$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

The Windsor Suites

3 stars
1700 Ben Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
244 reviews
interview

Very value oriented. If you want a great place to stay in a great location for your money...this is... See full review

  • John Cal
  • Nov 2, 2014
good location

good location. Restaurants were good too. staff very friendly See full review

  • vermonter VT
  • Oct 23, 2014
Style your Philly vacation your way with the apart-hotel at The Windsor Suites Hotel Philadelphia. Continental-style terraces greet you outside, and once you've checked into your own city-facing balcony (selected rooms), views of nearby City Hall are yours to enjoy. There are even extended-stay openings and unfurnished suites if you need a temporary home in the city. The suite-style rooms feature refrigerators, ovens and dishwashers, for those who wish to fix their own meals.  Or guests can dine downstairs at the Irish-style pub, Con Murphy's, for some robust traditional dishes. Those feeling more active can try a few open-air laps in the rooftop pool (seasonal opening).
Key facts
  • Fully-equipped kitchens
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Free newspaper
  • In-room dining areas
  • Seasonal rooftop pool
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Laundry facilities available on most floors
  • 2 restaurants: Con Murphy's Irish Pub, Asia on the Parkway
  • Business center
  • Same-day dry cleaning service
  • 1,897-square-feet of meeting space
Neighborhood
Situated in the main focal point of Philadelphia, the Center City neighborhood, the hotel is walking distance from the Pennsylvania Convention Center for attendees, as well as local attractions like the Franklin Institute, with its fun interactive museum and Planetarium. While staying at the Windsor Suites, you'll only be 20 minutes from Philadelphia International Airport (PHL), and the Amtrak 30th Street Station is less than a mile from the property.
Hints and tips
If you need to rent a car upon arrival, guests can receive a special discount for the on-site rental provider – just make your interest known during the check-in process.

It's also fine to leave your vehicle on the hotel premises until 6:00pm your day of departure, without incurring any additional charges; useful for those still exploring before catching a flight.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Windsor Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Windsor Suites Rooms

Studio Suite
Room with two double beds includes armchair and ottoman, dining area, desk with rolling chair. Voice mail, in-room safe, complimentary high-speed internet access, kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/teamaker, cookware, cable/satellite TV, premium TV channels.
Studio Suite
Room with one queen bed includes armchair and ottoman, dining area, desk with rolling chair. Voice mail, in-room safe, complimentary high-speed internet access, kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/teamaker, cookware, cable/satellite TV, premium TV channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.9 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Dining

Asia on the Parkway
This restaurant serves authentic Asian dishes. Daily lunch and dinner.
Con Murphy's Irish Pub
Cozy and welcoming, Con Murphy's Irish Pub located inside The Windsor Suites is the perfect spot to sit down for a delicious dinner or to relax over a drink at the bar. Open early at 6:30 am every weekday, guests can enjoy a full breakfast menu including omelets, pancakes, and even a traditional Irish breakfast. At lunch time, Con Murphy's has a wide selection of sandwiches and salads as well as heartier fare. For dinner, you can choose from Guinness beef stew, shepherd's pie, or grilled New York strip steak as well as other classic pub food and homemade desserts. On weekends a special brunch menu is offered from 10 am to 1 pm, the perfect way to start your Saturday or Sunday. Con Murphy's offers a full bar with a top-notch selection of Irish whisky and scotch and seasonal cocktails to make for a special evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (244)

Ratings and reviews for The Windsor Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 244
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PHLtraveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 28, 2011

What's that smell?

I stayed at this hotel last week due to its prime location in Center City and the beautiful pictures on the website. My first surprise upon entering my "suite" is that it was not a suite at all. It was a standard hotel room with a kitchen. To me, a suite includes a separated bedroom. In this case, the beds were within earshot of the kitchen. The kitchen was in terrible shape with broken and chipped cabinets -- not exactly like the pictures show. We awoke in the morning to a gurgling sound from the kitchen sink. We walked over to find liquid flowing out of the drain like a fountain -- smelling like sewage!! We called and they sent a maintenance guy up to the room, who asked us "What did you do?" Not exactly the customer service we expected -- we didn't even use the sink! Luckily, we checked out that morning. We told the story to the front desk and they didn't offer anything. Upon my pushing that they might want to offer us a refund, they told me that they wouldn't give a refund, but would give a voucher for a one-night stay at that hotel in the future... as if I'd ever stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tissylu
Business
Sacramento, CA
Dec 27, 2012

under construction

Upon checking into the hotel, we were notified that there would be construction work from 9 am to 4 pm. The work was very loud and we could not stay in our hotel room once it had started. We were supposed to stay 4 nights and only stayed 2. The hotel staff was not helpful at all when we asked to switch rooms away from the construction noise. I'm sure the hotel would have been fine if the construction work hadn't been going on. The hotel was in a prime location and it was clean and comfortable. Just make sure to ask if there is construction work scheduled during your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Judime
Business
NY
Feb 11, 2014

One Night in Philly for Exam

I loved the room setting. I stayed in one of the suites. It took a while before I finally got checked in because no rooms were available ( housekeeping was cleaning up the rooms). However, I loved the night I spent at Windsor. Parking was average.. would hope for better discount next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maryland
Jul 23, 2009

a okay stay

typical hotel. a little overpriced. mold on the shower curtain, no exhaust fan in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Balerina
Business
New York, NY
Jan 20, 2010

Great location

The hotel is at a great spot, close to all attractions. The rooms were old and some of equipment also. The bathroom was renovated so that was a good quality. We got upgraded to a nice one bedroom suite but the kitchen cabinets were old and there was no filter for the coffee machine. Otherwise, the amenities in the room were great. We had two double beds in the bedroom and a couch that opens up and becomes another bed. Flat screen TVs in both rooms. The room was clean and well taken care of. Overall, the hotel has a great location and that made up for everything else. There is also a bar and a restaurant in the hotel so you can never be bored.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 28, 2010

a little disappointed

I chose this hotel because it was a decent price to split amongst three people and because I thought there was an indoor pool, perhaps I can't read. There is only an outdoor pool that is only open from Memorial Day to Labor Day. I was very disappointed. I paid about 30 dollars for parking, my receipt said 31.01 but when I got home I checked my bank account and I had a charge of 81.01 so I called the hotel to ask about this and turns out the extra 50 dollars they took out was an "incidental fee" which they said would be back into my account within 14 days, I don't remember reading this anywhere. I am usually careful to read fine print when I commit to things but i guess I did not read enough. I've never booked a hotel before and am just finding out now that all hotels have an "incidental fee" so if anyone else is in the same boat, be aware. Other than that, the hotel was very clean, there was a dishwasher and utensils to use and three closets in the room which I thought was pretty cool even though we didn't even use them. The staff was nice and the parking attendants were also accommodating There is a vending machine with playing cards and toiletries. That was also impressive to me even though I didn't need any.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Seaport Museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beautifulbee
Business
PA/NJ
Jan 3, 2012

Great Space Great Deal

I was surprised at how large our room was. We had 3 closets and an awesome kitchen. Great room for the weekend with friends. The front desk was very helpful. Not a bad deal for a holiday weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BohoAGogo
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

Nice Friends Vacation

The hotel was centralized to many points of interest. Everything was within a quick walking distance or taxi ride. The train station was very close too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobbynogz
Business
London, UK
Oct 8, 2012

Pretty good hotel

First and most importantly, our room was massive. It was really comfortable and the location of the hotel is ideal. My own gripe with the place was their "complimentary wifi". It was intermittent and appallingly slow. We ended up giving up trying to use it and waited to check emails at places like Subway and McDonalds as they were infinitely better. Then again, I guess that's how the hotel pushes people into their 15 bucks "Business wifi". Rip off!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle aka Candy
Business
Conshohocken, PA
Nov 4, 2012

Bachelorette Party

It was a great space! It was perfect for having a few girls get together hang out and have a great night in Philadelphia!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top