$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Quality Inn University Center

2 stars
3401 Blvd of the Allies, Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
174 reviews
Nice for the price

The room was very spacious and clean. I enjoy have the refrigerator and microwave was very... See full review

  • NOT EASY TO PLEASE
  • Mar 25, 2014
Convenient for campus visit

Stayed here w/ our daughter, who had an admissions interview at the Pitt med school. Good facility... See full review

  • JHKr
  • Dec 16, 2013
Rooms with a Pittsburgh view and private balconies, too

The Quality Inn University Center is in an ideal location for visitors looking to stay near Pittsburgh's major medical centers and universities. Many are walkable from the hotel's front door, if not in plain sight from one of the hotel's private balconies. Guests not interested in walking can catch a ride on the hotel's complimentary shuttle. Fans of Panera Bread restaurants will be thrilled to discover a location in the hotel lobby.

Policies and fees
Pets are not allowed within the hotel premises.
Highlights
  • Near Pittsburgh education institutions, including universities and medical centers
  • Rooms have private balconies
  • Free shuttle
Rooms

All 119 rooms in this seven-story hotel have private balconies. Each room also has free Wi-Fi, local calls, and weekday paper delivery. Guests can request a room with a microwave and/or refrigerator as well.

Features

It is not everyday that a hotel in the city offers its guests a private balcony with every room. But that is exactly what visitors to the Quality Inn University Center can expect. Other room benefits include free Wi-Fi, free weekday paper delivery, and free local calls. While each room has a coffee maker, the hotel offers a 24-hour coffee service for guests who would prefer not to brew their own coffee.

 

Other conveniences here include a free shuttle in the Oakland area, the Pittsburgh neighborhood where the hotel is located, which is home to the city's major universities. Many of those universities, including the University of Pittsburgh and Carnegie Mellon University, are a short walk from the hotel.

Transportation
  • Allegheny County Airport (8 mi/12.8 km)
  • Pittsburgh Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (20 mi/32.2 km)
  • Free shuttle throughout the Oakland neighborhood
Nearby attractions
  • University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • University of Pittsburgh (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Carnegie Mellon University (1 mi/1.6 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
In-Room Safe
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn University Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.4361 -79.9581
Nearby airports
Pittsburgh Int'l Airport, (PIT), 18.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, Univ. of Pitts.

Nearby points of interest

  • Petersen Events Center: 0.6 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 1.7 mi
  • Mellon Arena: 1.8 mi
  • PNC Park: 2.6 mi
  • Heinz Field: 3.1 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,146.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (174)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn University Center

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J.Jose
India
Aug 30, 2011

best place to stay near CMU

Room is clean . Location perfect for parents visiting CMU free shuttle service is a big advantage Staff is very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HOIyty
Buffalo, NY
Jul 1, 2014

Better accommodations are available close by

Thank God for Netflix, cause the TV was un-viewable. My car was side-swiped in the parking lot and I tore off my spoiler on a parking bumper. Specified no-smoking room, but there was a faint hint of smoke smell and burn marks on the bathroom vanity. Inadequate number of outlets for recharging 2 sets of phones and tablets. Bed lamp didn't work. Plumbing issues. Facility is in need of a major refurbishment. On the positive side, the staff was helpful and pleasant. A/C was very good and didn't constantly shut-off as in many new hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling Writer
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 3, 2014

OK

The hotel is old and kind of grungy. It is oddly located in a residential neighborhood. The shuttle service was great for shuttling me in and around the Oakland neighborhood only. The staff was great. the hotel offered almost nothing in the way of amenities though and was just ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MystiqueChico
Business
Norfolk, vA
May 8, 2014

Price not worth it

Well I paid for this hotel more than I should have. I asked for a non smoking room and instead got a smoking room and it was terrible, I had to endure the awful smell of smoke in everything. The bathroom had burn stains on the toilet and the sink, the lights in the bathroom did not work. The sad part about it all was that I was so scared to fall asleep on that bed I stayed up all night. I mean if all of the above has been neglected i could just imagine that the bed was not as clean as it should have been, Awful place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heener
New York
Apr 29, 2014

PITT graduation

My only problem was that it was in the smoking section of the hotel, and it really smelled of smoke!!! Very offensive, but that was only room available. Staff was very pleasant, location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Val SL
Ontario, Canada
Apr 24, 2014

Never Again

We arrived at the hotel. Check in was fine. The elevator worked sporadically and we had to switch to another one 3 or 4 different times during our stay. When we arrived in our room, there were two big spots on the carpet near the sliding door. The entire room stank of urine but was worse near the two big spots...There were also several big black spots on the carpet in front of the bathroom - possibly a contractor's oily boots? We went for a concert at the Consol Center. We left our hotel room at 10 AM. At that time, the hotel staff cleaner was in the room next to ours. When we returned just after midnight, the room had not been touched. The bed was not made, towels, anything...After a call to the front desk, the night security guard brought us a bag of stuff which included towels, shampoo, Kleenex, toilet paper etc. We spent as little time in the room as possible because of the smell. We were afraid to walk on the carpet without shoes. My husband put our extra shoes up on top of the hanging rack to keep them off the floor too. We will never stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If in Pittsburgh, visit the shops in the Strip District - all old warehouses etc and a real adventure!

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Let down and out
Reading, PA
Apr 7, 2014

Not a pleasant experience.

We requested a non smoking room and were placed in a smoking room. It was terrible. The room smelled so bad it was almost unbearable to sleep in. The guests in the next room were so loud and obnoxious from 1:30-3:30am. We called the front desk but they didn't do anything about so it was quite a bad experience. Although the location of the hotel to the University was great, I would never make a reservation there again nor would I recommend it to anyone I know. My recommendation to all hotel locators would be to send notifications to your customers if their requests are not available. I would rather have cancelled out that reservation and looked for another hotel then be stuck at the smoke pit and out $145.00.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MTD Landscaping
philadelphia
Apr 4, 2014

average stay

no problem here, as I have been here before...connected to Panera so that's a plus...would have rather spent the 145 at the Hampton where I get free breakfast and there is a lounge....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

uptown kitchen in shadyside...good food.....

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NOT EASY TO PLEASE
ALLENTOWN PA
Mar 25, 2014

Nice for the price

The room was very spacious and clean. I enjoy have the refrigerator and microwave was very convenient. The staff was very friendly I would stay again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business traveller 5
Business
Pennsylvania
Feb 3, 2014

Okay but not great

Room somewhat clean. Desk staff at night and early morning were not knowledgeable. Does not keep road nor other room noise out. Had access to Panera Bread directly inside hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn University Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JHKr
Herndon VA
Dec 16, 2013

Convenient for campus visit

Stayed here w/ our daughter, who had an admissions interview at the Pitt med school. Good facility and staff, very convenient to campus. Recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top