$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

3 stars
400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
225 reviews
Great Location!

This hotel was great for a three day stay in Philadelphia! Friendly service, very clean, and a... See full review

  • GoHabsGo
  • Mar 18, 2013
Nice - will stay again

This hotel is nice. It's formerly a Holiday Inn so I was skeptical but I had a good stay. There was... See full review

  • Panda Lover
  • Jun 3, 2014
The Wyndham Hotel Philadelphia creates a stark contrast against its Historic District setting, cutting a sleek urban figure within the old world charm of its surroundings. The hotel was given a focused facelift in 2014, and now ivory and stone décor is set against uncluttered dark wood furnishings. Despite its laidback name, the on-site Coins Restaurant and Pub is equally chic, with its urban lanterns and contemporary American cuisine. If you prefer to enjoy your meals alone, the extensive menu can be ordered from as a room service option. Get in a good workout at the on-site fitness center, or settle in for a day of watery entertainment at the rooftop pool.
Key facts
  • 364 guestrooms
  • Swimming pool and spa tub
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Health club and spa tub
  • Cable television and gaming consoles
  • Room service
  • Bar/lounge
  • Business center
  • Suites with microwaves and refrigerators are offered on request
  • 24-hour airport shuttle at extra cost
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Hotel Philadelphia is buried in the Old City, a few blocks from the Delaware River and the waterfront activity hub of Penn's Landing. It's a neighborhood renowned for its history – at the nearby Independence National Park, visitors can encounter the famous Liberty Bell and Independence Hall, the legendary place where both the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution were signed. Take the Constitutional Walking Tour to explore the area, or catch the subway downtown from 5th Street Station for more 21st century options among the restaurants and stores of Center City.
Hints and tips
Suites toward the south of the hotel are quieter, and for those who enjoy the spookier side of the Historic District, Christ Church's cemetery views are worthwhile.

Water babies are happiest on the seventh floor, which is just beneath the swimming pool.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

39.9524 -75.1468
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Christ Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.4 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.5 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.9 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs. Kroes
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 1, 2011

Terrible

I usually don't bother writing reviews of hotels, but I wanted to warn others about this place. First of all, they put me in a room on the wing where a bunch of school kids (ages 12-13) were placed, even though I obviously was not with the group. There was not one night where I got more than two hours of sleep because of slamming doors, yelling, and the paper thin walls where I could hear ALL noises on the street. Keep in mind I was on floor 7. I called the front desk and manager on duty several times, and they never stopped the problem. They also would not transfer me to another room. This lack of sleep and quiet did not do wonders for my continuing education course. However, one other person attending my class did stay there as well, and she experienced the same things I did, but she was on a different floor. Glad to find out I wasn't the only one. When I first got into the room, the heat was blasting so hard that I had to turn the air conditioner on full blast for the next 24 hours to cool the room down. There was also trash thrown on the floors and desk chair. Do they clean the rooms before the next person arrives? Let's just say that I could got get out of Philadelphia fast enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location was alright- It was within walking distance to the Constitution Center, the Liberty Bell, Liberty Park, etc.

Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Mar 6, 2011

Clean and Conveniently Located

The few downsides were that we were located next to what seemed to be the laundry station for the hotel staff. There was a constant clanking sound we heard in our room, that in our best estimation, was washers and dryers churning- our window looked into what seemed to be the laundry area with a freight elevator. Had we not gotten home late and utterly exhausted and hadn't left early, it would have been a problem. The hotel and room were very clean and never having to put any of them to the test, the staff seemed efficient. It was a great central location at a reasonable rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Mar 6, 2011

Clean and Conveniently Located

The few downsides were that we were located next to what seemed to be the laundry station for the hotel staff. There was a constant clanking sound we heard in our room, that in our best estimation, was washers and dryers churning- our window looked into what seemed to be the laundry area with a freight elevator. Had we not gotten home late and utterly exhausted and hadn't left early, it would have been a problem. The hotel and room were very clean and never having to put any of them to the test, the staff seemed efficient. It was a great central location at a reasonable rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco Bay Area
Feb 26, 2011

Location is perfect and reasonabe price

Location for this Holiday Inn is perfect and a very good price point. You can fall out of the hotel front door and find something to do in the historic district. You are in a short walk to the Liberty Bell, Constitution Center, Independence Hall, Second Bank Of the U.S., Indepedence Visitors Center that has two free movies playing, the new American Jewish Museum and a whole host of other places. I love independent and foreign films and there are three different Ritz Movie theaters with I think 12 screen total which was great. Also, a pletheora of quality dining choices. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The down sides of this hotel were that the room was not as clean as it should have been. There was dirt and hair on the bathroom floor when I arrived. The restaurant in the hotel only had cold options for breakfast one morning and gave no explanation as to why. They told me at first they were short staffed then changed to they had issues. Good news is there is an inexpensive little diner on Chestnut street in between 3rd and 4th that had been there 50 years. Good food and cheap prices.Business Center had free internet. All in all well worth the money for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to many free attractions like the liberty bell and Independence Hall.

Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco Bay Area
Feb 26, 2011

Location is perfect and reasonabe price

Location for this Holiday Inn is perfect and a very good price point. You can fall out of the hotel front door and find something to do in the historic district. You are in a short walk to the Liberty Bell, Constitution Center, Independence Hall, Second Bank Of the U.S., Indepedence Visitors Center that has two free movies playing, the new American Jewish Museum and a whole host of other places. I love independent and foreign films and there are three different Ritz Movie theaters with I think 12 screen total which was great. Also, a pletheora of quality dining choices. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The down sides of this hotel were that the room was not as clean as it should have been. There was dirt and hair on the bathroom floor when I arrived. The restaurant in the hotel only had cold options for breakfast one morning and gave no explanation as to why. They told me at first they were short staffed then changed to they had issues. Good news is there is an inexpensive little diner on Chestnut street in between 3rd and 4th that had been there 50 years. Good food and cheap prices.Business Center had free internet. All in all well worth the money for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to many free attractions like the liberty bell and Independence Hall.

Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Turnpike Warrior
New Jersey
Feb 22, 2011

Right in the heart!

Decent place to stay when visiting Philly however this is not a place to stay if you're superstitious about being right next to cementary cuz it's where Ben Franklin was buried. IMO - it's cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Turnpike Warrior
New Jersey
Feb 22, 2011

Right in the heart!

Decent place to stay when visiting Philly however this is not a place to stay if you're superstitious about being right next to cementary cuz it's where Ben Franklin was buried. IMO - it's cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Burkes
St. Louis, MO
Feb 16, 2011

Not bad for the price

Overall, this was a very nice hotel stay. You really couldn't beat the location. It is in the heart of everything you want to do. Most the staff were fantastic and very friendly. The hotel wasn't over the top nice, but it was clean and had everything you need. It is on the same corner as a fire station though, so lots of sirens go off at all hours. Overall, I would go back for another weekend trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mac's Tavern was a great spot for a bite to eat and a few drinks. Only a short walk away for a wide selection of beer and food.

Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Burkes
St. Louis, MO
Feb 16, 2011

Not bad for the price

Overall, this was a very nice hotel stay. You really couldn't beat the location. It is in the heart of everything you want to do. Most the staff were fantastic and very friendly. The hotel wasn't over the top nice, but it was clean and had everything you need. It is on the same corner as a fire station though, so lots of sirens go off at all hours. Overall, I would go back for another weekend trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mac's Tavern was a great spot for a bite to eat and a few drinks. Only a short walk away for a wide selection of beer and food.

Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 15, 2011

Nice staff, room small

The hotel staff was awesome! The room was very clean and neat, but terribly small. There was no closet, just an armoire. My husband and I were tripping over each other. I would stay there again though, since the staff was wonderful and the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of wonderful places to eat in any price range within walking distance. There was a great coffee place just up the street and around the corner; Cafe Ole.

Back to menu Return to top