$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

4 stars
400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
144 reviews
Nice - will stay again

This hotel is nice. It's formerly a Holiday Inn so I was skeptical but I had a good stay. There was... See full review

  • Panda Lover
  • Jun 3, 2014
bussiness trip

Awesome. It was very convient for the business I had to handel. The staff was amazing! Yhe room... See full review

  • sexy sue 123
  • Dec 6, 2013
The Wyndham Hotel Philadelphia creates a stark contrast against its Historic District setting, cutting a sleek urban figure within the old world charm of its surroundings. The hotel was given a focused facelift in 2014, and now ivory and stone décor is set against uncluttered dark wood furnishings. Despite its laidback name, the on-site Coins Restaurant and Pub is equally chic, with its urban lanterns and contemporary American cuisine. If you prefer to enjoy your meals alone, the extensive menu can be ordered from as a room service option. Get in a good workout at the on-site fitness center, or settle in for a day of watery entertainment at the rooftop pool.
Key facts
  • 364 guestrooms
  • Swimming pool and spa tub
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Health club and spa tub
  • Cable television and gaming consoles
  • Room service
  • Bar/lounge
  • Business center
  • Suites with microwaves and refrigerators are offered on request
  • 24-hour airport shuttle at extra cost
Neighborhood
The Wyndham Hotel Philadelphia is buried in the Old City, a few blocks from the Delaware River and the waterfront activity hub of Penn's Landing. It's a neighborhood renowned for its history – at the nearby Independence National Park, visitors can encounter the famous Liberty Bell and Independence Hall, the legendary place where both the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution were signed. Take the Constitutional Walking Tour to explore the area, or catch the subway downtown from 5th Street Station for more 21st century options among the restaurants and stores of Center City.
Hints and tips
Suites toward the south of the hotel are quieter, and for those who enjoy the spookier side of the Historic District, Christ Church's cemetery views are worthwhile.

Water babies are happiest on the seventh floor, which is just beneath the swimming pool.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9524 -75.1468
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Christ Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.4 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.5 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.9 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (144)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansdale, PA
Jan 2, 2011

Great location!

Very nice hotel, good restaurant inside! Would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dining out Super Mom
Business
North Wales, PA
Dec 18, 2010

Fabulous, easy, and convenient!

My husband and I stayed one night for my holiday Christmas party. We had a very quick check in, nice and courteous staff, well kept room with nice features and very comfy bed. Everything we could have asked for plus a SUPER location. Walking distance to Old City and many great restaurants and touristy spots. Will definitely come again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sisterly Love
Business
Blue Bell, PA
Dec 13, 2010

Voyage Afoot

I stayed for one night in the city, due to a Winter Gala hosted by my job at the Ritz Carlton. Unfortunately, the Ritz was completely booked for the night, so I decided to stay with my sister at the Holiday Inn in Olde City. The room was very nice, the beds comfortable and clean. To my dismay, the elevator from the parking garage to the hotel lobby was not operating and according to the signs, was not to be functional anytime soon. After trekking four flights to the ground floor, we had to voyage in what appeared to be a service entrance of some sort. There were no signs detailing which entrace was correct. Upon check out, there was a parking fee which would have been cheaper to park in a handicap zone and receive a ticket. Overall, I give the stay a three, even though the city of Philadelphia is absolutely beautiful and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Club Vango... Light astmosphere, great music, plenty of dancing and engaging locals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Very Unfrequent Traveller
Business
Los Angeles
Dec 12, 2010

Holiday Inn PHILADELPHIA-HISTORIC DISTRI

Pretty much an okay experience. Hotel needs a renovation. Cheap! Location great. Everybody who works there seemed really helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MZZJONES
Business
GEORGIA
Dec 9, 2010

My Philly Stay 11/2010

In town for a funeral, visit family and friends in the process. A micorwave in the room would have completed the stay perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Dec 7, 2010

Nice Location Nice Hotel

The hotel is located in a nice section of town near all the historical attractions. My room was smaller but OK for a single person. The room was near the stair well which I would suggest avaoiding as it can be loud due to traffic. Breakfast was average and the food seemed decent at the cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

To get to the hotel a cab ride is $28.50 as the hotel is located in a flat fee zone. You can ask for the Lady Liberty Shuttle which is $10 per person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dave Guided By Prices
Business
Melbourne, FL
Nov 29, 2010

Good price. Unsanitary.

The only plus was that they allowed for a late check-in. Upon entering my room, using one of two door cards that actually worked, I noticed black scuff marks on every wall. Upon further inspection I noticed two of the three coffee condiment packages were opened. The true test is to look under the bed, where I found another discarded straw, various crumbs, and a discarded shaving razor cap. Needless to say, I slept fully clothed on top of the sheets. On to the bathroom. Ewwww! The shower head was falling apart. There was hair on the floor and bench(both long & short, if you know what I mean.)Speaking of the bench, it protruded outside of the low shower floor , causing the spray to flood the entire bathroom floor. This would explain the water stains along the baseboard. No bath fan or ventilation whatsoever. I wish I would have stayed at my first choice, but the price lured me away. You get what you pay for, and sometimes even less. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Far away from the good theaters and clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san juan, pr
Nov 18, 2010

sunny philadelphia

Very good. Nice room, excellent location, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orlando
Nov 17, 2010

good

the hotel was excellent beer at the bar a bit expensive staff very nice and polite will go back to the same hotel next trip in january

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

beer should be a better price $7 for a bottle of beer give me a break

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mesa, AZ
Nov 3, 2010

fun fall getaway

Great location. Close access to public transit to go anywhere. We took the subway and bus to Valley Forge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi to the hotel from the airport. Little cost difference from taking the shuttle and gets you there so much faster!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top