$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

4 stars
View map of 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
152 out of 152
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Jul 25, 2011

Can't beat the location

You can't beat the location of this hotel, and the price was ultra-competitive, too. The bed was comfy, and the furniture and bathroom were updated. The room should some wear and tear, but nothing that wasn't expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything that you want to see in the historic district is 2 blocks away. Go get your tickets to independence hall first (8:30), then work your way back to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Chester, PA
Apr 2, 2011

Good location

I stayed at this hotel with a group of friends and was very impressed with how clean and comfortable the hotel was. The personel were all very nice and very accomodating. The rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable - not too hard or soft. The only thing I wish the room had was a mini refridgerator, however that's minor for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs. Kroes
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 1, 2011

Terrible

I usually don't bother writing reviews of hotels, but I wanted to warn others about this place. First of all, they put me in a room on the wing where a bunch of school kids (ages 12-13) were placed, even though I obviously was not with the group. There was not one night where I got more than two hours of sleep because of slamming doors, yelling, and the paper thin walls where I could hear ALL noises on the street. Keep in mind I was on floor 7. I called the front desk and manager on duty several times, and they never stopped the problem. They also would not transfer me to another room. This lack of sleep and quiet did not do wonders for my continuing education course. However, one other person attending my class did stay there as well, and she experienced the same things I did, but she was on a different floor. Glad to find out I wasn't the only one. When I first got into the room, the heat was blasting so hard that I had to turn the air conditioner on full blast for the next 24 hours to cool the room down. There was also trash thrown on the floors and desk chair. Do they clean the rooms before the next person arrives? Let's just say that I could got get out of Philadelphia fast enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The location was alright- It was within walking distance to the Constitution Center, the Liberty Bell, Liberty Park, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Mar 6, 2011

Clean and Conveniently Located

The few downsides were that we were located next to what seemed to be the laundry station for the hotel staff. There was a constant clanking sound we heard in our room, that in our best estimation, was washers and dryers churning- our window looked into what seemed to be the laundry area with a freight elevator. Had we not gotten home late and utterly exhausted and hadn't left early, it would have been a problem. The hotel and room were very clean and never having to put any of them to the test, the staff seemed efficient. It was a great central location at a reasonable rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco Bay Area
Feb 26, 2011

Location is perfect and reasonabe price

Location for this Holiday Inn is perfect and a very good price point. You can fall out of the hotel front door and find something to do in the historic district. You are in a short walk to the Liberty Bell, Constitution Center, Independence Hall, Second Bank Of the U.S., Indepedence Visitors Center that has two free movies playing, the new American Jewish Museum and a whole host of other places. I love independent and foreign films and there are three different Ritz Movie theaters with I think 12 screen total which was great. Also, a pletheora of quality dining choices. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The down sides of this hotel were that the room was not as clean as it should have been. There was dirt and hair on the bathroom floor when I arrived. The restaurant in the hotel only had cold options for breakfast one morning and gave no explanation as to why. They told me at first they were short staffed then changed to they had issues. Good news is there is an inexpensive little diner on Chestnut street in between 3rd and 4th that had been there 50 years. Good food and cheap prices.Business Center had free internet. All in all well worth the money for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to many free attractions like the liberty bell and Independence Hall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Turnpike Warrior
Business
New Jersey
Feb 22, 2011

Right in the heart!

Decent place to stay when visiting Philly however this is not a place to stay if you're superstitious about being right next to cementary cuz it's where Ben Franklin was buried. IMO - it's cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Burkes
Business
St. Louis, MO
Feb 16, 2011

Not bad for the price

Overall, this was a very nice hotel stay. You really couldn't beat the location. It is in the heart of everything you want to do. Most the staff were fantastic and very friendly. The hotel wasn't over the top nice, but it was clean and had everything you need. It is on the same corner as a fire station though, so lots of sirens go off at all hours. Overall, I would go back for another weekend trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mac's Tavern was a great spot for a bite to eat and a few drinks. Only a short walk away for a wide selection of beer and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 15, 2011

Nice staff, room small

The hotel staff was awesome! The room was very clean and neat, but terribly small. There was no closet, just an armoire. My husband and I were tripping over each other. I would stay there again though, since the staff was wonderful and the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of wonderful places to eat in any price range within walking distance. There was a great coffee place just up the street and around the corner; Cafe Ole.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansdale, PA
Jan 2, 2011

Great location!

Very nice hotel, good restaurant inside! Would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dining out Super Mom
Business
North Wales, PA
Dec 18, 2010

Fabulous, easy, and convenient!

My husband and I stayed one night for my holiday Christmas party. We had a very quick check in, nice and courteous staff, well kept room with nice features and very comfy bed. Everything we could have asked for plus a SUPER location. Walking distance to Old City and many great restaurants and touristy spots. Will definitely come again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top