$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

3 stars
5308 Liberty Avenue, 5308 Liberty Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15224
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
24 reviews
Good stay

Enjoyed this hotel - great location, and nice to have the pool and fitness center. Could be more... See full review

  • Joe from DC
  • May 6, 2013
Great location, nice rooms

Great hotel if you're looking to stay in the east end of Pittsburgh / Shadyside area. Rooms are... See full review

  • Joe from DC
  • Feb 18, 2013
Discover the NEWLY RENOVATED Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside that is ideally located just minutes from the heart of the universities in Oakland. The Courtyard Shadyside is close to the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie Mellon University, UPMC Shadyside, UPMC Presbyterian, Hillman Cancer Center, Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh, CONSOL Energy Center, and the Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium. The newly renovated guest rooms at the Courtyard Shadyside offer desired amenities with a modern touch. Enjoy our fresh, plush bedding, flexible spaces and well lit work space with free Wi-Fi. Eat-Drink-Connect in our NEW Courtyard Bistro offering delicious a-la-carte breakfast and dinner options as well as cocktails. A full on-site Starbucks® is also available for your convenience. Relax in our indoor pool or fitness center. Valet Parking Fee on property is $17.88/day. The perfect choice among Oakland and Pittsburgh hotels, the Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside looks forward to exceeding your expectations!

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.4563 -79.9393
Area served
Pittsburgh
Nearby airports
Pittsburgh International Airport, (PIT), 22.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Petersen Events Center: 1.5 mi
  • Mellon Arena: 2.9 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 2.9 mi
  • PNC Park: 3.5 mi
  • Heinz Field: 4.1 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,146.9 mi

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. ®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.
Starbucks®
Enjoy your favorite Starbucks treat just off of our lobby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 24
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
suitcase lady
Business
new york, new york
Aug 21, 2012

3 star hotel at 4 - 5 star prices

I was disappointed because I had to pay so much to stay at this particular hotel. It is the location that allows them to charge so much for an ordinary hotel. There are no other nice hotels in that particular area of Pittsburgh. the good things were that the staff was very nice and the dinner i ate there was actually delicious at a very good price in their restaurant which they should publicize more. Money is difficult to come by these days and that is why it was disturbing to have to pay so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food at cheap prices.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole Travels Too Much
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 21, 2010

Great for Business

I was in Pittsburgh for business, and the Courtyard by Marriott in Shadyside perfectly fit my needs. It's within walking distance of a diner (yummy 24 hour breakfast), a Boston Market (for cheaper eats) and a fancy delicious restaurant (Toast!, for a treat). With a Starbucks right in the hotel, all my eating needs were met. The hotel itself was clean and quiet, and I was very happy with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Toast! for dinner

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole Travels Too Much
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 21, 2010

Great for Business

I was in Pittsburgh for business, and the Courtyard by Marriott in Shadyside perfectly fit my needs. It's within walking distance of a diner (yummy 24 hour breakfast), a Boston Market (for cheaper eats) and a fancy delicious restaurant (Toast!, for a treat). With a Starbucks right in the hotel, all my eating needs were met. The hotel itself was clean and quiet, and I was very happy with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Toast! for dinner

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Jul 23, 2009

Excellent for the price and location

The price perfomance here is hard to beat. All around a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palo Alto, CA
Jul 23, 2009

Excellent for the price and location

The price perfomance here is hard to beat. All around a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hanover
Nov 19, 2008

My review of Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside

The Courtyard Shadyside was comfortable but very basic for the price. The location is not great - it is not within walking distance of much. Also, the addition $20+ parking charge is not desirable. Also, being that it was a Marriott Courtyard, there is no functional dining. Overall, I would consider other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hanover
Nov 19, 2008

My review of Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside

The Courtyard Shadyside was comfortable but very basic for the price. The location is not great - it is not within walking distance of much. Also, the addition $20+ parking charge is not desirable. Also, being that it was a Marriott Courtyard, there is no functional dining. Overall, I would consider other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, *
Jul 29, 2008

great location and very helpful

located close to Carnegie Mellon and U PITT, and Walnut street, therefore great proximity

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, *
Jul 29, 2008

great location and very helpful

located close to Carnegie Mellon and U PITT, and Walnut street, therefore great proximity

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Shadyside

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
Aug 5, 2007

Dining

Need to work on the dining area. It's a bussiness hotel located in a great spot in Pittsburgh but neither a roomservice or late dining options are available, need to drive to eat good. Everything else is great which makes up nicely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Apple store.

Back to menu Return to top