$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

The Windsor Suites

3 stars
1700 Ben Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
341 reviews
July 4th

We had a great stay and the pool was a nice treat. Thanks for a great wkend! See full review

  • Magz333
  • Jul 7, 2014
Awesome!

All suites hotel, with big rooms, fitness room open 24 hours near the love park. Staff very kind as... See full review

  • Saurio
  • Jul 4, 2014
Style your Philly vacation your way with the apart-hotel at The Windsor Suites Hotel Philadelphia. Continental-style terraces greet you outside, and once you've checked into your own city-facing balcony (selected rooms), views of nearby City Hall are yours to enjoy. There are even extended-stay openings and unfurnished suites if you need a temporary home in the city. The suite-style rooms feature refrigerators, ovens and dishwashers, for those who wish to fix their own meals.  Or guests can dine downstairs at the Irish-style pub, Con Murphy's, for some robust traditional dishes. Those feeling more active can try a few open-air laps in the rooftop pool (seasonal opening).
Key facts
  • Fully-equipped kitchens
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Free newspaper
  • In-room dining areas
  • Seasonal rooftop pool
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Laundry facilities available on most floors
  • 2 restaurants: Con Murphy's Irish Pub, Asia on the Parkway
  • Business center
  • Same-day dry cleaning service
  • 1,897-square-feet of meeting space
Neighborhood
Situated in the main focal point of Philadelphia, the Center City neighborhood, the hotel is walking distance from the Pennsylvania Convention Center for attendees, as well as local attractions like the Franklin Institute, with its fun interactive museum and Planetarium. While staying at the Windsor Suites, you'll only be 20 minutes from Philadelphia International Airport (PHL), and the Amtrak 30th Street Station is less than a mile from the property.
Hints and tips
If you need to rent a car upon arrival, guests can receive a special discount for the on-site rental provider – just make your interest known during the check-in process.

It's also fine to leave your vehicle on the hotel premises until 6:00pm your day of departure, without incurring any additional charges; useful for those still exploring before catching a flight.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Windsor Suites Rooms

Studio Suite
Room with two double beds includes armchair and ottoman, dining area, desk with rolling chair. Voice mail, in-room safe, complimentary high-speed internet access, kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/teamaker, cookware, cable/satellite TV, premium TV channels.
Studio Suite
Room with one queen bed includes armchair and ottoman, dining area, desk with rolling chair. Voice mail, in-room safe, complimentary high-speed internet access, kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/teamaker, cookware, cable/satellite TV, premium TV channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Windsor Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9559 -75.1678
Area served
Philadelphia.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport(PHL) - 8 miles.
Area description
Philadelphia Free Library - across the street, Academy of Natural Sciences - 4 blocks, Franklin Institute Science Museum - 5 blocks, Philadelphia Museum Of Art - 5 blocks, Pennsylvania Convention Center - 6 blocks, Rodin Museum - 0.5 mile, Independence Visitor Center - 1 mile, Independence Hall/Liberty Bell - 1 mile, Betsy Ross House - 2 miles, Philadelphia Zoo - 2.5 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.9 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Dining

Asia on the Parkway
This restaurant serves authentic Asian dishes. Daily lunch and dinner.
Con Murphy's Irish Pub
Cozy and welcoming, Con Murphy's Irish Pub located inside The Windsor Suites is the perfect spot to sit down for a delicious dinner or to relax over a drink at the bar. Open early at 6:30 am every weekday, guests can enjoy a full breakfast menu including omelets, pancakes, and even a traditional Irish breakfast. At lunch time, Con Murphy's has a wide selection of sandwiches and salads as well as heartier fare. For dinner, you can choose from Guinness beef stew, shepherd's pie, or grilled New York strip steak as well as other classic pub food and homemade desserts. On weekends a special brunch menu is offered from 10 am to 1 pm, the perfect way to start your Saturday or Sunday. Con Murphy's offers a full bar with a top-notch selection of Irish whisky and scotch and seasonal cocktails to make for a special evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (341)

Ratings and reviews for The Windsor Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
341 out of 341
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orls
SF Ca
Oct 8, 2013

Really great rooms for families

Perfect location between Museums and Shopping! Kitchenette!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
McMary1313
Illinois
Oct 3, 2013

A nice hotel

Nice big room that comes with a kitchen, a great bed, nice view and clean. It was reasonably priced and close to most of the museums. Just a nice place to stay. The location was nice especially if you are going to the museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LSW1
FOrt Worth, TX
Oct 1, 2013

Great Location

Suite with full size kitchen. Room was clean. Housekeeping was fair-had to constantly call asking for towels, coffee maker that worked, malfunctioning microwave. But did respond once called.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I give up on a nickname
AZ
Sep 29, 2013

rang the liberty bell

good location, quite room, you do not need a car, if so Hertz is next door

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

about 10 minute down 17th ST, Little Pete

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spades McAlister
New Mexico
Sep 26, 2013

Good home base/home away from home in Center City

Staff was always friendly, polite, professional, and helpful. Clean rooms in older high-rise, modernized, but not trendy. Great beds! Room good sized, with fully-equipped kitchen. Nice, north-facing view of City Hall or Parkway with balcony upgrade. Rooftop pool looked nice, but locked-up after Labor Day :( You don't need a car! Very good location; short walk to Rittenhouse Sq., SEPTA, stores, museums. Everything you need either at the hotel or nearby stores. Airport to hotel is about 25 min by SEPTA (Suburban Station 3 Block walk $8.50) or shuttle ($10 per person).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Asia On The Parkway Restaurant downstairs has very good Chinese/Thai food. DiBruno Bros. (down 17th 5 blocks, right on Chestnut) is a great (but pricey) gourmet grocer and lunch spot where you can stock the kitchen in your room with classy grub. It's also a cheese-lover's Mecca, with free samples for the asking. Hit the state wine and liquor store on the walk back to the room, and you're set for a romantic night in. Beer lovers should check-out Monk's Cafe for Belgian beers + mussels.

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Becca I
New York
Sep 1, 2013

Wonderful couple get away

My boyfriend and I both enjoyed our stay and especially liked the kitchen in our room. The location was great, we were close to alot of attraction sites and the staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Windsor Newbie
Puerto Rico
Aug 27, 2013

A for effort

The vintage feel and character of the property was excellent. The staff was very accomodating, and for this, I give them an A for effort. The downside for me; In three room changes I could notice the "recycling" of older materials/furniture/fixtures y an attempt to, I guess, save money in the updating. BTW, stay away from Con Murphy's. Tried it once, bland food. On the second chance, I decided they needed a new cook. Regardless of what I didn't like, the staff won me over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

It's far from anything I wanted to take advantage of while visiting Phila.

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tamaderkmt
Houston
Aug 1, 2013

Good location

Museums, city hall, rail station, restaurants, business area, all are in walking distance. Spacious room with kitchen, cheaper than hotels nearby, very impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Rodin museum, Barnes museum (foundation), Franklin Institute, City hall , Rittenhouse Square

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bev Happy Traveler
Grove City, PA
Jul 29, 2013

The staff

My husband and I stayed at the Windsor in 2009. I liked the location because all the major sightseeing spots are within walking distance. My friend and I decided to visit this year and booked with Windsor again. I was very pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of our room. But I would like to give a shout-out to the hotel's staff. Everyone was very helpful, from giving information to offering me a towel when I walked in during a serious rain storm. I really can't say enough about the people who work there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch the Phlash trolley. It's $2 a ride and runs from the museum loop to Penn's Landing. We jumped on several times and our feet appreciated the rest.

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philly HalfMarathonRunner
Baltimore
Jun 12, 2013

Fantastic!!!

This was my first trip to Philadephia and I couldn't be more pleased with my hotel choice. I loved the warm welcoming provided by staff members, the hotel was clean and I felt as if I were home. I would definetly stay here again in the event I found myself back in the Philly area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A small out of the way restaurant called Osteria. One of the BEST italian places I have ever been too.

Back to menu Return to top