$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Omni William Penn Hotel

4 stars
530 William Penn Place, Omni William Penn, Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
87 reviews
comfortable historic hotel

Service was excellent Food was delicious Convenient location See full review

  • I love sleep
  • Nov 14, 2014
All expectations met!

Loved everything about this hotel. Omni, you are a class act! See full review

  • Ms. KK
  • Aug 16, 2014
Pittsburgh hotel charms with afternoon tea, posh rooms and event space

The Omni William Penn Hotel holds a high-profile spot in Pittsburgh's history, having entertained such guests as John F. Kennedy and Lawrence Welk. The 596-room property honors long-held traditions, including afternoon tea at The Palm Court, an elegant restaurant where the city's elite gather for light fare and grand ambiance. Sweeping ceilings, oversized chandeliers and intricate murals elevate the drama of the space.

Highlights
  • Traditional afternoon tea at The Palm Court
  • Kids program and amenities such as suitcases filled with games and books
  • 596 rooms and suites filled with old-world furniture and decor
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Lavish banquet space and restaurants
Rooms
Omni William Penn Hotel houses 596 rooms styled with traditional decor, elegant crown moldings and cherry wood furniture. Scroll-patterned carpet coordinates with embossed floral upholstery and rich burgundy and brown tones. A collection of stately deluxe rooms and various levels of suites share amenities such as foam, feather or down pillows, windows that open, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply) and TV equipped with pay-per-view movies and Nintendo 64 games (fees apply).
Dining

Guests at the Omni William Penn Hotel enjoy upscale dining in dramatic, old-world restaurants such as The Palm Court, which hosts traditional afternoon tea from Monday to Saturday. The Terrace Room, which earned "Best Hotel Dining" awards by Pittsburgh City Paper readers in 2008 and 2009, makes a striking impression with new traditional fare, a gorgeous mural depicting "The Taking of Fort Pitt," a molded plaster ceiling and sweeping mahogany arches. For casual eats, guests head to Brueggers Bagels, Mixstirs and Starbucks. The Tap Room beckons sports fans with its local microbrews and plasma TVs.

Recreation

Omni William Penn Hotel families receive extra special treats via suitcases filled with toys and games for kids plus a backpack, children-friendly menu options and a safety/first-aid kit for parents upon check-in. An indoor fitness center rounds out the amenities. The hotel also features free newspapers in the lobby.

Transportation
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (14.2 mi/22.9 km)
Attractions
  • Point State Park (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • PNC Park (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Andy Warhol Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Monongahela Incline (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Duquesne Incline (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • National Aviary (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Carnegie Museums (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Heinz Field (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Cathedral of Learning (2.3 mi/3.8 km)
  • Fallingwater (46.7 mi/75.1 km)
Business
  • 52,000 square feet of event space, including 38 meeting rooms
  • 24-hour on-site technicians
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Videoconferencing
  • T-1 high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Omni William Penn Hotel also booked these hotels.

Omni William Penn Hotel Rooms

ADA Dlx w Roll in Shower 2 Dbls
ADA Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds. Approx. 450 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab Bars available near toilet and shower. Roll-in shower with hand-held shower head. Toilet and sink no higher than 29 in. from floor. Visual notification for hotel alarm system and phone are available.
Superior Suite 2 Doubles
Superior Suite One Bedroom 2 Double Beds. Approx. 465-plus sq ft. These rooms are unique in their size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and feature cherry wood furnishing and a mini-refrigerator. These rooms also feature a parlor with desk with chair and sofa.
ADA Deluxe Room 1 Queen
ADA Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 168 sq ft. Enlarged door openings. Grab Bars available near toilet shower and tub. Standard shower hand-held shower head. Toilet and sink no higher than 29 in. from floor. Standard size sink height. Visual notification for hotel alarm system and phone are available.
Deluxe Room 1 King
Deluxe Room 1 King Bed. Approx. 180-plus sq ft. Each room is unique in its size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and features cherry wood furnishing and windows that open plus mini refrigerator and an over-sized work desk.
Deluxe Room 1 Queen
Deluxe Room 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 155-plus sq ft. Each room is unique in its size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and features cherry wood furnishing and windows that open plus mini refrigerator and an over-sized work desk.
Deluxe Room 2 Doubles
Deluxe Room 2 Double Beds. Approx. 240-plus sq ft. Each room is unique in its size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and features cherry wood furnishing and windows that open plus mini refrigerator and an over-sized work desk.
Signature Room 2 Doubles
Each room is unique in its size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and features cherry wood furnishing and windows that open plus mini refrigerator and an over-sized work desk.
Signature Room 1 King
Signature Room 1 King Bed. Approx. 270 sq ft. Each room is unique in its size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and features cherry wood furnishing and windows that open plus mini refrigerator and an over-sized work desk.
Executive Suite 1 King
Executive Suite 1 King Bed. Approx. 325-plus sq ft. These rooms are unique in their size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and feature cherry wood furnishing and a mini refrigerator. These rooms also feature a sitting area.
One Bedroom Suite 1 Queen
One Bedroom Suite 1 Queen Bed. Approx. 400-plus sq ft. These rooms are unique in their size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and feature cherry wood furnishing and a mini refrigerator. These rooms also feature a parlor with desk with chair and sofa.
One Bedroom Suite 1 King
One Bedroom Suite 1 King Bed. Approx. 470-plus sq ft. These rooms are unique in their size and layout due to the historic nature of the hotel and feature cherry wood furnishing and a mini refrigerator. These rooms also feature a parlor with desk with chair and sofa.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Projector
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Sitting area
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Mellon Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 0.4 mi
  • PNC Park: 0.6 mi
  • Heinz Field: 1.1 mi
  • Petersen Events Center: 1.8 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,144.9 mi

Dining

Amazon Cyber Cafe
Located off the main lobby serving healthy soups and gourmet wraps plus fresh salads and coffee.
Brueggers Bagels
Located in the hotel lobby. Offers assorted bagels plus sandwiches and soups. M-F 0530-2000 hours and Sat-Sun 0600-1700 hours.
Palm Court
The elegant Palm Court lobby offers traditional afternoon tea from 1430-1830 hours Monday-Saturday. Reservations for tea are recommended. Cocktails and light dining are served daily from 1100-midnight.
Starbucks Coffee Cafe
Located in the hotel lobby. Serves premium coffee and pastries. Open Mon-Fri from 1530-2000 hours. Saturday from 0600-1830 and Sunday from 0600-1500 hours.
The Tap Room
An English style pub – the Tap Room offers a taste of the Steel City featuring tavern style food complemented with a fine selection of beer – wine and spirits. A highlight is the best chili in Pittsburgh. Open Sun-Thur from 1130-0100 hours and Fri-Sat from 1130-0200 hours.
The Terrace Room
Consistently rated among city favorites this award-winning restaurant serves fine continental cuisine infused with bold Mediterranean flavors. Open daily 0630-1100 and Mon-Sat from 1130-1400 and 1700-2200. On Sunday the Terrace Room offers a Brunch Buffet from 1100-1400 hours.
Speakeasy
The Omni William Penn Hotel is proud to announce the Speakeasy - a sophisticated social lounge that whisks patrons back to the Pittsburgh of the 1920s. The Speakeasy serves guests and locals Thur-Sat evenings from 1700-0130 hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Omni William Penn Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goochagini
Business
Wilkes-Barre, Pa.
Oct 19, 2009

good choice

We had a fine experience. The hotel is very elegant. Has a classic feel to it. The staff is very friendly. It has an excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking. You can save a lot of money by self-parking in the garage across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mississippi
Oct 19, 2009

Unhappy vist

The hotel failed to honor my reservation for a delux room w king size bed...instead offering me two doubles and then finally a small room and queen size bed. They indicated that third party bookers ([...]) could only request and not promise the size of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, MS
Oct 19, 2009

The Pittsburgh Experience

I had an opportunity to tour in some of the local area and visit a great Italian restaurant located in a local market place. The people were friendly...had that down home environment. This was a great trip one that I will take again with family and friend in the nearing future. In addition, Macy's and Fifth Avenue are within 2 blocks of the hotel (excellente').

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westerville, OH
Sep 10, 2009

Very small room but clean

We stayed at the Omni for one night before a Sunday Pirates game. It took us more than an hour to get our car to the door to drop our bags: there is no parking and the small one-way street in front of the hotel was clogged with cars, including taxis and the very slow valet parking staff. Parking at a nearby garage was $14 for overnight. Wireless access in the room is not free. In fact there were extra charges for everything. The room was so small. There was no way to sit at the desk, because it was pressed up against the bed. Definitely not suitable for business travel. The only good thing was that the room was clean. The Omni was Pittsburgh's first hotel to offer a bathroom in the room and that was small too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Being downtown, the Omni is walking distance of many attractions (for us this is 3 miles or less). We recommend the Duck tour, departing from Station Square, which is on the other side of the Smithfield bridge. One of the inclines is there too. Once up on Grandview from that incline, walk a hilly mile to the Duquesne incline and the Georgetown Inn, a lower priced restaurant with a spectacular view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Aug 24, 2009

Omni

The hotel was nice--what you would except for close to 200$ a night. The rooms were large, and the bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Pittsburg has many great local restaurants. Check out one of the city guides to choose from any cuisine you can think of.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Adam the dentist
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 19, 2009

Pirates win, we didn't make out so well

The room we were given was extremely small. We booked a king size bedroom, but were given a room with one double bed. When we asked the front desk about the discrepancy, she explained that since we booked with Orbitz they couldn't guarantee which room we would be given. If I had known this, I would have made different arrangements. Definitely not worth the money. In addition, we were charged a fee at the bar and we were never even there. (this charge was later erased when we confronted the front desk)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oxford, MI
Jun 16, 2009

Great location

Great location in downtown Pittsburg we were able to walk to everything. We had came for the Tigers vs Pirates series, PNC Park is very close. Hotel is very nice, clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping very close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Eschenasy
Business
Monterrey, Mexico
Jun 16, 2009

Bad experience

To start with, the gentleman that checked us in, gave us wrong directions on how to get to our evening event, and we ended up arriving late to our rehearsal dinner since our luggage was misplaced by the staff,and we had no clothes to change on, luggage arrived 90 min late. (No apologies received) I requested a shower cap and never arrived, we were supposed to receive a good welcome since we usually stay at Omni and are Gold members but no water, nor newspaper was received. Perhaps it was just us having not such a lucky day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChapOhio
Business
Elyria, OH
Jun 11, 2009

Could have been a very pleasant stay

The hotel is extremely nice. Good location - close to PNC Park, Heinz Field, and downtown restaurants and theaters. Room was clean and comfortable. However, our room was right next to the elevators and it sounded like a freight train was going by the hotel every 15 seconds (all night long). Ask for a room away from the elevators and with a view. All we could see was a brick wall and we looked directly into rooms in the next wing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel uses parking garage across the street, self park is only $5 per night on weekends.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Urban Dare Participants
Business
PA
May 5, 2009

"Short stay... good experience"

We were there for the Urban Dare. When we arrived in our running clothes, outside staff wasn't very welcoming. After that, things got better and we had a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top