to the city not very far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

5
J.Jose
India
Aug 30, 2011

best place to stay near CMU

Room is clean . Location perfect for parents visiting CMU free shuttle service is a big advantage Staff is very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 8, 2011

Convient, but...

The location is convenient for Oakland, but the hotel is long past its glory days. I don't mind older buildings, but this was truly run down to downright dirty. The one saving grace was the Panera downstairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
Jackel906
State College,Pa
Jul 4, 2011

It was convenient

To me it looked like a hotel built in '50 s, and hasn't been touched since. The staff was friendly, it was relatively clean, but a lot of little things need attention.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
phb lady
Albion, PA
Jul 4, 2011

enjoyable stay

We needed a play to stay after the concert. This was a great place. The staff was helpful in providing information on how to go about getting to and from the concert at Heinz field. The Panera Bread Restaurant downstairs was very convenient. We would recommend this hotel. The previous review that we read before we left were from a couple of years ago, so we thought we should enter an updated one. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Eastern Pennsylvania
Jun 27, 2011

Yuck

This was the most run down place I have ever stayed. The room was not clean and the area outside the hotel was very "sketchy." I was concerned that if I unpacked my suitcase, something would crawl into my clothes. I didn't even take a shower there because the bathtub had hair in it and the toilet seat was up when I first went into the room. Don't stay here unless you absolutely have to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
nonk
Business
Lansing, MI
Jun 7, 2011

Ok Hotel

high price for an old hotel. they have shuttle bus, but it only serves nearby area, where you can reach by walking anyway. otherwise cleanliness is appropriate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
Jim From Boston
Business
Boston, MA
May 31, 2011

Good Value

Good value for the money compared to other hotels in the area. Thr hotel has gone up in price considerably in the 7 years I've been traveling for business at Carnegie Mellon University. The neighborhood is a little grubby but safe enough I suppose. A quick walk to the action in Oakland, Pitt and CMU. The hotel is old, needs updating but I've found it very clean. The staff is good, no problems really and I've been back many times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top