$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

The Westin Philadelphia

4 stars
99 South 17th Street at Liberty Place, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
44 reviews
Very clean

My first impression of my room was that it was very clean and and home like. I would definitely... See full review

  • Caleb's Keeper
  • Mar 3, 2014
Great stay

Great location and comfort stay!I would recommend this hotel! See full review

  • Ddfffwww
  • Dec 31, 2013
The Westin Hotel Philadelphia is decked out in cool tones of grey and white to keep in with the Westin group's elegant image, though the warmth of open fires and cushy sofas await guests in the lobby. The hotel is equally equipped for both business and pleasure, with grand ballrooms – even one featuring an equally grand piano – and high-speed Internet in the meeting rooms (fees may apply). If you're looking for workouts in between the workloads, borrow some gear from the WestinWORKOUT program or check in for some serious exercise at the fitness studio – the sauna awaits your sore muscles afterwards. The lobby lounge offers casual snacks, but those looking for a full-blown steak should try Winthorpe & Valentine instead.
Key facts
  • 294 guestrooms and 19 suites
  • 24-hour room service
  • Restaurants: Lobby Lounge and Winthorpe & Valentine Restaurant
  • Business center
  • Valet parking
  • Fitness studio
  • Sauna
  • Express checkout
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The Westin Philadelphia's Center City location puts you near Rittenhouse Square and the local retailers and international designers along Rittenhouse Row, as well as the Shops at Liberty Place. Business travelers will find themselves close to major companies like PricewaterhouseCoopers, Comcast and Wachovia. History buffs will be happy to learn that Independence National Park is under a mile away. You can always rest your legs and use the SEPTA local transport to shuttle between destinations from 15th Street station.
Hints and tips
The restaurants on upscale Chestnut Street can be pricey, but gourmets will appreciate the likes of Italian Le Castagne.

If you want cheaper but solid eats, head north to the Chinatown neighborhood just by Franklin Square, and go for popular haunts like Sang Kee Peking Duck House.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9513 -75.1688
Nearby airports
Philiadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 7.00, KM;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Westin Philadelphia Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Video checkout
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Turndown service
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.1 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.1 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Philadelphia

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LaMadre
California
Aug 20, 2014

The Worstin!

They should change their name to "The Worstin Philadelphia!" This is the first time I've been compelled to write a travel review. I've stayed in many hotels in the US, Mexico, and Europe. Little did we know what was in store for us when we spent four nights in Philadelphia moving our child to college. The one good thing I can say is that the beds are fantastic! Get out your wallets folks, because the parking garage is akin to legalized robbery. $37 a night for self-park and over $50 for valet. One time we left our car for 1.25 hours and was charged $24. To get to your room requires parking in an underground garage, riding an elevator to an indoor mall, traversing the mall past several stores to find a hidden door to the parking lobby of the Westin, taking another elevator to the actual lobby, then finding another elevator to get to your room! Three elevators to your room and about ten minutes to get there IF you know where to go! My husband was lost for a half hour as the signage was inadequate for hotel guests. The bellman should give a flier to incoming guests on how to maneuver the parking situation. We opted for the "green plan" and points on our Starwood Preferred Guest card, where staff didn't come every day to change the sheets and towels. We were told if we wanted clean towels or sheets we could change that. For four nights NOT ONE staff member entered our room to empty trash, restock coffee, towels or give us shampoo, even after we asked them to take us off the green plan. We made two calls to the front desk for supplies because we got no response the first time after 1.5 hours. Eventually, someone came to our door at 10:45 pm They charged us for something we didn't eat at our snack bar. How could they charge us, when they didn't even come in the room? The management needs to clean up the staff in this hotel. It's not the Westin, it's the Worstin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice people and affordable diner breakfast at Little Pete's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
drlasheville
asheville nc
Dec 2, 2010

great value and location

[...] Clean, fresh but nothing special. Friendly staff. Location is good for restaurants and walking to Phila Museum of Art and Independence Hall if you like walking. If you can get a good price you should consider it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The famous John Wannamaker pipe organ (now Macy's) is played at noon and five pm on weekdays. Free of course. The Macy's Chestnut St entrance is close to the "great hall" with the organ.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
PA
Dec 17, 2009

Westin Philly

it was ok, I love going to Westin but this one needs a little help. Alot of little things that made it not that comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Oyster Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rich from Delawhere
Business
Wilmington, Delaware
Aug 22, 2012

Just What I Needed To For A Quick Get-Away

Great hotel. Great location. Great experience. Best

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Business in PHL
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Philly's most relaxing hotel

Everything about the Westin Philly experience is calming and reassuring. Staff is ultra-professional, the atmosphere is zen-like, the beds comfortable, the rooms have everything you need. The quality of the food, both room service and in the restaurant, is not at the same high level, and I would never stay here in the warm months of the year because the windows don't open. But aside from that, great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharoni
Voorhees NJ
Nov 26, 2012

Fun night in the city.

Great location, clean room and friendly staff. Couldn't of asked for a better hotel. Bed are soo comfortable as well!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mcknett
Memphis
Aug 11, 2014

Great weekend!

The staff at this hotel is very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MRCU
Jersey City, NJ, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Good location, nice hotel.

The hotel is nice and comfortable. The rooms are clean and the location is good. My only complaint is that it's a little expensive; at $320 per night, you could get something nicer at a much better destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Alma de Cuba!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newly Single Dad
Lehigh Valley PA
Dec 15, 2012

Great for seeing center city

Right in the heart of center city Philly. Most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wayne, PA
Nov 25, 2010

Comfortable Stay

Upon entering the room for the first time, my girlfriend and I were immediately impressed with the spacious room and massive, plush bed. The style of the room (tastefully contemporary) also did not disappoint...perfect, as I was trying to impress her on a romantic evening. The room was quiet as can be overnight -no annoying guests or city noise. My one complaint - the alarm clock went off at 7:00AM and my attempts to shut it off failed initially (I snoozed it). At around 8:30, once I had dealt with the alarm clock situation, someone knocked on our door and woke us up again with a "good morning"! I managed to gargle a "we're sleeping" in response. Other than these two minor disturbances, this place was totally awesome and I would recommend it for either business or pleasure. Just make sure you check the alarm clock before you hit the hay...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Tequilas on 16th and Locust - authentic Mexican cuisine in a romantic, candlelit atmosphere. Very cool.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top