$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

The Windsor Suites

3 stars
1700 Ben Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
204 reviews
A M A Z I N G !!!!!

This was an amazing deal and I'm glad to have had an opportunity to use it!!!! The staff was very... See full review

  • BOTTOMDOLLAR
  • Mar 2, 2014
Why does thus hotel not gave more stars?!!

I have no idea why this place doesn't have better reviews. I loved it! The price was super... See full review

  • Diana from Vegas
  • Feb 27, 2014
Comfort and convenience at Center City all-suites non-smoking hotel
The Windsor Suites is an all-suites hotel with apartment-style accommodations and is also home to private residents. This non-smoking hotel is a popular choice for families and extended-stay travelers seeking more spacious accommodations and a convenient Center City location. The hotel provides a range of services and amenities, including a 24-hour fitness facility, a seasonal rooftop pool and a sundeck, complimentary high-speed Internet access, a laundry facility on every floor, and a 24-hour concierge desk.
Highlights:
  • Rooftop pool 24 stories up offers great city views
  • All-suites hotel includes separate living and bedroom spaces and fully equipped kitchens
  • Hotel amenities include free high-speed Internet, a laundry facility on every floor, and a 24-hour fitness center
  • Non-smoking facility
Rooms:

Rooms at Windsor Suites include two double beds or one queen bed, a separate living area and a large, fully-equipped kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/tea maker, pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. The 200 traditionally decorated suites range in size from 450 to 750 square feet, and most have balconies with city views. The suites also feature work areas and complimentary high-speed Internet access, walk-in closets, and a pull out sofa.

Features:

The Windsor Suites has two on-site restaurants. Con Murphy, an Irish gastropub with 18 beers on tap, serves lunch and dinner daily and breakfast/brunch on the weekends. Asia on the Parkway offers an Asian fusion menu for lunch and dinner daily.

 

Located in Philadelphia's museum district, Windsor Suites is a short walk to the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the Franklin Institute of Science and the Academy of Natural Sciences.

Transportation:
  • SEPTA Subway Suburban Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (8.1 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Franklin Institute of Science (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Academy of Natural Sciences (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • University of Pennsylvania (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Historic District (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (7 mi/11.3 km)
Business:
  • Multiple small meeting rooms
  • Event planners
  • Catering services
  • Guest amenities center, with computers, printer, and Internet access
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Audio/visual equipment and technical support
  • Same-day dry cleaning
Policies and Fees:
  • Valet Parking is on a per-night basis up to 6 p.m.; additional charges apply for parking after 6 p.m. on departure day
  • The Windsor Suites will require a valid credit card to be presented upon check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Windsor Suites Rooms

Studio Suite
Room with two double beds includes armchair and ottoman, dining area, desk with rolling chair. Voice mail, in-room safe, complimentary high-speed internet access, kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/teamaker, cookware, cable/satellite TV, premium TV channels.
Studio Suite
Room with one queen bed includes armchair and ottoman, dining area, desk with rolling chair. Voice mail, in-room safe, complimentary high-speed internet access, kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/teamaker, cookware, cable/satellite TV, premium TV channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Windsor Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9559 -75.1678
Area served
Philadelphia.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport(PHL) - 8 miles.
Area description
Philadelphia Free Library - across the street, Academy of Natural Sciences - 4 blocks, Franklin Institute Science Museum - 5 blocks, Philadelphia Museum Of Art - 5 blocks, Pennsylvania Convention Center - 6 blocks, Rodin Museum - 0.5 mile, Independence Visitor Center - 1 mile, Independence Hall/Liberty Bell - 1 mile, Betsy Ross House - 2 miles, Philadelphia Zoo - 2.5 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.9 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Dining

Asia on the Parkway
This restaurant serves authentic Asian dishes. Daily lunch and dinner.
Con Murphy's Irish Pub
Cozy and welcoming, Con Murphy's Irish Pub located inside The Windsor Suites is the perfect spot to sit down for a delicious dinner or to relax over a drink at the bar. Open early at 6:30 am every weekday, guests can enjoy a full breakfast menu including omelets, pancakes, and even a traditional Irish breakfast. At lunch time, Con Murphy's has a wide selection of sandwiches and salads as well as heartier fare. For dinner, you can choose from Guinness beef stew, shepherd's pie, or grilled New York strip steak as well as other classic pub food and homemade desserts. On weekends a special brunch menu is offered from 10 am to 1 pm, the perfect way to start your Saturday or Sunday. Con Murphy's offers a full bar with a top-notch selection of Irish whisky and scotch and seasonal cocktails to make for a special evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for The Windsor Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
204 out of 204
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

1
PHLtraveler
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Oct 28, 2011

What's that smell?

I stayed at this hotel last week due to its prime location in Center City and the beautiful pictures on the website. My first surprise upon entering my "suite" is that it was not a suite at all. It was a standard hotel room with a kitchen. To me, a suite includes a separated bedroom. In this case, the beds were within earshot of the kitchen. The kitchen was in terrible shape with broken and chipped cabinets -- not exactly like the pictures show. We awoke in the morning to a gurgling sound from the kitchen sink. We walked over to find liquid flowing out of the drain like a fountain -- smelling like sewage!! We called and they sent a maintenance guy up to the room, who asked us "What did you do?" Not exactly the customer service we expected -- we didn't even use the sink! Luckily, we checked out that morning. We told the story to the front desk and they didn't offer anything. Upon my pushing that they might want to offer us a refund, they told me that they wouldn't give a refund, but would give a voucher for a one-night stay at that hotel in the future... as if I'd ever stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

1
MilitaryMom
Business
Elizabeth, NJ
Jul 18, 2009

Nope, not again

Not again! I Booked this hotel because of location and booked it again because I was coming back in a couple of days. This is a great example that pricy does not mean nicy! I walked in late and wanted to shower and go to sleep for work in the morning. I liked the bathroom and the decor but as soon as I laid down the bed was not comfortable and at 1030 my bed started rocking!! The walls are like mobile trailer walls and the bed is attached to the wall so when your neighbor rocks the bed, so does yours! The picture frame on the wall over the bed was bouncing off the walls and I thought it was going to fall on my head. Then they were slamming doors and scratching the walls, it was crazy I wanted out. The desk lady sent me a key to another room and it was a handicapp room that was a lot more spacious and nicer than the regular rooms. I laid down and even the bed was more comforatble, I slept like a baby. [...] I paid my $25 cancellation fee and booked another hotel for the next following days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
New York
Jun 9, 2010

A disaster

When I got there they told me they had overbooked and could not give me a room even though I had paid for it in advance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Kittanning, PA
Jul 17, 2011

Great area, but concierge damaged car!

This trip to Philly was our first. The hotel was in a great location, within walking distance to the Franklin Institute, Eastern State Penn, and all things historic. Once we parked our car Wednesday, we didn't see it again until we left on Saturday. There are three restaurants right at the entrance of the hotel, which was nice after walking all day. The pool wasn't huge, but it was well kept. We had two major problems. One (semi major, I guess) was that we decided last minute to take our niece, and a cot for her was an extra 20$ per night. The other, was the concierge dented our car fairly badly, and hoped we didn't see it until after we left. Guess what? We didn't notice until we got to our next destination, and now its too late to turn it in. Its a huge disappointment, considering there is absolutely no way they weren't aware that it happened. Its too big of a dent and too big of a fix to not feel it happening or alert us after it did happen. Guess they got that over on us. We paid around 85 dollars on top of our room to park there, and now a trip to the repair shop on our dime. For that alone, we can't recommend it or go back. Its a shame that there aren't honest companies anymore that admit mistakes, especially when its understandable. But dishonesty is not high on our list of revisits. Too bad, it could have been lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take comfy shoes. Many things within walking distance.

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

1
Girls Get Together
NY
Jun 22, 2010

Wouldn't recommend this hotel!!!!

Great location.... but suffered with the bugs in my room. Had they in my bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Mar 3, 2009

Would not recommend this hotel

My room lacked the basics - a proper heating system, internet service and a working iron. I was moved to a second room that had the same problems. The staff did not seem concerned about fixing the problems in a timely manner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

2
stairmaster
new york
Apr 6, 2013

disappointed

my wife booked this hotel and it was her understanding that the stay came with a continental breakfast (which it didn't.) Also, she understood that there was free parking (which ended up totaling 76$ for two nights!) Oh well, live and learn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is a good 20 minute walk to any of the historic areas, and it is a walk better concluded before evening or dark.

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

2
Unhappy mama
Burlington, NJ
Feb 7, 2011

Gross.

The room was ok. But the bed had a HUGE pit in the center.The walls are paper thin. No hot water the 2nd morning. I won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

2
MASSIVE TOOL
Business
USA
Jun 3, 2013

Windsor Suite Overview as of 6/02/13

My visit to Windsor suites was both good and bad. The amenities at the windsor suites are excellent, spacious rooms with full kitchens in every room. I was attending a convention and the location was perfectly located to be within walking distance of the convention center. The Room was very clean, the Air Condition needs to be worked on. The security of the rooms did bother me, the bar lock was semi-functional. The staff is hit and miss, the desk staff were not as helpful as I would have liked; however the bell men tend to be very helpful. Parking at the hotel was a Nightmare. The overall Value is negated by the problem with parking. When you park at the hotel, you are required to have it valet parked, after having your car valet parked getting your car back is a bit of a pain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

if you like Irish food Con Murphy's is very good.

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
USA
Aug 14, 2007

Great Location, Great Price

My sister and I recently enjoyed a one-night stay at the Hotel Windsor in downtown Philadelphia. Our first impression of our suite was good. The suite was well-appointed with a dishwasher (stainless steel inside), a gas stove, new refrigerator, sink, coffee maker, built-in microwave and a toaster. Pots, pans, plates and utensils were all included. The spacious front window afforded us a breathtaking view of St. Peter and Paul Basilica and the fountain in the square. I was perplexed to find that the water service in the hotel was to be sporatic for a few hours during our first day. The bathroom was a work in progress (although affording us a large walk-in closet). The hot water in our bath tub did not work - as a matter of fact, a plumber would have been required in order to figure out how to work the numerous knobs and valves - we washed up in the sink. The bathroom was spacious, but the tiles were coming up and the toilet seat was not fastened on one side. There were some drywall issues in the bathroom as well (newly installed and not entirely painted). The free breakfast consisted of standing in line to cook your own waffle (which we did not do). Overall, the room was surprisingly nice for the price we paid. It was perfectly located for our plans and the staff was very accomodating. This hotel was great for a short stay, but I would opt for a more expensive hotel along the parkway for a longer trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The Art Museum and Rodin Museum are close by. The walk is beautiful; the fountain in the square, parks and statuary. Go to the Art Museum and watch all of the tourists run up the stairs (like Rocky) while trying to tape themselves with video cameras. A mirthful way to begin your art tour!

Back to menu Return to top