$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Windsor Suites

3 stars
1700 Ben Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
228 reviews
July 4th

We had a great stay and the pool was a nice treat. Thanks for a great wkend! See full review

  • Magz333
  • Jul 7, 2014
Awesome!

All suites hotel, with big rooms, fitness room open 24 hours near the love park. Staff very kind as... See full review

  • Saurio
  • Jul 4, 2014
Style your Philly vacation your way with the apart-hotel at The Windsor Suites Hotel Philadelphia. Continental-style terraces greet you outside, and once you've checked into your own city-facing balcony (selected rooms), views of nearby City Hall are yours to enjoy. There are even extended-stay openings and unfurnished suites if you need a temporary home in the city. The suite-style rooms feature refrigerators, ovens and dishwashers, for those who wish to fix their own meals.  Or guests can dine downstairs at the Irish-style pub, Con Murphy's, for some robust traditional dishes. Those feeling more active can try a few open-air laps in the rooftop pool (seasonal opening).
Key facts
  • Fully-equipped kitchens
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Free newspaper
  • In-room dining areas
  • Seasonal rooftop pool
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Laundry facilities available on most floors
  • 2 restaurants: Con Murphy's Irish Pub, Asia on the Parkway
  • Business center
  • Same-day dry cleaning service
  • 1,897-square-feet of meeting space
Neighborhood
Situated in the main focal point of Philadelphia, the Center City neighborhood, the hotel is walking distance from the Pennsylvania Convention Center for attendees, as well as local attractions like the Franklin Institute, with its fun interactive museum and Planetarium. While staying at the Windsor Suites, you'll only be 20 minutes from Philadelphia International Airport (PHL), and the Amtrak 30th Street Station is less than a mile from the property.
Hints and tips
If you need to rent a car upon arrival, guests can receive a special discount for the on-site rental provider – just make your interest known during the check-in process.

It's also fine to leave your vehicle on the hotel premises until 6:00pm your day of departure, without incurring any additional charges; useful for those still exploring before catching a flight.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9559 -75.1678
Area served
Philadelphia.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport(PHL) - 8 miles.
Area description
Philadelphia Free Library - across the street, Academy of Natural Sciences - 4 blocks, Franklin Institute Science Museum - 5 blocks, Philadelphia Museum Of Art - 5 blocks, Pennsylvania Convention Center - 6 blocks, Rodin Museum - 0.5 mile, Independence Visitor Center - 1 mile, Independence Hall/Liberty Bell - 1 mile, Betsy Ross House - 2 miles, Philadelphia Zoo - 2.5 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Windsor Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Windsor Suites Rooms

Studio Suite
Room with two double beds includes armchair and ottoman, dining area, desk with rolling chair. Voice mail, in-room safe, complimentary high-speed internet access, kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/teamaker, cookware, cable/satellite TV, premium TV channels.
Studio Suite
Room with one queen bed includes armchair and ottoman, dining area, desk with rolling chair. Voice mail, in-room safe, complimentary high-speed internet access, kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/teamaker, cookware, cable/satellite TV, premium TV channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.9 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Dining

Asia on the Parkway
This restaurant serves authentic Asian dishes. Daily lunch and dinner.
Con Murphy's Irish Pub
Cozy and welcoming, Con Murphy's Irish Pub located inside The Windsor Suites is the perfect spot to sit down for a delicious dinner or to relax over a drink at the bar. Open early at 6:30 am every weekday, guests can enjoy a full breakfast menu including omelets, pancakes, and even a traditional Irish breakfast. At lunch time, Con Murphy's has a wide selection of sandwiches and salads as well as heartier fare. For dinner, you can choose from Guinness beef stew, shepherd's pie, or grilled New York strip steak as well as other classic pub food and homemade desserts. On weekends a special brunch menu is offered from 10 am to 1 pm, the perfect way to start your Saturday or Sunday. Con Murphy's offers a full bar with a top-notch selection of Irish whisky and scotch and seasonal cocktails to make for a special evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (228)

Ratings and reviews for The Windsor Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
228 out of 228
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jun 9, 2010

A disaster

When I got there they told me they had overbooked and could not give me a room even though I had paid for it in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PHLtraveler
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 28, 2011

What's that smell?

I stayed at this hotel last week due to its prime location in Center City and the beautiful pictures on the website. My first surprise upon entering my "suite" is that it was not a suite at all. It was a standard hotel room with a kitchen. To me, a suite includes a separated bedroom. In this case, the beds were within earshot of the kitchen. The kitchen was in terrible shape with broken and chipped cabinets -- not exactly like the pictures show. We awoke in the morning to a gurgling sound from the kitchen sink. We walked over to find liquid flowing out of the drain like a fountain -- smelling like sewage!! We called and they sent a maintenance guy up to the room, who asked us "What did you do?" Not exactly the customer service we expected -- we didn't even use the sink! Luckily, we checked out that morning. We told the story to the front desk and they didn't offer anything. Upon my pushing that they might want to offer us a refund, they told me that they wouldn't give a refund, but would give a voucher for a one-night stay at that hotel in the future... as if I'd ever stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Girls Get Together
NY
Jun 22, 2010

Wouldn't recommend this hotel!!!!

Great location.... but suffered with the bugs in my room. Had they in my bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Mar 3, 2009

Would not recommend this hotel

My room lacked the basics - a proper heating system, internet service and a working iron. I was moved to a second room that had the same problems. The staff did not seem concerned about fixing the problems in a timely manner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MilitaryMom
Business
Elizabeth, NJ
Jul 18, 2009

Nope, not again

Not again! I Booked this hotel because of location and booked it again because I was coming back in a couple of days. This is a great example that pricy does not mean nicy! I walked in late and wanted to shower and go to sleep for work in the morning. I liked the bathroom and the decor but as soon as I laid down the bed was not comfortable and at 1030 my bed started rocking!! The walls are like mobile trailer walls and the bed is attached to the wall so when your neighbor rocks the bed, so does yours! The picture frame on the wall over the bed was bouncing off the walls and I thought it was going to fall on my head. Then they were slamming doors and scratching the walls, it was crazy I wanted out. The desk lady sent me a key to another room and it was a handicapp room that was a lot more spacious and nicer than the regular rooms. I laid down and even the bed was more comforatble, I slept like a baby. [...] I paid my $25 cancellation fee and booked another hotel for the next following days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kittanning, PA
Jul 17, 2011

Great area, but concierge damaged car!

This trip to Philly was our first. The hotel was in a great location, within walking distance to the Franklin Institute, Eastern State Penn, and all things historic. Once we parked our car Wednesday, we didn't see it again until we left on Saturday. There are three restaurants right at the entrance of the hotel, which was nice after walking all day. The pool wasn't huge, but it was well kept. We had two major problems. One (semi major, I guess) was that we decided last minute to take our niece, and a cot for her was an extra 20$ per night. The other, was the concierge dented our car fairly badly, and hoped we didn't see it until after we left. Guess what? We didn't notice until we got to our next destination, and now its too late to turn it in. Its a huge disappointment, considering there is absolutely no way they weren't aware that it happened. Its too big of a dent and too big of a fix to not feel it happening or alert us after it did happen. Guess they got that over on us. We paid around 85 dollars on top of our room to park there, and now a trip to the repair shop on our dime. For that alone, we can't recommend it or go back. Its a shame that there aren't honest companies anymore that admit mistakes, especially when its understandable. But dishonesty is not high on our list of revisits. Too bad, it could have been lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take comfy shoes. Many things within walking distance.

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stairmaster
new york
Apr 6, 2013

disappointed

my wife booked this hotel and it was her understanding that the stay came with a continental breakfast (which it didn't.) Also, she understood that there was free parking (which ended up totaling 76$ for two nights!) Oh well, live and learn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is a good 20 minute walk to any of the historic areas, and it is a walk better concluded before evening or dark.

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy mama
Burlington, NJ
Feb 7, 2011

Gross.

The room was ok. But the bed had a HUGE pit in the center.The walls are paper thin. No hot water the 2nd morning. I won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jersey, U.K.
Aug 10, 2010

Average at best

Small lobby and elevators. Called down to the front desk one evening and was put on hold for over five minutes. When I called back, I was put directly on hold and no one called back. $30 a day extra for parking, and $9 per person for a breakfast voucher at the pub on the first floor. Not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MASSIVE TOOL
Business
USA
Jun 3, 2013

Windsor Suite Overview as of 6/02/13

My visit to Windsor suites was both good and bad. The amenities at the windsor suites are excellent, spacious rooms with full kitchens in every room. I was attending a convention and the location was perfectly located to be within walking distance of the convention center. The Room was very clean, the Air Condition needs to be worked on. The security of the rooms did bother me, the bar lock was semi-functional. The staff is hit and miss, the desk staff were not as helpful as I would have liked; however the bell men tend to be very helpful. Parking at the hotel was a Nightmare. The overall Value is negated by the problem with parking. When you park at the hotel, you are required to have it valet parked, after having your car valet parked getting your car back is a bit of a pain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

if you like Irish food Con Murphy's is very good.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search