$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

4 stars
400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
145 reviews
Great location and Clean room

The location is ideal. Close to downtown, convention center, China town and Historic sites. the... See full review

  • Marty World Traveler
  • Oct 29, 2014
Nice - will stay again

This hotel is nice. It's formerly a Holiday Inn so I was skeptical but I had a good stay. There was... See full review

  • Panda Lover
  • Jun 3, 2014
The Wyndham Hotel Philadelphia creates a stark contrast against its Historic District setting, cutting a sleek urban figure within the old world charm of its surroundings. The hotel was given a focused facelift in 2014, and now ivory and stone décor is set against uncluttered dark wood furnishings. Despite its laidback name, the on-site Coins Restaurant and Pub is equally chic, with its urban lanterns and contemporary American cuisine. If you prefer to enjoy your meals alone, the extensive menu can be ordered from as a room service option. Get in a good workout at the on-site fitness center, or settle in for a day of watery entertainment at the rooftop pool.
Key facts
  • 364 guestrooms
  • Swimming pool and spa tub
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Health club and spa tub
  • Cable television and gaming consoles
  • Room service
  • Bar/lounge
  • Business center
  • Suites with microwaves and refrigerators are offered on request
  • 24-hour airport shuttle at extra cost
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Hotel Philadelphia is buried in the Old City, a few blocks from the Delaware River and the waterfront activity hub of Penn's Landing. It's a neighborhood renowned for its history – at the nearby Independence National Park, visitors can encounter the famous Liberty Bell and Independence Hall, the legendary place where both the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution were signed. Take the Constitutional Walking Tour to explore the area, or catch the subway downtown from 5th Street Station for more 21st century options among the restaurants and stores of Center City.
Hints and tips
Suites toward the south of the hotel are quieter, and for those who enjoy the spookier side of the Historic District, Christ Church's cemetery views are worthwhile.

Water babies are happiest on the seventh floor, which is just beneath the swimming pool.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Christ Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.4 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.5 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.9 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 145
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CoachM
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 21, 2014

Philadelphia Wyndham

Room at first glance seemed cleaned but i dropped my ring and it went below the bed which apparently wasn't vacuumed in weeks. Also they advertised that parking was free ended up playing $60 for 4 days. Asked staff for individual day by day billing girl at counter was rude and said it couldn't be done because it was done through a third party. Yet when I got there the guy at the counter said it could be done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Millie77
Business
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2013

Grumpy service

The wait staff at the restaurant was very rude! The tables were not cleaned and full of dirty dishes. I sat myself down after no one came to greet me.. then a server snapped at me for not waiting for her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chaseman
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 28, 2013

Very convienent hotel

The staff was very hospitable, the room was very clean. It was also near some of Philly's greatest attractions. Perfect hotel for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston Girlfriend
Business
Boston
Sep 2, 2012

SIngle traveler visiting friends

I was in philadelphia to see some friends during a long weekend, and since they all had to work, I chose to stay in Old City. The Holiday Inn was right aorund the corner from the Liberty Bell, Independence Plaza, Constitution Hall and the African American Heritage Museum. The rooftop pool was very clean and good size. The rooms are a bit small, but can't complain for Old CIty. Great stay and I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MARCVS
Business
New Orleans, La.
Jul 11, 2012

Perfect Location

I had a great stay here. It was nice to walk right out of the hotel and be in the heart of the Old City. Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, Betsy Ross's house all just a couple of blocks away. As well as the very convenient PHLASH Shuttle which runs right thru the heart of Center City and up to the Incredible Art museums (DO NOT MISS THE BARNES)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gopan50
Business
Ukiah, CA
Mar 9, 2012

visit family

checking in, the person put me in a handicap room. I requested another room and was turn down. Even though I had a proirity club rewards card. I was staying over 6 days. Had to call (2) twice to clean my room when I got back after 6 to 7 hours away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

all the attraction are right there within 1/2 mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rickelle
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Winter Break

I stayed for 7 nights, and this hotel was absolutely wonderful. The area was wonderful, the staff was great and helpful and they helped me with everything I needed. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco Bay Area
Feb 26, 2011

Location is perfect and reasonabe price

Location for this Holiday Inn is perfect and a very good price point. You can fall out of the hotel front door and find something to do in the historic district. You are in a short walk to the Liberty Bell, Constitution Center, Independence Hall, Second Bank Of the U.S., Indepedence Visitors Center that has two free movies playing, the new American Jewish Museum and a whole host of other places. I love independent and foreign films and there are three different Ritz Movie theaters with I think 12 screen total which was great. Also, a pletheora of quality dining choices. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The down sides of this hotel were that the room was not as clean as it should have been. There was dirt and hair on the bathroom floor when I arrived. The restaurant in the hotel only had cold options for breakfast one morning and gave no explanation as to why. They told me at first they were short staffed then changed to they had issues. Good news is there is an inexpensive little diner on Chestnut street in between 3rd and 4th that had been there 50 years. Good food and cheap prices.Business Center had free internet. All in all well worth the money for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to many free attractions like the liberty bell and Independence Hall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MZZJONES
Business
GEORGIA
Dec 9, 2010

My Philly Stay 11/2010

In town for a funeral, visit family and friends in the process. A micorwave in the room would have completed the stay perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dave Guided By Prices
Business
Melbourne, FL
Nov 29, 2010

Good price. Unsanitary.

The only plus was that they allowed for a late check-in. Upon entering my room, using one of two door cards that actually worked, I noticed black scuff marks on every wall. Upon further inspection I noticed two of the three coffee condiment packages were opened. The true test is to look under the bed, where I found another discarded straw, various crumbs, and a discarded shaving razor cap. Needless to say, I slept fully clothed on top of the sheets. On to the bathroom. Ewwww! The shower head was falling apart. There was hair on the floor and bench(both long & short, if you know what I mean.)Speaking of the bench, it protruded outside of the low shower floor , causing the spray to flood the entire bathroom floor. This would explain the water stains along the baseboard. No bath fan or ventilation whatsoever. I wish I would have stayed at my first choice, but the price lured me away. You get what you pay for, and sometimes even less. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Far away from the good theaters and clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top