$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

The Windsor Suites

3 stars
1700 Ben Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
204 reviews
A M A Z I N G !!!!!

This was an amazing deal and I'm glad to have had an opportunity to use it!!!! The staff was very... See full review

  • BOTTOMDOLLAR
  • Mar 2, 2014
Why does thus hotel not gave more stars?!!

I have no idea why this place doesn't have better reviews. I loved it! The price was super... See full review

  • Diana from Vegas
  • Feb 27, 2014
Comfort and convenience at Center City all-suites non-smoking hotel
The Windsor Suites is an all-suites hotel with apartment-style accommodations and is also home to private residents. This non-smoking hotel is a popular choice for families and extended-stay travelers seeking more spacious accommodations and a convenient Center City location. The hotel provides a range of services and amenities, including a 24-hour fitness facility, a seasonal rooftop pool and a sundeck, complimentary high-speed Internet access, a laundry facility on every floor, and a 24-hour concierge desk.
Highlights:
  • Rooftop pool 24 stories up offers great city views
  • All-suites hotel includes separate living and bedroom spaces and fully equipped kitchens
  • Hotel amenities include free high-speed Internet, a laundry facility on every floor, and a 24-hour fitness center
  • Non-smoking facility
Rooms:

Rooms at Windsor Suites include two double beds or one queen bed, a separate living area and a large, fully-equipped kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/tea maker, pots, pans, dishes, and utensils. The 200 traditionally decorated suites range in size from 450 to 750 square feet, and most have balconies with city views. The suites also feature work areas and complimentary high-speed Internet access, walk-in closets, and a pull out sofa.

Features:

The Windsor Suites has two on-site restaurants. Con Murphy, an Irish gastropub with 18 beers on tap, serves lunch and dinner daily and breakfast/brunch on the weekends. Asia on the Parkway offers an Asian fusion menu for lunch and dinner daily.

 

Located in Philadelphia's museum district, Windsor Suites is a short walk to the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the Franklin Institute of Science and the Academy of Natural Sciences.

Transportation:
  • SEPTA Subway Suburban Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (8.1 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Franklin Institute of Science (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • The Academy of Natural Sciences (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • University of Pennsylvania (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Historic District (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (7 mi/11.3 km)
Business:
  • Multiple small meeting rooms
  • Event planners
  • Catering services
  • Guest amenities center, with computers, printer, and Internet access
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Audio/visual equipment and technical support
  • Same-day dry cleaning
Policies and Fees:
  • Valet Parking is on a per-night basis up to 6 p.m.; additional charges apply for parking after 6 p.m. on departure day
  • The Windsor Suites will require a valid credit card to be presented upon check-in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Windsor Suites Rooms

Studio Suite
Room with two double beds includes armchair and ottoman, dining area, desk with rolling chair. Voice mail, in-room safe, complimentary high-speed internet access, kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/teamaker, cookware, cable/satellite TV, premium TV channels.
Studio Suite
Room with one queen bed includes armchair and ottoman, dining area, desk with rolling chair. Voice mail, in-room safe, complimentary high-speed internet access, kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/teamaker, cookware, cable/satellite TV, premium TV channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Windsor Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9559 -75.1678
Area served
Philadelphia.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport(PHL) - 8 miles.
Area description
Philadelphia Free Library - across the street, Academy of Natural Sciences - 4 blocks, Franklin Institute Science Museum - 5 blocks, Philadelphia Museum Of Art - 5 blocks, Pennsylvania Convention Center - 6 blocks, Rodin Museum - 0.5 mile, Independence Visitor Center - 1 mile, Independence Hall/Liberty Bell - 1 mile, Betsy Ross House - 2 miles, Philadelphia Zoo - 2.5 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.9 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Dining

Asia on the Parkway
This restaurant serves authentic Asian dishes. Daily lunch and dinner.
Con Murphy's Irish Pub
Cozy and welcoming, Con Murphy's Irish Pub located inside The Windsor Suites is the perfect spot to sit down for a delicious dinner or to relax over a drink at the bar. Open early at 6:30 am every weekday, guests can enjoy a full breakfast menu including omelets, pancakes, and even a traditional Irish breakfast. At lunch time, Con Murphy's has a wide selection of sandwiches and salads as well as heartier fare. For dinner, you can choose from Guinness beef stew, shepherd's pie, or grilled New York strip steak as well as other classic pub food and homemade desserts. On weekends a special brunch menu is offered from 10 am to 1 pm, the perfect way to start your Saturday or Sunday. Con Murphy's offers a full bar with a top-notch selection of Irish whisky and scotch and seasonal cocktails to make for a special evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for The Windsor Suites

Overall score

3.9 / 5
204 out of 204
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
LSW1
FOrt Worth, TX
Oct 1, 2013

Great Location

Suite with full size kitchen. Room was clean. Housekeeping was fair-had to constantly call asking for towels, coffee maker that worked, malfunctioning microwave. But did respond once called.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
I give up on a nickname
AZ
Sep 29, 2013

rang the liberty bell

good location, quite room, you do not need a car, if so Hertz is next door

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

about 10 minute down 17th ST, Little Pete

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
Spades McAlister
New Mexico
Sep 26, 2013

Good home base/home away from home in Center City

Staff was always friendly, polite, professional, and helpful. Clean rooms in older high-rise, modernized, but not trendy. Great beds! Room good sized, with fully-equipped kitchen. Nice, north-facing view of City Hall or Parkway with balcony upgrade. Rooftop pool looked nice, but locked-up after Labor Day :( You don't need a car! Very good location; short walk to Rittenhouse Sq., SEPTA, stores, museums. Everything you need either at the hotel or nearby stores. Airport to hotel is about 25 min by SEPTA (Suburban Station 3 Block walk $8.50) or shuttle ($10 per person).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Asia On The Parkway Restaurant downstairs has very good Chinese/Thai food. DiBruno Bros. (down 17th 5 blocks, right on Chestnut) is a great (but pricey) gourmet grocer and lunch spot where you can stock the kitchen in your room with classy grub. It's also a cheese-lover's Mecca, with free samples for the asking. Hit the state wine and liquor store on the walk back to the room, and you're set for a romantic night in. Beer lovers should check-out Monk's Cafe for Belgian beers + mussels.

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
Becca I
New York
Sep 1, 2013

Wonderful couple get away

My boyfriend and I both enjoyed our stay and especially liked the kitchen in our room. The location was great, we were close to alot of attraction sites and the staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
The Windsor Newbie
Puerto Rico
Aug 27, 2013

A for effort

The vintage feel and character of the property was excellent. The staff was very accomodating, and for this, I give them an A for effort. The downside for me; In three room changes I could notice the "recycling" of older materials/furniture/fixtures y an attempt to, I guess, save money in the updating. BTW, stay away from Con Murphy's. Tried it once, bland food. On the second chance, I decided they needed a new cook. Regardless of what I didn't like, the staff won me over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

It's far from anything I wanted to take advantage of while visiting Phila.

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
tamaderkmt
Houston
Aug 1, 2013

Good location

Museums, city hall, rail station, restaurants, business area, all are in walking distance. Spacious room with kitchen, cheaper than hotels nearby, very impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Rodin museum, Barnes museum (foundation), Franklin Institute, City hall , Rittenhouse Square

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

5
Bev Happy Traveler
Grove City, PA
Jul 29, 2013

The staff

My husband and I stayed at the Windsor in 2009. I liked the location because all the major sightseeing spots are within walking distance. My friend and I decided to visit this year and booked with Windsor again. I was very pleased with the cleanliness and comfort of our room. But I would like to give a shout-out to the hotel's staff. Everyone was very helpful, from giving information to offering me a towel when I walked in during a serious rain storm. I really can't say enough about the people who work there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch the Phlash trolley. It's $2 a ride and runs from the museum loop to Penn's Landing. We jumped on several times and our feet appreciated the rest.

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

5
Philly HalfMarathonRunner
Baltimore
Jun 12, 2013

Fantastic!!!

This was my first trip to Philadephia and I couldn't be more pleased with my hotel choice. I loved the warm welcoming provided by staff members, the hotel was clean and I felt as if I were home. I would definetly stay here again in the event I found myself back in the Philly area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A small out of the way restaurant called Osteria. One of the BEST italian places I have ever been too.

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

2
MASSIVE TOOL
Business
USA
Jun 3, 2013

Windsor Suite Overview as of 6/02/13

My visit to Windsor suites was both good and bad. The amenities at the windsor suites are excellent, spacious rooms with full kitchens in every room. I was attending a convention and the location was perfectly located to be within walking distance of the convention center. The Room was very clean, the Air Condition needs to be worked on. The security of the rooms did bother me, the bar lock was semi-functional. The staff is hit and miss, the desk staff were not as helpful as I would have liked; however the bell men tend to be very helpful. Parking at the hotel was a Nightmare. The overall Value is negated by the problem with parking. When you park at the hotel, you are required to have it valet parked, after having your car valet parked getting your car back is a bit of a pain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

if you like Irish food Con Murphy's is very good.

Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

5
Curiouser
Westchester county, NY
May 29, 2013

Excellent value in convenient location

This hotel is located right at the edge of the museum district, steps from the Franklin Institute or the Barnes. For less than the price of a room alone in that area, we also got a full kitchen (a necessity for us on this trip). The room was large, clean, with very comfortable beds and a window that opens. The kitchen could've been a little better equipped (more cooking utensils, cleaning supplies, salt and pepper would've been nice), but overall this was a very good deal and we'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top