$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

4 stars
400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
226 reviews
Great Location!

This hotel was great for a three day stay in Philadelphia! Friendly service, very clean, and a... See full review

  • GoHabsGo
  • Mar 18, 2013
Nice - will stay again

This hotel is nice. It's formerly a Holiday Inn so I was skeptical but I had a good stay. There was... See full review

  • Panda Lover
  • Jun 3, 2014
The Wyndham Hotel Philadelphia creates a stark contrast against its Historic District setting, cutting a sleek urban figure within the old world charm of its surroundings. The hotel was given a focused facelift in 2014, and now ivory and stone décor is set against uncluttered dark wood furnishings. Despite its laidback name, the on-site Coins Restaurant and Pub is equally chic, with its urban lanterns and contemporary American cuisine. If you prefer to enjoy your meals alone, the extensive menu can be ordered from as a room service option. Get in a good workout at the on-site fitness center, or settle in for a day of watery entertainment at the rooftop pool.
Key facts
  • 364 guestrooms
  • Swimming pool and spa tub
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Health club and spa tub
  • Cable television and gaming consoles
  • Room service
  • Bar/lounge
  • Business center
  • Suites with microwaves and refrigerators are offered on request
  • 24-hour airport shuttle at extra cost
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Hotel Philadelphia is buried in the Old City, a few blocks from the Delaware River and the waterfront activity hub of Penn's Landing. It's a neighborhood renowned for its history – at the nearby Independence National Park, visitors can encounter the famous Liberty Bell and Independence Hall, the legendary place where both the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution were signed. Take the Constitutional Walking Tour to explore the area, or catch the subway downtown from 5th Street Station for more 21st century options among the restaurants and stores of Center City.
Hints and tips
Suites toward the south of the hotel are quieter, and for those who enjoy the spookier side of the Historic District, Christ Church's cemetery views are worthwhile.

Water babies are happiest on the seventh floor, which is just beneath the swimming pool.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9524 -75.1468
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Christ Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.4 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.5 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.9 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (226)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 226
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler Ellie
Washington DC
Jul 19, 2013

Convenient and perfectly adequate

Very conveniently located, with interesting sights, neighborhoods, restaurants, activities within walking distance. Check-in time is listed as 4:00 pm, and rooms were not ready at 3:30, when I arrived or at 3:55, after which I got tired of waiting, so went out without washing my face and returned at 6:30 to check in. The reception desk seemed very slow and not very efficient. The computer system was down at the lobby bar at 6:30, so checks were processed by hand, and I only noticed the next day after I left that I had received a bill under my door for the wrong check -- at least the amount billed was different from what was on my hand-written receipt from the bar. The room was perfectly adequate and clean, although the sink did not drain well (which I forgot to report to them at check-out). Breakfast in the restaurant was understaffed and slow. Staff were very helpful about storing our luggage after check-out and until we left for the day. I did not utilize any hotel amenities such as a pool, gym, or whatever else they might (or might not) have. Overall, it is a perfectly adequate hotel, with nothing special about it. I found the prices slightly high for the value, perhaps because the location was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
asiamtrev
Boston
May 28, 2013

Great value!

Stayed Memorial Day weekend 2013 -- $90/night booked on discount website. While the hotel is a dated building and currently undergoing updates, my stay was perfectly good. My room had updated furnishing and was very clean. The hotel location is extremely convenient to the popular touristy spots. Major compliments to Sentia at the front desk, who deserves a customer service award for being extremely helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CT travel friend.
Fairfield County, CT
Apr 19, 2013

happy surprise

Perfect location in heart of Old City which makes it convenient to walk to many museums or take nearby bus to others. Friendly, helpful staff. Wyndham has purchased Holiday Inn on historic site and is upgrading facility - great new towels, good coffee maker,, complimentary wifi, exercise room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

no charge for senior citizens on city trains and buses

Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New York to Philly
New York, NY
Nov 18, 2012

Great Location from Greyhound Bus Stop

I needed a quick hotel that was located in downtown Philadelphia near the Greyhound bus stop of Filbert Street. This was a nice hotel with great customer service. The rooms were average but Holiday Inn is always a nice chain hotel to stay at. Overall, great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aliens45
Milano, Italia
Sep 8, 2012

Good positioned

Three days of pleasant stay. Good compared to price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Indipendence hall, liberty bell, bus tour starting point

Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craigorego
Wilmington, Delaware
Jul 3, 2012

Old City Philly

The staff were all friendly and helpful in the check in and check out process. Located right in Old city we were able to walk to Penns Landing and Market Street from the hotel and check out the bars and nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChuckChuck
state college
Sep 5, 2011

Good place to stay!

The location is very good for tourist to go sightseeing. Room is big, and mattress is comfortable. In the description I think I saw ' limited parking based on first come, first serve', but when we were there we were told 25 dollars per night. That's why it doesn't get a full mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChuckChuck
state college
Sep 5, 2011

Good place to stay!

The location is very good for tourist to go sightseeing. Room is big, and mattress is comfortable. In the description I think I saw ' limited parking based on first come, first serve', but when we were there we were told 25 dollars per night. That's why it doesn't get a full mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Chester, PA
Apr 2, 2011

Good location

I stayed at this hotel with a group of friends and was very impressed with how clean and comfortable the hotel was. The personel were all very nice and very accomodating. The rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable - not too hard or soft. The only thing I wish the room had was a mini refridgerator, however that's minor for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Chester, PA
Apr 2, 2011

Good location

I stayed at this hotel with a group of friends and was very impressed with how clean and comfortable the hotel was. The personel were all very nice and very accomodating. The rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable - not too hard or soft. The only thing I wish the room had was a mini refridgerator, however that's minor for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top