$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 25, 2015 Check-out: Jan 26, 2015

The Windsor Suites

3 stars
1700 Ben Franklin Parkway, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
257 reviews
Spontaneous getaway

I really enjoyed my stay with Windsor Suites. We were immediately greeted as soon as we walked in... See full review

  • Linda C.
  • Jan 17, 2015
Perfect Stay!

I could not be happier with my stay at this hotel! From the moment I pulled in to the parking deck,... See full review

  • Catherine H.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Style your Philly vacation your way with the apart-hotel at The Windsor Suites Hotel Philadelphia. Continental-style terraces greet you outside, and once you've checked into your own city-facing balcony (selected rooms), views of nearby City Hall are yours to enjoy. There are even extended-stay openings and unfurnished suites if you need a temporary home in the city. The suite-style rooms feature refrigerators, ovens and dishwashers, for those who wish to fix their own meals.  Or guests can dine downstairs at the Irish-style pub, Con Murphy's, for some robust traditional dishes. Those feeling more active can try a few open-air laps in the rooftop pool (seasonal opening).
Key facts
  • Fully-equipped kitchens
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi
  • Free newspaper
  • In-room dining areas
  • Seasonal rooftop pool
  • 24-hour fitness center
  • Laundry facilities available on most floors
  • 2 restaurants: Con Murphy's Irish Pub, Asia on the Parkway
  • Business center
  • Same-day dry cleaning service
  • 1,897-square-feet of meeting space
Neighborhood
Situated in the main focal point of Philadelphia, the Center City neighborhood, the hotel is walking distance from the Pennsylvania Convention Center for attendees, as well as local attractions like the Franklin Institute, with its fun interactive museum and Planetarium. While staying at the Windsor Suites, you'll only be 20 minutes from Philadelphia International Airport (PHL), and the Amtrak 30th Street Station is less than a mile from the property.
Hints and tips
If you need to rent a car upon arrival, guests can receive a special discount for the on-site rental provider – just make your interest known during the check-in process.

It's also fine to leave your vehicle on the hotel premises until 6:00pm your day of departure, without incurring any additional charges; useful for those still exploring before catching a flight.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Windsor Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Windsor Suites Rooms

Studio Suite
Room with two double beds includes armchair and ottoman, dining area, desk with rolling chair. Voice mail, in-room safe, complimentary high-speed internet access, kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/teamaker, cookware, cable/satellite TV, premium TV channels.
Studio Suite
Room with one queen bed includes armchair and ottoman, dining area, desk with rolling chair. Voice mail, in-room safe, complimentary high-speed internet access, kitchen with full-sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, dishwasher, coffee/teamaker, cookware, cable/satellite TV, premium TV channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.3 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 0.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.8 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 9.9 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Dining

Asia on the Parkway
This restaurant serves authentic Asian dishes. Daily lunch and dinner.
Con Murphy's Irish Pub
Cozy and welcoming, Con Murphy's Irish Pub located inside The Windsor Suites is the perfect spot to sit down for a delicious dinner or to relax over a drink at the bar. Open early at 6:30 am every weekday, guests can enjoy a full breakfast menu including omelets, pancakes, and even a traditional Irish breakfast. At lunch time, Con Murphy's has a wide selection of sandwiches and salads as well as heartier fare. For dinner, you can choose from Guinness beef stew, shepherd's pie, or grilled New York strip steak as well as other classic pub food and homemade desserts. On weekends a special brunch menu is offered from 10 am to 1 pm, the perfect way to start your Saturday or Sunday. Con Murphy's offers a full bar with a top-notch selection of Irish whisky and scotch and seasonal cocktails to make for a special evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (257)

Ratings and reviews for The Windsor Suites

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
257 out of 257
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
Dec 30, 2009

Windson Philadelphia

The suites are very spacious, bathroom was remodeled, flat screen tv, comfy bed. But still need more done in the room (old wallpaper, more tv channels). there is complimentary internet access, which makes things work great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I did not like the nearby restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CJR
Business
Chelmsford, MA
Dec 5, 2009

Good Locations for visitng the sites

The Staff were so helpful. They let us check in early and always were helpful when asking for recomendations, directions, etc. Within walking distance of historical district and art museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Nov 2, 2009

Great value!

Desk staff were very polite and accomodating. Parking is convenient. I love the size of the bathroom and the shower was awesome, there was actually water pressure. All in all, the room was extremely comfortable, it was not confining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Variety of restaurant classes within a few blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 25, 2010

Lovely place

my trip was quite fantastic. Thanks to the Widsor Suite. I hope the check in time policy would change though. I was unable to check in before 3pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noah Eutro
Business
Massachusetts
Jan 20, 2010

A great value gem!

I flew into PHL and got there by train. The hotel is accessible to 2 train and 1 bus network -- perhaps more. All the staff were nice people. I stayed for 2 nights in a room equipped with a kitchen. The fridge actually has space in it, unlike in other hotels where the fridge is turned into a vending machine. If you're a family on a budget, you'll find that to be a plus. I got food from Trader Joe's and Wawa's during my time there. One thing that bothered me was that the linens contained two long strands of hair -- one brunette, and the other blond. That was a bit gross. From now on, I will leave tip underneath the sheets everywhere I go. The gym was sufficient. If I had known the gym would be good, then I would have brought my gym clothes. The most important thing for me is that this was a non-smoking facility. In summary, the Windsor Suites is a hotel that gives you good accommodations without trying to push additional products down your throat. The facilities are sufficient but not gaudy. The fact that I wasn't pressured to buy something at every turn made it a relaxing environment. If you want to be pampered at exorbitant prices, then this hotel is probably not it. If you want a place to stay that is insulated from the usual commercial muck, then this place is the real deal. I would stay here again if I flew back to Philly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Trader Joe's rocks! But walking down JFK to TJ's is a bit tricky, so go south by one block and THEN proceed to go west. Wawa's is right nearby. If you add a potato salad to the sandwich, make sure they're giving you the combo discount.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 14, 2008

Nice downtown location

The Windsor Suites was in close proximity to the convention center, which was very convenient, as I was attending a meeting there. The room itself was quite large, but was in need of some minor renovations like a fresh coat of paint and some new carpet. The bathroom seemed to be newly renovated and was very nice, however hot water was an issue and I did not get anything more than a luke warm shower over the course of a three night stay. The continental breakfast was a great amenity. We were provided a collection of bagels, yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, and a waffle iron to make fresh waffles! The desk staff was courteous and kindly kept our bags after we had checked out for a few hours before we had to catch our flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Reading Terminal Market is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Make sure you go there to eat at least once as there are a variety of places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 31, 2008

Great location

The Windsor Suites was a great hotel for sightseeing and shopping in Philadelphia. It was only a 10 minute walk to the museum district and about the same to some great shopping, a nice spa, and a few restaurants. Taxis were readily available, and most rides were under $10. The staff was very friendly and the continental breakfast was adequate. Toiletries provided were salon quality, and the kitchenette in the room was very handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

museums

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 10, 2007

Fine, not great, but fine

I chose the Windsor Suites hotel, based on price, location. This hotel was about a 15 minute walk from the train station and two blocks away from my Monday morning meeting. Overall the hotel was fine, not great, but fine. The room was big and clean, with a full kitchen. It included continental breakfast in the morning. I have two complaints about this hotel. First, the hot water wasn?t hot, but warm at best. Second, the bed was uncomfortably firm for my taste. Most likely I will try a different hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Most of the major museums are a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 23, 2008

GREAT LOCATION! & amazing value

The Windsor Suites, Philadelphia is located extremely close to the museums. The room was large, with a small kitchen, a fabulous walk in closet, and a clean bathroom. There was more than enough room for all of the clothes my friend and I brought and we never had to leave any clothes or suitcases out of the large closet, keeping our bedroom clutter free and making the room feel even more spacious. I would have no problems bringing a family into these rooms for a week because they are so spacious. Parking is reasonable, but allow some time to pick up your car from the valet before going out, as the garage can become quite busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Windsor Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 17, 2008

Great location

Just a block or two from the heart of Philidelphia City Center. The rooms are large, clean, and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cool bar/restaurant just aroound the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top