$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

4 stars
View map of 400 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
151 out of 151
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bird of Paradise
Business
Louisville, KY
Aug 3, 2013

Very convenient to Historic Sights

Within walking distance to historical sights. Unusally excellent help with precise directions for using public transportation. Cabs readily available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations for historical sights.

Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler Ellie
Business
Washington DC
Jul 19, 2013

Convenient and perfectly adequate

Very conveniently located, with interesting sights, neighborhoods, restaurants, activities within walking distance. Check-in time is listed as 4:00 pm, and rooms were not ready at 3:30, when I arrived or at 3:55, after which I got tired of waiting, so went out without washing my face and returned at 6:30 to check in. The reception desk seemed very slow and not very efficient. The computer system was down at the lobby bar at 6:30, so checks were processed by hand, and I only noticed the next day after I left that I had received a bill under my door for the wrong check -- at least the amount billed was different from what was on my hand-written receipt from the bar. The room was perfectly adequate and clean, although the sink did not drain well (which I forgot to report to them at check-out). Breakfast in the restaurant was understaffed and slow. Staff were very helpful about storing our luggage after check-out and until we left for the day. I did not utilize any hotel amenities such as a pool, gym, or whatever else they might (or might not) have. Overall, it is a perfectly adequate hotel, with nothing special about it. I found the prices slightly high for the value, perhaps because the location was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Firefoxxx
Business
Albany, NY
Jul 15, 2013

Philly Trip

This hotel is right near the Independence Historical District. The room was nice. It had extra nice shampoo, soap and lotions. They had ice water in the lobby. Any hotel at higher prices should have them but often don't. I had a problem with getting onto the wi-fi, whereas, in other hotels I don't. Their system is more complicated than it needs to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Historical areas are right around the corner.

Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bob esq
Business
jupiter, florida
Jun 29, 2013

business stay

very clean and quiet with all necessary amenities in old city near good restaurants and a short walk to center city business district

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

continental

Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Light Saber
Business
New York
Jun 23, 2013

Wonderful stay!

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. It's located right in "old town" Philadelphia and only a minutes walk from the tourist sites and restaurants. The only complaint is about the restaurant/breakfast buffet. We waited in a short line for 15 minutes before someone seated us on a non-busy morning. The food was cold and not worth the $15 a plate, I suggest go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of restaurants and small grocery stores within walking distance.

Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Millie77
Business
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2013

Grumpy service

The wait staff at the restaurant was very rude! The tables were not cleaned and full of dirty dishes. I sat myself down after no one came to greet me.. then a server snapped at me for not waiting for her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RiemTeam
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jun 20, 2013

short business trip

Understanding that this property has just changed hands, I can cut them some slack. But they had a few very basic things, very wrong and many more just plain mediocre. I actually think the location can be great for them, for tourists and value minded business travelers. But they need serious staff training. Security Guard sitting at a back door smoking a cig and staring at his phone, never even noticed me walking past him. I waited 10 minutes to be seated in the morning for breakfast and finally I had to walk a block to Starbucks and walk back to catch my shuttle ride. Front desk was very disorganised everytime I went by it and especially when I checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kathleenthetraveler
Business
Jersey City, New Jersey
Jun 10, 2013

Very disappointed

I booked this hotel for a romantic weekend with my fiance. I was excited about the heated pool and the close proximity to Market Street. Although the hotel has a nice location, that is all this hotel offers, which does not at all justify the high price tag. Check in is at 4 and check out is at 11 and the pool is only open from 10 to 10, Me and my fiance were hoping to go for a late night swim after strolling around downtown Philly, but when we arrived back at 10pm, not only was the pool closed, the way overpriced restaurant was as well. I would not recommend this hotel unless you only care about proximity to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk from the hotel you can walk across the bridge from Pennsylvania to New Jersey. Great place for a view of Philly and a perfect place for photographers!

Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ThomasCT
Business
MANILA
Jun 6, 2013

Nice Place at the Historic District

If you need a place to stay at the historic district,, this will be a good place to stay. Clean, comfortable, every things in order. All the site you want to go are in short walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SSWilliams
Business
Virginia
Jun 3, 2013

Fun stuff

Really great staff, lovely hotel and room. Only thing is the rooms really need mini fridges! We will be planning another trip to the area next year and will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Gigi's bar down the street. Great staff, awesome food and beer, and you get a discount for staying at this hotel.

Back to menu Return to top