$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

The Windsor Suites

3 stars
View map of 1700 Ben Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Windsor Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
310 out of 310
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mujgan
Business
North Carolina
Jan 25, 2011

Ok place to stay for Step 2 CS

I stayed here for 2 nights with family to take the step 2 CS. The location is great, in the middle of downtown, with museums, restaurants, and other points of interest in easy walking distance. It was especially nice to be only a few blocks from the testing center as there was fresh snow and active freezing rain as I drove to my test. Our room was nice but not excellent. We felt safe and reasonably comfortable. The living area and bathroom were fairly average size for a hotel, but there were two enormous walk-in closets and a stove top, neither of which was much use to us. Much of the furniture had damage, the provided cups were not clean, and the heater was old and temperamental. The bathroom fixtures looked new and we had a nice view of the church across the street. The parking is expensive (like $30 a day) but that includes unlimited in-and-out privileges. No breakfast provided but a breakfast voucher for the pub is available for $10. Overall, it was as good a price:value ratio as anywhere else I've stayed in Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 21, 2010

Great location!

Loved the location of this hotel. Walking distance to a lot of things in Philly - art museum, Franklin art institute, city hall, etc. As a bonus for tourists, the Philly bus tour has a stop right on the opposite side of the street from the hotel. You can park once and take public transit for the rest of the trip. Parking is a bit expensive, though. The nicest thing about our hotel was the renovated bathroom. The rest of the room was a bit older. However, it was still comfortable and a decent place to stay. The bar at the bottom of the hotel can get pretty loud, so I'd ask to get a room towards the top of the hotel, rather than above the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the philly traveler
Business
Milledgeville, GA
Jan 1, 2011

"My stay at the Windsor"

The hotel room spacious, yet this one female hotel clerk was not friendly especially to African American guests. She was African Ameican. I would have enjoyed my stay more if her attitude was better. Also, I did not like the idea of the hotel taking $50 off of my credit card for amenities and having to wait up to 14 days for it to go back on my card. I did not use any of the amenities at all. I don't think I will visit this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maryland
Jul 23, 2009

a okay stay

typical hotel. a little overpriced. mold on the shower curtain, no exhaust fan in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2009

Fine Hotel w Some Rough Edges

Outstanding employees - friendly, engaging, gracious. Invited me to upgrade my room for a modest price. I was glad that I did. The room was quite lovely except it didn't seem evident how to regulate the temperature. The desk chair was inoperable and shabby. Although these are two minor points, they are important to note as the rooms are a bit dated in appearance. No hair dryer in bathroom, but they did have free internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Balerina
Business
New York, NY
Jan 20, 2010

Great location

The hotel is at a great spot, close to all attractions. The rooms were old and some of equipment also. The bathroom was renovated so that was a good quality. We got upgraded to a nice one bedroom suite but the kitchen cabinets were old and there was no filter for the coffee machine. Otherwise, the amenities in the room were great. We had two double beds in the bedroom and a couch that opens up and becomes another bed. Flat screen TVs in both rooms. The room was clean and well taken care of. Overall, the hotel has a great location and that made up for everything else. There is also a bar and a restaurant in the hotel so you can never be bored.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 28, 2010

a little disappointed

I chose this hotel because it was a decent price to split amongst three people and because I thought there was an indoor pool, perhaps I can't read. There is only an outdoor pool that is only open from Memorial Day to Labor Day. I was very disappointed. I paid about 30 dollars for parking, my receipt said 31.01 but when I got home I checked my bank account and I had a charge of 81.01 so I called the hotel to ask about this and turns out the extra 50 dollars they took out was an "incidental fee" which they said would be back into my account within 14 days, I don't remember reading this anywhere. I am usually careful to read fine print when I commit to things but i guess I did not read enough. I've never booked a hotel before and am just finding out now that all hotels have an "incidental fee" so if anyone else is in the same boat, be aware. Other than that, the hotel was very clean, there was a dishwasher and utensils to use and three closets in the room which I thought was pretty cool even though we didn't even use them. The staff was nice and the parking attendants were also accommodating There is a vending machine with playing cards and toiletries. That was also impressive to me even though I didn't need any.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Seaport Museum

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jun 20, 2010

Good Hotel

The check-in team were very friendly. The room was recently renovated and nicely appointed. I've stayed here before and I found the same problem - a lack of attention to details. Newly renovated bathroom but sink stopper didn't work. No ice bucket. No pen on desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
raliegh, nc
Apr 13, 2010

good place , in the center of it all

price was good , was able to have access to all of downtown attractions. We walked approx. five miles touring and picture taking. Staff was very professional and helpful with directions . Great selection of restaurants in surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

wear correct shoes , there is a tremendous amount of events to visit , a lot of history in this city.

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern, NJ
Apr 11, 2010

Perfect for families with food allergies

Large, clean studio room with a kitchen. Close to the major museums, like the Franklin Institute. Friendly, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top