$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

The Windsor Suites

3 stars
1700 Ben Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
236 reviews
good location

good location. Restaurants were good too. staff very friendly See full review

  • vermonter VT
  • Oct 23, 2014
July 4th

We had a great stay and the pool was a nice treat. Thanks for a great wkend! See full review

  • Magz333
  • Jul 7, 2014
Style your Philly vacation your way with the apart-hotel at The Windsor Suites Hotel Philadelphia. Continental-style terraces greet you outside, and once you've checked into your own city-facing balcony (selected rooms), views of nearby City Hall are yours to enjoy. There are even extended-stay openings and unfurnished suites if you need a temporary home in the city. The suite-style rooms feature refrigerators, ovens and dishwashers, for those who wish to fix their own meals.  Or guests can dine downstairs at the Irish-style pub, Con Murphy's, for some robust traditional dishes. Those feeling more active can try a few open-air laps in the rooftop pool (seasonal opening).
Key facts
  • Fully-equipped kitchens
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Free newspaper
  • In-room dining areas
  • Seasonal rooftop pool
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Laundry facilities available on most floors
  • 2 restaurants: Con Murphy's Irish Pub, Asia on the Parkway
  • Business center
  • Same-day dry cleaning service
  • 1,897-square-feet of meeting space
Neighborhood
Situated in the main focal point of Philadelphia, the Center City neighborhood, the hotel is walking distance from the Pennsylvania Convention Center for attendees, as well as local attractions like the Franklin Institute, with its fun interactive museum and Planetarium. While staying at the Windsor Suites, you'll only be 20 minutes from Philadelphia International Airport (PHL), and the Amtrak 30th Street Station is less than a mile from the property.
Hints and tips
If you need to rent a car upon arrival, guests can receive a special discount for the on-site rental provider – just make your interest known during the check-in process.

It's also fine to leave your vehicle on the hotel premises until 6:00pm your day of departure, without incurring any additional charges; useful for those still exploring before catching a flight.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9559 -75.1678
Area served
Philadelphia.
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport(PHL) - 8 miles.
Area description
Philadelphia Free Library - across the street, Academy of Natural Sciences - 4 blocks, Franklin Institute Science Museum - 5 blocks, Philadelphia Museum Of Art - 5 blocks, Pennsylvania Convention Center - 6 blocks, Rodin Museum - 0.5 mile, Independence Visitor Center - 1 mile, Independence Hall/Liberty Bell - 1 mile, Betsy Ross House - 2 miles, Philadelphia Zoo - 2.5 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Windsor Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Windsor Suites Rooms

Studio Suite
Room with two double beds includes armchair and ottoman, dining area, desk with rolling chair. Voice mail, in-room safe, complimentary high-speed internet access, kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/teamaker, cookware, cable/satellite TV, premium TV channels.
Studio Suite
Room with one queen bed includes armchair and ottoman, dining area, desk with rolling chair. Voice mail, in-room safe, complimentary high-speed internet access, kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/teamaker, cookware, cable/satellite TV, premium TV channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.9 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Dining

Asia on the Parkway
This restaurant serves authentic Asian dishes. Daily lunch and dinner.
Con Murphy's Irish Pub
Cozy and welcoming, Con Murphy's Irish Pub located inside The Windsor Suites is the perfect spot to sit down for a delicious dinner or to relax over a drink at the bar. Open early at 6:30 am every weekday, guests can enjoy a full breakfast menu including omelets, pancakes, and even a traditional Irish breakfast. At lunch time, Con Murphy's has a wide selection of sandwiches and salads as well as heartier fare. For dinner, you can choose from Guinness beef stew, shepherd's pie, or grilled New York strip steak as well as other classic pub food and homemade desserts. On weekends a special brunch menu is offered from 10 am to 1 pm, the perfect way to start your Saturday or Sunday. Con Murphy's offers a full bar with a top-notch selection of Irish whisky and scotch and seasonal cocktails to make for a special evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (236)

Ratings and reviews for The Windsor Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noah Eutro
Business
Massachusetts
Jan 20, 2010

A great value gem!

I flew into PHL and got there by train. The hotel is accessible to 2 train and 1 bus network -- perhaps more. All the staff were nice people. I stayed for 2 nights in a room equipped with a kitchen. The fridge actually has space in it, unlike in other hotels where the fridge is turned into a vending machine. If you're a family on a budget, you'll find that to be a plus. I got food from Trader Joe's and Wawa's during my time there. One thing that bothered me was that the linens contained two long strands of hair -- one brunette, and the other blond. That was a bit gross. From now on, I will leave tip underneath the sheets everywhere I go. The gym was sufficient. If I had known the gym would be good, then I would have brought my gym clothes. The most important thing for me is that this was a non-smoking facility. In summary, the Windsor Suites is a hotel that gives you good accommodations without trying to push additional products down your throat. The facilities are sufficient but not gaudy. The fact that I wasn't pressured to buy something at every turn made it a relaxing environment. If you want to be pampered at exorbitant prices, then this hotel is probably not it. If you want a place to stay that is insulated from the usual commercial muck, then this place is the real deal. I would stay here again if I flew back to Philly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Trader Joe's rocks! But walking down JFK to TJ's is a bit tricky, so go south by one block and THEN proceed to go west. Wawa's is right nearby. If you add a potato salad to the sandwich, make sure they're giving you the combo discount.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Dec 30, 2009

Windson Philadelphia

The suites are very spacious, bathroom was remodeled, flat screen tv, comfy bed. But still need more done in the room (old wallpaper, more tv channels). there is complimentary internet access, which makes things work great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I did not like the nearby restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJR
Business
Chelmsford, MA
Dec 5, 2009

Good Locations for visitng the sites

The Staff were so helpful. They let us check in early and always were helpful when asking for recomendations, directions, etc. Within walking distance of historical district and art museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 23, 2009

very pleasant stay

One of the best stays I've had at not a bad price considering big city, busy weekend, and proximity to everything. Was upgraded to suite but believe regular rooms are also good. Two decent restaurants on premises. Only wired internet in rooms but free wireless in lobby. Would return without hesitation if I could get it in similar price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iron Maiden
Business
Winchester, VA
Nov 20, 2009

Grand Olde Hotel

Beautiful old hotel right in downtown Philly. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Room had a full small kitchen in it which I missed when I booked, so I was plesantly surprised when I opened my door and that made the price I paid a steal! Pool is on roof and was closed, but is small. Drains were very slow and I was on the 7th floor. 31$ for parking is freaking ridiculous but I wanted my car safe, not in an alley. All in all I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Out of hotel, turn right. Walk 1 block, you can turn in either direction and find food, shopping, and fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
musicologist12
Business
NYC
Nov 14, 2009

Great, spacious, nice

Very nice, let us checkin early, huge room, so close and affordaable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Nov 2, 2009

Great value!

Desk staff were very polite and accomodating. Parking is convenient. I love the size of the bathroom and the shower was awesome, there was actually water pressure. All in all, the room was extremely comfortable, it was not confining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Variety of restaurant classes within a few blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
V. Lazaro
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Oct 26, 2009

Wonderful Stay in Philadelphia

The staff was remarkably helpful and courteous throughout our stay. I was traveling with my family which includes a 2 year old and a 10 year old. The room we were assigned was clean and family-friendly. It was spacious (giving the 2 year old plenty of room to play) and even had a mini-kitchen complete with microwave, refrigerator, and a sink. The hotel served a continental breakfast that was a hit with the kids. The staff person assigned to the breakfast room was wonderully accommodating and friendly. All in all, this made for a great getaway in Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Many historical sites to visit in Philadelphia. Most are within walking distance of the central part of the city. But in case you need to use it, the public transportation system is efficient (take the trolley; it winds through every historical site available).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 26, 2009

Fine Hotel w Some Rough Edges

Outstanding employees - friendly, engaging, gracious. Invited me to upgrade my room for a modest price. I was glad that I did. The room was quite lovely except it didn't seem evident how to regulate the temperature. The desk chair was inoperable and shabby. Although these are two minor points, they are important to note as the rooms are a bit dated in appearance. No hair dryer in bathroom, but they did have free internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexancdria, VA
Oct 14, 2009

Great hotel!

Great Room, excellent location and very friendly staff. The room had everything I needed, the location allowed me to site see Philly by foot and the staff helped me with answers to questions and made me feel like a vip guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top