$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

4 stars
400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
148 reviews
Grt hotel, near convention center, a bit expensive

Nice clean and comfy hotel, starbucks in the lobby a plus, short walk to the convention center,... See full review

  • Tech Geek Traveller
  • Dec 23, 2014
Grt hotel, near convention center, a bit expensive

Nice clean and comfy hotel, starbucks in the lobby a plus, short walk to the convention center,... See full review

  • Tech Geek Traveller
  • Dec 22, 2014
The Wyndham Hotel Philadelphia creates a stark contrast against its Historic District setting, cutting a sleek urban figure within the old world charm of its surroundings. The hotel was given a focused facelift in 2014, and now ivory and stone décor is set against uncluttered dark wood furnishings. Despite its laidback name, the on-site Coins Restaurant and Pub is equally chic, with its urban lanterns and contemporary American cuisine. If you prefer to enjoy your meals alone, the extensive menu can be ordered from as a room service option. Get in a good workout at the on-site fitness center, or settle in for a day of watery entertainment at the rooftop pool.
Key facts
  • 364 guestrooms
  • Swimming pool and spa tub
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Health club and spa tub
  • Cable television and gaming consoles
  • Room service
  • Bar/lounge
  • Business center
  • Suites with microwaves and refrigerators are offered on request
  • 24-hour airport shuttle at extra cost
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Hotel Philadelphia is buried in the Old City, a few blocks from the Delaware River and the waterfront activity hub of Penn's Landing. It's a neighborhood renowned for its history – at the nearby Independence National Park, visitors can encounter the famous Liberty Bell and Independence Hall, the legendary place where both the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution were signed. Take the Constitutional Walking Tour to explore the area, or catch the subway downtown from 5th Street Station for more 21st century options among the restaurants and stores of Center City.
Hints and tips
Suites toward the south of the hotel are quieter, and for those who enjoy the spookier side of the Historic District, Christ Church's cemetery views are worthwhile.

Water babies are happiest on the seventh floor, which is just beneath the swimming pool.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Christ Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.4 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.5 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.9 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (148)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
148 out of 148
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
twistedpeg
Business
New Jersey, USA
Nov 14, 2011

STAY AWAY!!!!

Overpriced...was supposed to get adjoining rooms but was put in two separate handicapped rooms on 3rd floor -- one next to the elevators and one next to the gym!!! The noise was horrible, the room was vibrating when people would run on the treadmill, we would hear a big boom everytime someone dropped a weight on the floor. The rooms were extremely small, the bathrooms were molding and dirty. Huge dusty TVs. NOT worth a quarter of what I paid. Hotel wants to put 25,000 Reward Points in a Priority Club Rewards member account for me. No other compensation whatsoever. They can keep their points I would NEVER stay again!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FrustratedFather
Business
Washington DC
Nov 12, 2012

Unbeatable location, awful night's sleep

Incredibly noisy mechanical work made for an awful night's sleep. Hotel engineering team dealing with some kind of mechanical problem created an ungodly racket that me & my family from sleeping. I called front desk to complain and each time I complained the noise stopped (so clearly they knew what they were doing) for about an hour (perhaps hoping we'd be deep sleepers), before starting up again. Then I would call to complain & the noise would stop again...but only for an hour or so. Why this couldn't wait until daytime is beyond me. Staff said they couldn't move us because hotel was sold out and they couldn't compensate us because room hadn't been booked directly with hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Millie77
Business
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2013

Grumpy service

The wait staff at the restaurant was very rude! The tables were not cleaned and full of dirty dishes. I sat myself down after no one came to greet me.. then a server snapped at me for not waiting for her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kathleenthetraveler
Business
Jersey City, New Jersey
Jun 10, 2013

Very disappointed

I booked this hotel for a romantic weekend with my fiance. I was excited about the heated pool and the close proximity to Market Street. Although the hotel has a nice location, that is all this hotel offers, which does not at all justify the high price tag. Check in is at 4 and check out is at 11 and the pool is only open from 10 to 10, Me and my fiance were hoping to go for a late night swim after strolling around downtown Philly, but when we arrived back at 10pm, not only was the pool closed, the way overpriced restaurant was as well. I would not recommend this hotel unless you only care about proximity to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk from the hotel you can walk across the bridge from Pennsylvania to New Jersey. Great place for a view of Philly and a perfect place for photographers!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy bridesmaid
Business
Brick,NJ
Dec 15, 2013

Wedding parties, beware!!

My sister chose to stay at this hotel for her wedding weekend(wedding at different location) , due to the close proximity to things and guests traveling from far. To begin with, when she got a tour the lobby was NOT under construction and they showed her guest rooms already renovated(not the rooms we or any of the guests of the wedding stayed in). So from start to finish everyone with the wedding party did not have a great experience. For starters the hotel rate was RIDICULOUS($230 a NIGHT and that's the "wedding discount# considering that A. 1/2 the lobby# 3/4 of the hotel# was under construction B. The heating units were not working properly #the night before the wedding the bridal party shared a room and we were woken up to CLANKING metal...it was the heat. The next day when we brought it up to the front they said they'd have someone come up to look at it. Um, hellooo the bride had to get ready!# C. No where to get food in the hotel from 10:30-5:30#no restaurants or café all under construction# D. Ice machine was broken on our floor and the drink/food vending machines were every other floor. E. The bathroom we checked into was really dirty for the price of this hotel #multiple stray hairs in the shower (me and a friend tried cleaning it before the bride came in#. F. There was no restaurant....just a windowless banquet room with the room next door being a construction zone. The breakfast #$16 a pop was bad quality food, (eggs, French toast, breakfast potatoes). There was hardly any room for people to sit. When I called before staying there they said getting a cab would not be a problem, just call down to the lobby and they'll have them ready for us. WELL the night of the rehearsal dinner we gave them 30 minutes notice. Get down there and had to wait for a cab. Eventually we stood out in the cold and got our own. The night of the wedding the bride and groom went to the "bar" and the bartender felt bad about the scenario and tried to help but really made matters worse. At 3 am the lobby was "nice enough" to change their rooms so the clanking of the heat wouldn't be an issue. So they had to cart ALL of their things after the wedding from 1 room to the other. Security was nice enough to help. They should have gotten a free room for that night out of the inconvenience!#both nights really...# When the mother of the bride tried to complain all they could offer was free parking!! Absolutely HORRENDOS experience! Yes, renovations happen but they should have notified the bride and the wedding party of the MESS we were entering and they should have charged ALOT less for that. Even when renovation is done I WOULD NOT recommend anyone stay there, customer service was horrible, food horrible, price horrible, and a cemetery view to boot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs. Kroes
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 1, 2011

Terrible

I usually don't bother writing reviews of hotels, but I wanted to warn others about this place. First of all, they put me in a room on the wing where a bunch of school kids (ages 12-13) were placed, even though I obviously was not with the group. There was not one night where I got more than two hours of sleep because of slamming doors, yelling, and the paper thin walls where I could hear ALL noises on the street. Keep in mind I was on floor 7. I called the front desk and manager on duty several times, and they never stopped the problem. They also would not transfer me to another room. This lack of sleep and quiet did not do wonders for my continuing education course. However, one other person attending my class did stay there as well, and she experienced the same things I did, but she was on a different floor. Glad to find out I wasn't the only one. When I first got into the room, the heat was blasting so hard that I had to turn the air conditioner on full blast for the next 24 hours to cool the room down. There was also trash thrown on the floors and desk chair. Do they clean the rooms before the next person arrives? Let's just say that I could got get out of Philadelphia fast enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location was alright- It was within walking distance to the Constitution Center, the Liberty Bell, Liberty Park, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dave Guided By Prices
Business
Melbourne, FL
Nov 29, 2010

Good price. Unsanitary.

The only plus was that they allowed for a late check-in. Upon entering my room, using one of two door cards that actually worked, I noticed black scuff marks on every wall. Upon further inspection I noticed two of the three coffee condiment packages were opened. The true test is to look under the bed, where I found another discarded straw, various crumbs, and a discarded shaving razor cap. Needless to say, I slept fully clothed on top of the sheets. On to the bathroom. Ewwww! The shower head was falling apart. There was hair on the floor and bench(both long & short, if you know what I mean.)Speaking of the bench, it protruded outside of the low shower floor , causing the spray to flood the entire bathroom floor. This would explain the water stains along the baseboard. No bath fan or ventilation whatsoever. I wish I would have stayed at my first choice, but the price lured me away. You get what you pay for, and sometimes even less. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Far away from the good theaters and clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington, dc
Feb 16, 2009

Unpleasant stay

The hotel staff was very rude. The room did not have hot water. The heater had only too hot air and it was very loud. The rooms did not have any privacy and we could hear everything in the other room. We had to turn on the TV really loud to block the sound from the other room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PRETTY MESE'
Business
READING, PA
Mar 15, 2010

DISGUSTING!!!!!

THE TOILET KEPT RUNNING AND I FOUND A MOUSE DROPPING IN THE BED WHEN I WOKE UP IN THE MORNING!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta georgia
Aug 25, 2009

philly loooser

The nickle and dimeing you would expect at a low rate hotel but not one with their rateing. That just makes you feel down toward the whole trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top