$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 9, 2015 Check-out: Mar 10, 2015

Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREEN TREE

3 stars
View map of 401 Holiday Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15220

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
89 reviews
Nice area.

Nice, clean, well kept, friendly staff, good area to stay in. See full review

  • There you go
  • Nov 14, 2014
Don't let apperances fool you

Even though the hotel is under renovation and the main lobby was closed the side entrance used and... See full review

  • Gigi and papa
  • May 1, 2014
Business-friendly hotel just outside city center

Featuring quality services and comfortable accommodations ideally located just outside Pittsburgh's city center, Clarion Hotel and Conference Center creates an ideal base for holidaymakers and corporate travelers looking to explore Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Guests enjoy several free amenities, including Wi-Fi Internet access in all rooms, fitness center, and hot breakfast buffet. For now, however, guests may have to deal with sporadic construction in the hotel's public spaces.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
Rooms

Each of the hotel's 199 rooms on the second, third, and fourth floors has a balcony. All rooms also have free Wi-Fi Internet access, free local calls and free coffee.

Features
Besides offering cozy spaces, Clarion Hotel and Conference Center also provides up-to-date facilities like spacious banquet and meeting spaces, business center, computer with Internet access as well as copy and fax services. The affordable property also boasts of inviting rooms with an inviting ambiance and plenty of space. Room amenities include cable/satellite TV and air conditioning. The property also offers a filling hot breakfast buffet. Recreation facilities on site include exercise room and seasonal outdoor pool.
Transportation
  • Pittsburgh Amtrak Station (5 mi/8 km)
  • Allegheny County Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • David L. Lawrence Convention Center (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • PNC Park, home to the Pittsburgh Pirates (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Heinz Field, home to the Pittsburgh Steelers (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Rivers Casino (4.5mi/7.2 km)
  • Andy Warhol Museum (5 mi/8.0 km)
Business
  • 11 meeting rooms
  • More than 16,000 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREEN TREE also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Heinz Field: 2.8 mi
  • PNC Park: 3.2 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mellon Arena: 3.7 mi
  • Petersen Events Center: 5.2 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,142.9 mi

Dining

Bistro 401
On site restaurant featuring breakfast, lunch, and dinner.
Bistro 401 Lounge
Full bar offering a variety of beer and spirits.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREEN TREE

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.1

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREEN TREE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nathan R.
Business
Portland
Feb 9, 2015

Decent stay

This was a decent place to stay for a low budget traveler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREEN TREE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
There you go
Business
Valparaiso, IN
Nov 14, 2014

Nice area.

Nice, clean, well kept, friendly staff, good area to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREEN TREE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
xivzik
Business
pittsburgh
Aug 12, 2014

review

Shabby appearance, poor quality food (egg item was stale)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREEN TREE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business Trip in PA
Business
Michigan
Jul 28, 2014

This hotel should have been shut down.

The hotel was receiving a total make over and should have been closed. There was no Lobby or Lounge and to get the "Complementary Breakfast" you had to map through the construction zone. The rooms still need the make over the first room had a hole in the wall and the close rack was hanging by a screw while the others were just hanging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREEN TREE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappyy
Business
Pittsburgh
Jul 26, 2014

Disappointed

I paid for a much nicer hotel, so I was quite unhappy when I checked into a different brand than I paid for. This building was under construction and in terrible shape. The ceiling was caving in, maintenance of this location was not being taken care of properly. I was really shocked to see the receptionist was asleep when I walked in to ask for directions. I have been a loyal user for years and this was by far the worst experience at any hotel I've stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREEN TREE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Martin Robinson
Business
Palm beach gardens
Jul 24, 2014

Hotel should actually be closed

More than construction going on here. Staff is operating out of the housecleaning office. No lobby, no service, worthless internet. The feel of the third world. I checked out immediately. Enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Court yard marriot of cambell run rd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREEN TREE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jsplot
Business
marietta,ohio
Jul 7, 2014

Needs to close during restoration

The location was perfect that is why I picked it. But it was being restored and it was a mess, not dirty but some doors did not have signs, and there was drywall in the hallways. The dinning room had paper covering where there was mold growing until they could get to it. The breakfast was just alright, the eggs with cheese was uneatable ( and I eat everything). The sink in the bathroom was tall but they put the toilet paper holder in the front, so I had to stand on my tiptoes to reach the water and even then I could bearly touch the stream of water. They need to move the toilet paper to the side of the sink. I will not stay at that hotel ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREEN TREE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
john the Bicycle man
Business
Jacksonville, fl
Jun 27, 2014

Staying a bomb drop

Massive renovation that's been going on for years. Outside of building is scary. We wouldn't have stayed - but no time to find new location. Don't know if policies would have let us move.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Any Armstrong restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREEN TREE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WVWanderer
Business
West Virginia
Jun 8, 2014

Under construction...

The Clarion is currently undergoining a remodelling, something we weren't told when we booked. The office has been moved to the back of the hotel, into one of the rooms. There is only one elevator and it is slow, jerky, dirty, and scary. It was also a very long walk from the elevator to the room and back. All that said, the location is very convenient to downtown, the staff were very friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, and the free breakfast was better than average. Once the construction is complete, this will be a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're headed downtown, use the Greentree on-ramp, not Poplar Street. The Poplar on-ramp is dangerous!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREEN TREE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gigi and papa
Business
Haughton,la
May 1, 2014

Don't let apperances fool you

Even though the hotel is under renovation and the main lobby was closed the side entrance used and the room used as the office were well marked when we checked in the young woman on duty at the time was very friendly and helpful the room was neat and clean and the staff kept it that way hotel location was perfect for us and we will stay there whenever we are in town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top