$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREENTREE

3 stars
401 Holiday Drive, Pittsburgh, PA 15220
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
87 reviews
Very Nice Hotel

I stayed here for one night and the staff was very friendly when I checked in. The room was very... See full review

  • Inspector Garry
  • Jun 2, 2013
Don't let apperances fool you

Even though the hotel is under renovation and the main lobby was closed the side entrance used and... See full review

  • Gigi and papa
  • May 1, 2014
Business-friendly hotel just outside city center

Featuring quality services and comfortable accommodations ideally located just outside Pittsburgh's city center, Clarion Hotel and Conference Center creates an ideal base for holidaymakers and corporate travelers looking to explore Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Guests enjoy several free amenities, including Wi-Fi Internet access in all rooms, fitness center, and hot breakfast buffet. For now, however, guests may have to deal with sporadic construction in the hotel's public spaces.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
Rooms

Each of the hotel's 199 rooms on the second, third, and fourth floors has a balcony. All rooms also have free Wi-Fi Internet access, free local calls and free coffee.

Features
Besides offering cozy spaces, Clarion Hotel and Conference Center also provides up-to-date facilities like spacious banquet and meeting spaces, business center, computer with Internet access as well as copy and fax services. The affordable property also boasts of inviting rooms with an inviting ambiance and plenty of space. Room amenities include cable/satellite TV and air conditioning. The property also offers a filling hot breakfast buffet. Recreation facilities on site include exercise room and seasonal outdoor pool.
Transportation
  • Pittsburgh Amtrak Station (5 mi/8 km)
  • Allegheny County Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • Pittsburgh International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • David L. Lawrence Convention Center (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • PNC Park, home to the Pittsburgh Pirates (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Heinz Field, home to the Pittsburgh Steelers (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Rivers Casino (4.5mi/7.2 km)
  • Andy Warhol Museum (5 mi/8.0 km)
Business
  • 11 meeting rooms
  • More than 16,000 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

40.4206 -80.0558
Nearby airports
Pittsburgh Int'l Airport, (PIT), 14.50, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, I-376W & Exit 4

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREENTREE also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Heinz Field: 2.8 mi
  • PNC Park: 3.2 mi
  • Consol Energy Center: 3.7 mi
  • Mellon Arena: 3.7 mi
  • Petersen Events Center: 5.2 mi
  • Langley Gymnasium: 2,142.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREENTREE

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.1

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREENTREE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jeep Man
Business
Pa
Jan 16, 2014

Seriously!!!!

Hotel has an off-putting odor, evening staff was not helpful, more concerned with her texting! Elevator was constantly out of order, and stairwells took you outside...really? Room was dirty at best, the tub was disgusting....wore socks into shower....not kidding! Water was not hot, asked to change rooms, and was told she couldn't do that. Stain on sheets...God only knows what they were from! Looked at free breakfast, and went to McDonalds! Gross hotel to say the least..NEVER staying there again...or its chain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

NONE!

Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREENTREE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hanji
Business
Florida
Mar 6, 2014

Scary condition and location

The main lobby and the front of the hotel was shut down. The reception was in a guestroom. I am not sure if I will ever book a travel plan with you. Horrible partner you have in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREENTREE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fghjk
Virgina
Mar 20, 2014

Under renovation

They should have provided info up front that they were under going renovation. When I arrived I was about the only customer, they said they could not refund, change or cancel my reservation. I would have stayed somewhere else. I would not recommend this hotel, maybe after they are done with the renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREENTREE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mountain Fest Visitor
Erie
Apr 24, 2014

God Aweful!

Upon our arrival we passed the hotel, as it appeared to be closed - and boarded up. The office was set up in one of the rooms. The entire property is under construction. Although the rooms appeared to be clean. (I checked before committing to stay) the bathtub did not drain, nor did the sink. By morning there was a muddy film covering the bottom of the sink, much like silt from a nasty river. I pitty anyone that attempted to drink the water!! We did have a coffee maker in the room, but it apparently did NOT come with a pot??? Fortunately we returned to the room late, and left early the next morning. Can't say I tried the breakfast, nor did I utilize the fitness center. I just needed to leave ASAP.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREENTREE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
PITTSBURGH
Aug 8, 2011

WORSE THAN BAD

The hotel was so disgusting we could not even stay there. We left and stayed at another hotel. I could not get my money back either. They should not even be aloud to rent rooms at that hotel. Would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREENTREE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JimCJr
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Still under construction and showing

For a hotel that has had reviews for the past three years saying it is under construction I really expected to see more progress then I did. It appears that the hotel suffered from some type of water/fire damage before Clarion purchased it. There was still water damage on the carpets in the hallways and our room. We saw water damage at the top of the window curtain and under the glass of the desk as well. We also had a slow leak around our tub and toilet. The staff was not very helpful. We patiently waited for close to 10 minute while the desk clerk was assisting a customer on the phone and progressed to help someone else who walked in five minute after we did. Our room was not very clean. The toilet paper roll was towards the end before we even used it, there was some type of brown residue on the cord of the hair dryer and we found garbage stuck under the heater. The only reason why I gave my review a three for room comfort is because the bed was clean and comfortable. There is not much around the hotel and you have to drive a few miles for any amenities you may need. They provided a good breakfast but there is no restaurant or convenience store on the property. For a hotel I find this to be very disappointing, I have stayed at cleaner and friendlier "motels" for cheaper in the past. And don't let the Photoshop-ed images fool you. For three years under construction they still only have a banner hanging on the front of the building not a lit sign.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREENTREE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sojouners3
Business
Washington DC
Nov 5, 2012

Run, Don't Walk Away from this One

I spend probably 5-6 nights/month in a hotel and this was at the very bottom of my list. The room was dirty, the internet would not work, the curtains were hanging half off the window. I could not believe it when I got in there. I arrived at 10 at night. By the time I started getting bit on the legs while sitting at the desk, I was making the overnight drive to return home by 11:30 rather than resting and waiting until the next morning. Seriously, avoid this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREENTREE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bobp00
JOhnstown, PA
Jan 2, 2013

Not pleased

The hotel lobby was nice, after that it looked anything but three stars. The elevators did not sound safe and then after a few trips on them, the main one as my son and I was on it started making loud banging and was not sure it would stop or open. The next morning it was shut down. The other ones didnot sound much better. I had to try each floor until I found a ice machine that worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREENTREE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
claimman
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Apr 23, 2013

Rundown and deteriorated

I had a lovely view of the roof. If you love seeing tar and gravel, then this is the hotel for you. The hotel is in a rundown condition. Many doors to rooms are smashed and the elevator at the front did not work. The hallways are dirty. Most of the amenities, exercise room, are closed and not working. The internet did not work. The room I was in was ok but the bath tub faucet was installed improperly. When you showered, the water would run down the wall into the hole where the tub faucet plumbing came out of the wall. Eventually this will rot out the floor and wall and create a mold factory as the bathroom had no fan and would steam up when you showered. There is no bathroom vent. The room was stuffy. On the plus side, the continental breakfast was decent. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The nearest restaurants are about 6 miles away.

Review of Crowne Plaza PITTSBURGH WEST-GREENTREE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jean the hotel planner
Westborough, Ma
Aug 26, 2013

Jean the hotel planner

THIS PLACE IS A PIT....HOW ANYONE CAN GIVE THIS PLACE 3 STARS IS BEYOND ME...SMELLED HORRIBLE FROM THE FRONT DOOR ON....HOLES IN CEILINGS, DIRTY POOL....DIRTY ROOMS...NO A.C. IN HALLWAYS...NO FOOD

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search