$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 11, 2015

Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

4 stars
400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
151 reviews
good hotel

This is good hotel. Location is good for visiting center city in philadelphia. See full review

  • Harrison B.
  • Jan 18, 2015
Wyndham

Reason I chose the Wyndham is on my first date with my girlfriend we past by it and I said one day... See full review

  • Craig T.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Welcome to the nation's most historic square mile! In the heart of downtown Philadelphia Old City, 8 miles away from the international PHL airport, the Holiday Inn Hotel Historic District Philadelphia offers the best in Philadelphia accommodations! We are only 5 minutes' walk to the major historic attractions: Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Walk or take a short subway ride to Pennsylvania Convention Center. Visiting Thomas Jefferson hospital or Pennsylvania hospital. Reserve a room at the smoke free Holiday Inn Historic District Philadelphia in a safe neighborhood with 40 restaurants. Government offices within walking distance to Holiday Inn Historic District Philadelphia Hotel include US Federal Court House, IRS, US Attorneys office, Department of Labor, FPS, Social Security Administration, FRB, Department of Justice and DEA.Holiday Inn Historic District Philadelphia, PA offering free WiFi is conveniently located about 2 miles away from Art Museum and Franklin Institute featuring Star Trek and Galileo the Medici and the Age of Astronomy exhibits. With short drive to Aquarium, New Jersey Battleship and Zoo, families will appreciate the central location of Holiday Inn Historic District in Philly, Pennsylvania. If Market Street, Gallery shopping mall, and South Street shops haven't wore you out yet, King of Prussia Mall is only 30 min. drive. This hotel is committed to providing accessible facilities under the American Disabilities Act. If your accessibility needs are not met, please contact the Hotel Manager on Duty. Should you require additional information regarding accessible facilities for guests with disabilities, please call 1-800-Holiday (U.S. and Canada) or contact the hotel directly. For the hearing impaired, TDD service is available at 1-800-238-5544 within the U.S. and Canada.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Porters
Conference facilities
Copy service
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Christ Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.5 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.4 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.5 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.9 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (151)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Millie77
Business
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2013

Grumpy service

The wait staff at the restaurant was very rude! The tables were not cleaned and full of dirty dishes. I sat myself down after no one came to greet me.. then a server snapped at me for not waiting for her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RiemTeam
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 20, 2013

short business trip

Understanding that this property has just changed hands, I can cut them some slack. But they had a few very basic things, very wrong and many more just plain mediocre. I actually think the location can be great for them, for tourists and value minded business travelers. But they need serious staff training. Security Guard sitting at a back door smoking a cig and staring at his phone, never even noticed me walking past him. I waited 10 minutes to be seated in the morning for breakfast and finally I had to walk a block to Starbucks and walk back to catch my shuttle ride. Front desk was very disorganised everytime I went by it and especially when I checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kathleenthetraveler
Business
Jersey City, New Jersey
Jun 10, 2013

Very disappointed

I booked this hotel for a romantic weekend with my fiance. I was excited about the heated pool and the close proximity to Market Street. Although the hotel has a nice location, that is all this hotel offers, which does not at all justify the high price tag. Check in is at 4 and check out is at 11 and the pool is only open from 10 to 10, Me and my fiance were hoping to go for a late night swim after strolling around downtown Philly, but when we arrived back at 10pm, not only was the pool closed, the way overpriced restaurant was as well. I would not recommend this hotel unless you only care about proximity to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk from the hotel you can walk across the bridge from Pennsylvania to New Jersey. Great place for a view of Philly and a perfect place for photographers!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ThomasCT
Business
MANILA
Jun 6, 2013

Nice Place at the Historic District

If you need a place to stay at the historic district,, this will be a good place to stay. Clean, comfortable, every things in order. All the site you want to go are in short walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SSWilliams
Business
Virginia
Jun 3, 2013

Fun stuff

Really great staff, lovely hotel and room. Only thing is the rooms really need mini fridges! We will be planning another trip to the area next year and will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Gigi's bar down the street. Great staff, awesome food and beer, and you get a discount for staying at this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
birdiemom
Business
Sacramento, California
Jun 2, 2013

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

Wyndham was so close to the liberty bell, constitution center & the U.S. mint! Bus lines were only 1/2 block from the hotel(if you are over 65 you ride for free) Airport shuttle went right to the hotel & cabs wait right outside. The room was clean(the beds were a little hard for me). The pillows were heavenly-we even had a fridge in our room. The view from our room was great, AC was nice & cold. We didn't eat in the restaurant(even though they served Starbucks coffee)-there was better value & selection in a very short walk . Overall stay was pleasant & would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

HUGE slice of great pizza for $2.50! Homemade lasagna-wow!!!! Old City Pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Earnest T
Business
Texas
Jun 1, 2013

Good location

The location was great and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I can't say the same for the housekeeping staff. The bathroom had mildew in the tub, a light out, and a slow draining sink. Coffee, etc. were not replenished the following day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
asiamtrev
Business
Boston
May 28, 2013

Great value!

Stayed Memorial Day weekend 2013 -- $90/night booked on discount website. While the hotel is a dated building and currently undergoing updates, my stay was perfectly good. My room had updated furnishing and was very clean. The hotel location is extremely convenient to the popular touristy spots. Major compliments to Sentia at the front desk, who deserves a customer service award for being extremely helpful and courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chaseman
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 28, 2013

Very convienent hotel

The staff was very hospitable, the room was very clean. It was also near some of Philly's greatest attractions. Perfect hotel for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ririch
Business
SC
Apr 28, 2013

Ok stay

I probably would NOT stay here again. Hotel charges $25/night additional to park & the garage doesn't have direct access into hotel. Wifi didn't work either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top