$157 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Doubletree Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh City Center

3 stars
View map of One Bigelow Square, Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
115 reviews
Night on the town

We thought this Hotel was great. We had plenty of room and we need to request the sheets and... See full review

  • Thomas B.
  • Jun 1, 2015
awesome trip to the Burgh

Our trip to the Doubletree in Pittsburgh was awesome. . Rooms were sold out because of the concert... See full review

  • Mick
  • Jan 25, 2015

Doubletree recently renovated this city center pet-friendly hotel's 308 rooms, which include 112 one-bedroom suites. The hotel claims to have some of the city's biggest guest rooms. Every room has a pillow-topped bed. Other claims to fame include the on-site restaurant Bigelow Grille. Twice since 2007 Pittsburgh Magazine named the Grille to be in the top 25 restaurants in the city. The hotel offers guests many freebies, such as complimentary Wi-Fi, free shuttle service throughout downtown, and Wolfgang Puck coffeemakers in each room.

General

Property amenities include free Wi-Fi and remote printing from each room, a free shuttle for travel around downtown Pittsburgh, free HBO for entertainment, and free "Sweet Dreams" bedding. Guests are greeted at check-in with a free warm chocolate chip cookie.

 

There's no reason for guests to venture elsewhere for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Twice since 2007 Pittsburgh Magazine named the hotel's Bigelow Grille one of Pittsburgh's top 25 restaurants. Bigelow Grille serves contemporary American fare using local and seasonal ingredients.

 

The hotel has a minimal fitness center that consists of a handful of treadmills and a few racks of free weights. The property also contains an indoor pool inside a glass-enclosed atrium.

Rooms

All 308 rooms, including 112 one-bedroom suites, have been recently renovated with updated furnishings. Doubletree promotes the "Sweet Dreams" program with complimentary bedding amenities, such as pillow-topped mattresses, down comforters, and oversized pillows. Each room has a 27-inch flat screen television with free HBO. Also free: in-room Wolfgang Puck-brand coffeemakers and coffee. Free Wi-Fi comes with remote printing.

Property features

Property amenities include free Wi-Fi and remote printing from each room, a free shuttle for travel around downtown Pittsburgh, free HBO for entertainment, and free "Sweet Dreams" bedding. Guests are greeted at check-in with a free warm chocolate chip cookie.

 

There's no reason for guests to venture elsewhere for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Twice since 2007 Pittsburgh Magazine named the hotel's Bigelow Grille one of Pittsburgh's top 25 restaurants. Bigelow Grille serves contemporary American fare using local and seasonal ingredients.

 

The hotel has a minimal fitness center that consists of a handful of treadmills and a few racks of free weights. The property also contains an indoor pool inside a glass-enclosed atrium.

Highlights
  • Location steps from Pittsburgh's biggest businesses
  • Award-winning restaurant
  • Expansive entertaining and conference space
  • Rooms with many comforts of home
  • Free warm chocolate chip cookie at check-in
Nearby attractions
  • Mellon Arena (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • David L. Lawrence Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Strip (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Business
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 10 meeting rooms
  • Banquet and conference staff available
  • Wi-Fi enabled meeting space
Transportation
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (18 mi/28.9 km)
  • Pittsburgh Amtrak Station (0.39 mi/0.63 km)
  • Allegheny County Airport (10 mi/16 km)
  • Free transportation to downtown Pittsburgh

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Doubletree Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh City Center also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$162
3.9 / 5 42 reviews
★★★
$177
4.3 / 5 29 reviews
★★★
$169
4.2 / 5 62 reviews
★★★
$189
4.3 / 5 40 reviews
★★★
$138
3.7 / 5 189 reviews
★★★
$196
3.9 / 5 57 reviews
★★★
$170
4.4 / 5 38 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:02 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh City Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tabitha A.
Family
N/A
Jul 7, 2015

Great time in Pittsburgh!

This hotel is fantastic. The staff is great and go out of their way to assist you. The only issue I had with this hotel is the parking. Their parking garage was always full. Therefore, you have to tote your luggage across the street. That was somewhat of a hassle, but it would not deter me from staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Doubletree Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thomas B.
Family
N/A
Jun 1, 2015

Night on the town

We thought this Hotel was great. We had plenty of room and we need to request the sheets and blanket for the pull out bed and they were delivered quickly. Thanks for a great nights sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Doubletree Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
St. Patty
Couples
N/A
May 15, 2015

great hotel

Wonderful hotel. We had a great trip. Location was wonderful. Accessible to a lot of attractions and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Doubletree Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patrick W.
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

doubletree

I chose this hotel for its location and it turned out that it was in great location for my visit. Also the room was clean room. And the restaurant was very good, and I was very pleased with my meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Doubletree Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mick
Couples
N/A
Jan 25, 2015

awesome trip to the Burgh

Our trip to the Doubletree in Pittsburgh was awesome. . Rooms were sold out because of the concert next door. We were upgraded to a suite. Nice view. Staff was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is close to everything in downtown Pittsburgh. Plenty of eats,drinks and a block from the concert venue. Excellent location and staff was very friendly. Room was spotless.

Review of Doubletree Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A. Joseph F.
Couples
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

Pittsburgh Trip

Hotel was great, just what we were looking for. We were in town to go to a Penguins game, and not only was this a nice, yet affordable hotel, but it was only about a block or two from the arena. It worked out great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Consol Energy Center

Review of Doubletree Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
avxyt
Couples
detroit michigan
Nov 24, 2014

good time

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend. We really liked the fact that they had a free shuttle service that took us where we wanted to go. The staff was super friendly and I enjoyed getting a warm cookie at check in. The hotel is in a nice location and the t is directly across the street, which was nice. Overall, Pittsburgh treated us well and we will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Doubletree Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John in Pittsburg
Family
Ontario, Canada
Oct 21, 2014

Game in Pittsburg

Great location to the Consol Energy Centre and if you are going for Baseball of Football, this hotel is right next door to them as well. Parking was extra but reasonable price with valet service. Pull out couch shows wear if one had to use it. Room was dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hockey, Football and Baseball

Review of Doubletree Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LauraT08
Family
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 14, 2014

Parking needs help

Parking for this hotel was VERY confusing & difficulte to find. We ended up having to park across the street & drag all of our luggag up a ramp, through a building, & down a strett in order to get to the front doors of the hotel. It was VERY Hard to deal with. Hotel staff offered NO assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Doubletree Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
funinpittsburgh
Couples
Youngstown, Ohio
Aug 6, 2014

great location, clean, well-kept

Right in the middle of town. Close to everything. Nicely kept. Clean rooms. The suite was very spacious with a modern decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Alla Famiglia was a great Italian restaurant.

Back to menu Return to top