$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 25, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown

3 stars
View map of 945 Penn Avenue, 945 Penn Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
42 reviews
This hotel was remarkable!

It really surprised how spacious n extravagant the rooms are here I will definitely be back I loved... See full review

  • Showtime Steve Upsher
  • Nov 25, 2014
St.Patrick's Parade weekend getaway

Easy access to all the restaurants and parade in the burgh. We enjoyed our stay but I felted the... See full review

  • photosbysteve
  • Mar 17, 2014
European charm in historic downtown Pittsburgh hotel

Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown brings much to a stay in Pittsburgh, from its convenient location among the city's cultural hot spots to the unique nature of the building itself. Four historical buildings combine to create a single facility, featuring vaulted ceilings and European details. Business travelers with meetings at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center or with companies headquartered in the steel city enjoy the hotel's great location, as well as The Bistro and Sonoma Grill.

Highlights
  • Free high-speed Internet access in guest rooms
  • Guest rooms with 12- to 17-foot ceilings and European decor
  • Convenient location for business and leisure travelers
Rooms

All 182 guest rooms, thanks to the historical nature of the hotel's buildings, feature 12- to 17-foot vaulted ceilings common in older, industrial structures. Rooms include upgraded linens, European decor, free high-speed Internet access, and a large, well-lit work area. This is a non-smoking facility.

Features

Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown brings a unique perspective to a chain hotel. The hotel, housed in four renovated and interconnected historical buildings, offers architectural details guests might expect to find in a European hotel, not in one of America's industrial cities. Guests find modern technology in all rooms, with free high-speed wired Internet access. Wireless access is available in public spaces for a fee.

 

The hotel, which sits in the middle of Pittsburgh's cultural district and around the corner from the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, offers three meeting rooms with 1,130 square feet of meeting space. A coin-operated laundry service is available on site. The small on-site fitness center offers a handful of cardio machines and free weights.

 

Guests enjoy The Bistro, open daily for breakfast, and the Sonoma Grill, offering California-style cuisine for lunch and dinner, plus an extensive wine list.

Transportation
  • Liberty Avenue & Wood Street Subway Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Pittsburgh Amtrak Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Allegheny County Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (18 mi/29 km)
Nearby attractions
  • David L. Lawrence Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • PNC Park, home to the Pittsburgh Pirates (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Carnegie Science Center (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms
  • 1,130 square feet of meeting space
  • Free Internet access in guest rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Mellon Arena: 0.4 mi
  • PNC Park: 0.5 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 0.5 mi
  • Heinz Field: 1 mi
  • Petersen Events Center: 1.8 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,144.8 mi

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.
Sonoma Grille
West Coast cuisine with the most extensive wine collection in Pittsburgh

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephanie N.
Business
N/A
Mar 17, 2015

St. Paddy's Day Celebration

We booked this hotel downtown so that it was convenient for a group of 4 of us to watch the St. Paddy's Day parade and go to Market Square without having to drive at all. The location was great - we couldn't have picked a better spot, it was within a short walking distance to everywhere we wanted to be - even for the Penguins game at the Console Center the next day. The lobby and hotel room were impressive - high ceilings and modern decor - and we ended up spending more time at the hotel than expected because of it. Our only complaints were the valet service when we tried to check out - there was a full crowd of people waiting in the lobby for 30-40 minutes, and they kept forgetting about people and seemingly "losing" cars. Also, we were charged 3 times for valet service, even though we only had 1 car for 1 night. Because the lobby was such a crowded mess, the front desk associate didn't fix the charges and asked to e-mail us the new receipt with the extra charges taken off, but we still haven't received it. All things considered, I'd stay here again, but probably park somewhere else nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Showtime Steve Upsher
Business
Blackwood, NJ
Nov 25, 2014

This hotel was remarkable!

It really surprised how spacious n extravagant the rooms are here I will definitely be back I loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MLB Dad
Business
Boston MA
Aug 11, 2014

Court Yard Marriott Downtown pittsburgh

Hotel was nice typical Marriott room was typical actually wanted Double beds but a King and a pullout sofa did. hotel was very clean and staff was excellent and friendly. No pool but that was ok. The courtyard outdoors right in the middle of for connected buildings was a nice place just too chill and reboot yourself. Location nice walk too PNC Park and the river walk. Easy walk to downtown . Pittsburgh seemed to be a very quiet City people are friendly overall. Not a great breakfast selection. No complimentry buffet like most of the other Courtyards . Other than that pretty good property

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Too PNC Park and Heinz Field

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
photosbysteve
Business
Beaver County
Mar 17, 2014

St.Patrick's Parade weekend getaway

Easy access to all the restaurants and parade in the burgh. We enjoyed our stay but I felted the bed gave me back troubles after the 2nd night stay. Other than that we both had a wonderful weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark the consumer
Business
West Virginia
Feb 9, 2014

Overnight get away

The hotel was very convenient to get to and to get to other places from. The staff was very friendly and rooms were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian987
Business
VA
Nov 30, 2013

quick trip for holiday

excellent staff, very clean, modern styling, very comfortable. down town location is good, but premium real estate limits amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
apr5077
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 29, 2013

Mediocre

It's located in a good area of Pittsburgh, but the hotel itself isn't very nice, other than the fact that every room has a balcony. It's also much cheaper than staying downtown, which is why I chose to stay here. Overall, if you are planning on being in the hotel all day I would say go elsewhere, but if you only going to be at the hotel at night, then this hotel would suffice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling on Crutches
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 31, 2013

Great Downtown Location

The hotel rooms are very comfortable and clean. The morning cafe and the Sanoma Grille are steps away from the elevator. But the walkable access to downtown Pittsburgh, the Northside and the Strip District are unmatched.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kuyaboy
Business
west virginia
Mar 9, 2013

my stay

Not the best neighborhood,unfriendly people on the street outside. I have never been to a hotel where I pay $250.00 per night and have no breakfast,that seems a bit cheap of the hotel. I will not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Pittsburgh Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeTomP
Business
Conshohocken, PA
Jan 7, 2013

Steelers game and NYE

Great convenient location if you're going to a game, or anything related to the theaters. Very friendly, very helpful staff also. Very clean and quiet too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Meat and Potatoes! Awesome place and great bartenders.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top