$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Omni William Penn Hotel

4 stars
530 William Penn Place, Omni William Penn, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
84 reviews
All expectations met!

Loved everything about this hotel. Omni, you are a class act! See full review

  • Ms. KK
  • Aug 16, 2014
Historic Hotel, Classic Elegance, Excellent Dining

I have stayed at quite a few historic hotels in several states – that is my preference if presented... See full review

  • Historical Adventurer
  • Aug 5, 2014
The Omni William Penn Hotel has captivated guests with its striking beauty and its charming elegance since 1916. This historic landmark property has welcomed guests ranging from President John F. Kennedy to Billy Joel and from Bruce Springsteen to the Dalai Lama. Guests need not be celebrities to enjoy the ultra comfortable and completely renovated guest rooms featuring up-to-the-minute technology including high speed wireless internet access and dual phone lines plus video check-out and personal voicemail. The hotel offers a variety of restaurants and cafes including the elegant Terrace Room featuring continental cuisine and the Palm Court with its traditional afternoon English tea. The hotel is surrounded by shopping and dining plus cultural and sporting venues and is only 3 blocks from the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. The hotel is adjacent to the Pittsburgh Metro System with links to all points of downtown and station square. Pittsburgh International Airport is just 17 miles away while Allegheny County Airport is just 10 miles away. Luxurious comfort embraces style.

Hotel Map

40.4407 -79.9969
Area served
Pittsburgh City Center
Nearby airports
Pittsburgh International Airport, (PIT), 17.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni William Penn Hotel also booked these hotels.

Omni William Penn Hotel Rooms

ADA Dlx w Roll in Shower 2 Dbls
ADA Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds. Approx. 450 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab Bars available near toilet and shower. Roll-in shower with hand-held shower head. Toilet and sink no higher than 29 in. from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system and phone are available.
Superior Suite 2 Doubles
Superior Suite One Bedroom 2 Double Beds. Approx. 465-plus sq ft. These rooms are unique in their size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and feature cherry wood furnishing and a mini-refrigerator. These rooms also feature a parlor with desk with chair and sofa.
ADA Deluxe Room 1 Queen
ADA Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 168 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab Bars available near toilet shower and tub. Standard shower hand-held shower head. Toilet and sink no higher than 29 in. from floor. Standard size sink height. Visual notification for hotel alarm system and phone are available.
Deluxe Room 1 King
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed. Approx. 180-plus sq ft. Each room is unique in its size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and features cherry wood furnishing and windows that open plus mini refrigerator and an over-sized work desk.
Deluxe Room 1 Queen
Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 155-plus sq ft. Each room is unique in its size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and features cherry wood furnishing and windows that open plus mini refrigerator and an over-sized work desk.
Deluxe Room 2 Doubles
Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds. Approx. 240-plus sq ft. Each room is unique in its size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and features cherry wood furnishing and windows that open plus mini refrigerator and an over-sized work desk.
Signature Room 2 Doubles
Each room is unique in its size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and features cherry wood furnishing and windows that open plus mini refrigerator and an over-sized work desk.
Signature Room 1 King
Signature Room 1 King Bed. Approx. 270 sq ft. Each room is unique in its size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and features cherry wood furnishing and windows that open plus mini refrigerator and an over-sized work desk.
Executive Suite 1 King
Executive Suite 1 King Bed. Approx. 325-plus sq ft. These rooms are unique in their size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and feature cherry wood furnishing and a mini refrigerator. These rooms also feature a sitting area.
One Bedroom Suite 1 Queen
One Bedroom Suite 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 400-plus sq ft. These rooms are unique in their size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and feature cherry wood furnishing and a mini refrigerator. These rooms also feature a parlor with desk with chair and sofa.
One Bedroom Suite 1 King
One Bedroom Suite 1 King Bed. Approx. 470-plus sq ft. These rooms are unique in their size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and feature cherry wood furnishing and a mini refrigerator. These rooms also feature a parlor with desk with chair and sofa.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Sitting area
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Mellon Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 0.4 mi
  • PNC Park: 0.6 mi
  • Heinz Field: 1.1 mi
  • Petersen Events Center: 1.8 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,144.9 mi

Dining

Amazon Cyber Cafe
Located off the main lobby serving healthy soups and gourmet wraps plus fresh salads and coffee.
Brueggers Bagels
Located in the hotel lobby. Offers assorted bagels plus sandwiches and soups. M-F 0530-2000 hours and Sat-Sun 0600-1700 hours.
Palm Court
The elegant Palm Court lobby offers traditional afternoon tea from 1430-1830 hours Monday-Saturday. Reservations for tea are recommended. Cocktails and light dining are served daily from 1100-midnight.
Starbucks Coffee Cafe
Located in the hotel lobby. Serves premium coffee and pastries. Open Mon-Fri from 1530-2000 hours. Saturday from 0600-1830 and Sunday from 0600-1500 hours.
The Tap Room
An English style pub – the Tap Room offers a taste of the Steel City featuring tavern style food complemented with a fine selection of beer – wine and spirits. A highlight is the best chili in Pittsburgh. Open Sun-Thur from 1130-0100 hours and Fri-Sat from 1130-0200 hours.
The Terrace Room
Consistently rated among city favorites this award-winning restaurant serves fine continental cuisine infused with bold Mediterranean flavors. Open daily 0630-1100 and Mon-Sat from 1130-1400 and 1700-2200. On Sunday the Terrace Room offers a Brunch Buffet from 1100-1400 hours.
Speakeasy
The Omni William Penn Hotel is proud to announce the Speakeasy - a sophisticated social lounge that whisks patrons back to the Pittsburgh of the 1920s. The Speakeasy serves guests and locals Thur-Sat evenings from 1700-0130 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for Omni William Penn Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississippi
Oct 19, 2009

Unhappy vist

The hotel failed to honor my reservation for a delux room w king size bed...instead offering me two doubles and then finally a small room and queen size bed. They indicated that third party bookers ([...]) could only request and not promise the size of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveller19
WV
Feb 18, 2013

I serious need of an update

My room being near the elevator maybe could helped but when rusty water came out of the shower that was no acceptable. I feel like this hotel is well past it's prime and could use a serious update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westerville, OH
Sep 10, 2009

Very small room but clean

We stayed at the Omni for one night before a Sunday Pirates game. It took us more than an hour to get our car to the door to drop our bags: there is no parking and the small one-way street in front of the hotel was clogged with cars, including taxis and the very slow valet parking staff. Parking at a nearby garage was $14 for overnight. Wireless access in the room is not free. In fact there were extra charges for everything. The room was so small. There was no way to sit at the desk, because it was pressed up against the bed. Definitely not suitable for business travel. The only good thing was that the room was clean. The Omni was Pittsburgh's first hotel to offer a bathroom in the room and that was small too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Being downtown, the Omni is walking distance of many attractions (for us this is 3 miles or less). We recommend the Duck tour, departing from Station Square, which is on the other side of the Smithfield bridge. One of the inclines is there too. Once up on Grandview from that incline, walk a hilly mile to the Duquesne incline and the Georgetown Inn, a lower priced restaurant with a spectacular view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Adam the dentist
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 19, 2009

Pirates win, we didn't make out so well

The room we were given was extremely small. We booked a king size bedroom, but were given a room with one double bed. When we asked the front desk about the discrepancy, she explained that since we booked with Orbitz they couldn't guarantee which room we would be given. If I had known this, I would have made different arrangements. Definitely not worth the money. In addition, we were charged a fee at the bar and we were never even there. (this charge was later erased when we confronted the front desk)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salamanca, NY
Nov 4, 2010

Stay at Omni downtown Pittsburgh

As far as hotel part of the trip, our stay was nice. There were plenty of people to help with every question. The one thing that my sister and I did not like were the pillows! All six were the same kind where your head sinks into the bottom. They were not very supportive when trying to sit up and I felt like I was being smotherd when lying down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Eschenasy
Monterrey, Mexico
Jun 16, 2009

Bad experience

To start with, the gentleman that checked us in, gave us wrong directions on how to get to our evening event, and we ended up arriving late to our rehearsal dinner since our luggage was misplaced by the staff,and we had no clothes to change on, luggage arrived 90 min late. (No apologies received) I requested a shower cap and never arrived, we were supposed to receive a good welcome since we usually stay at Omni and are Gold members but no water, nor newspaper was received. Perhaps it was just us having not such a lucky day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans
Oct 20, 2009

The ONLY place to stay for Steelers game

Attended the Steelers/Browns game on Oct 18, 2009. Fantastic location. Easy walk to Heinz Field. It is also the "night before the game" hotel for the Steelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Tap Room was a great sports bar/restaurant. Loved the burgers!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Capt. Kirk
Arlington, VA
May 28, 2014

Responsive, friendly service

Nicely appointed rooms, although small in terms of square footage. We reported our king bed mattress as being "shot" and it was swapped out promptly, with a phone message left with an apology for the inconvenience. Wish there had been a rooftop pool or some kind of outdoor lounge area for a drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A 10 minute walk to PNC Park and theatres and 15 minutes from the Monongohela Incline, up to Grandview Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, MS
Oct 19, 2009

The Pittsburgh Experience

I had an opportunity to tour in some of the local area and visit a great Italian restaurant located in a local market place. The people were friendly...had that down home environment. This was a great trip one that I will take again with family and friend in the nearing future. In addition, Macy's and Fifth Avenue are within 2 blocks of the hotel (excellente').

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hoffinator
Hudson, NH
Dec 21, 2012

Great Hotel in an excellant location.

Hotel is a grand old hotel that has all the rooms moderized. Great location for any business travelers in the downtown area. Only negitive experience is the hotel ran hot as far as the temp and the room temp was warm, but the windows can be opened to low the temp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to muesuems, and theater in the downtown area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search