$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

The Westin Philadelphia

4 stars
99 South 17th Street at Liberty Place, 99 South 17th Street at Liberty Place, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
44 reviews
Very clean

My first impression of my room was that it was very clean and and home like. I would definitely... See full review

  • Caleb's Keeper
  • Mar 3, 2014
Great stay

Great location and comfort stay!I would recommend this hotel! See full review

  • Ddfffwww
  • Dec 31, 2013
The Westin Hotel Philadelphia is decked out in cool tones of grey and white to keep in with the Westin group's elegant image, though the warmth of open fires and cushy sofas await guests in the lobby. The hotel is equally equipped for both business and pleasure, with grand ballrooms – even one featuring an equally grand piano – and high-speed Internet in the meeting rooms (fees may apply). If you're looking for workouts in between the workloads, borrow some gear from the WestinWORKOUT program or check in for some serious exercise at the fitness studio – the sauna awaits your sore muscles afterwards. The lobby lounge offers casual snacks, but those looking for a full-blown steak should try Winthorpe & Valentine instead.
Key facts
  • 294 guestrooms and 19 suites
  • 24-hour room service
  • Restaurants: Lobby Lounge and Winthorpe & Valentine Restaurant
  • Business center
  • Valet parking
  • Fitness studio
  • Sauna
  • Express checkout
  • Pets allowed (hotel policy and fees may apply)
Neighborhood
The Westin Philadelphia's Center City location puts you near Rittenhouse Square and the local retailers and international designers along Rittenhouse Row, as well as the Shops at Liberty Place. Business travelers will find themselves close to major companies like PricewaterhouseCoopers, Comcast and Wachovia. History buffs will be happy to learn that Independence National Park is under a mile away. You can always rest your legs and use the SEPTA local transport to shuttle between destinations from 15th Street station.
Hints and tips
The restaurants on upscale Chestnut Street can be pricey, but gourmets will appreciate the likes of Italian Le Castagne.

If you want cheaper but solid eats, head north to the Chinatown neighborhood just by Franklin Square, and go for popular haunts like Sang Kee Peking Duck House.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Westin Philadelphia Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Activities
Exercise gym
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Express checkout
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Parking
Parking
Room
Free newspaper
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.4 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.1 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.1 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.1 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.1 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Winthorpe & Valentine Bar
The bar's comfortable atmosphere is the ideal setting to relax with your favorite beverage.
Winthorpe & Valentine
An award-winning staff creates innovative, eclectic cuisine for lunch and dinner at Winthorpe & Valentine restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Philadelphia

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LaMadre
Business
California
Aug 20, 2014

The Worstin!

They should change their name to "The Worstin Philadelphia!" This is the first time I've been compelled to write a travel review. I've stayed in many hotels in the US, Mexico, and Europe. Little did we know what was in store for us when we spent four nights in Philadelphia moving our child to college. The one good thing I can say is that the beds are fantastic! Get out your wallets folks, because the parking garage is akin to legalized robbery. $37 a night for self-park and over $50 for valet. One time we left our car for 1.25 hours and was charged $24. To get to your room requires parking in an underground garage, riding an elevator to an indoor mall, traversing the mall past several stores to find a hidden door to the parking lobby of the Westin, taking another elevator to the actual lobby, then finding another elevator to get to your room! Three elevators to your room and about ten minutes to get there IF you know where to go! My husband was lost for a half hour as the signage was inadequate for hotel guests. The bellman should give a flier to incoming guests on how to maneuver the parking situation. We opted for the "green plan" and points on our Starwood Preferred Guest card, where staff didn't come every day to change the sheets and towels. We were told if we wanted clean towels or sheets we could change that. For four nights NOT ONE staff member entered our room to empty trash, restock coffee, towels or give us shampoo, even after we asked them to take us off the green plan. We made two calls to the front desk for supplies because we got no response the first time after 1.5 hours. Eventually, someone came to our door at 10:45 pm They charged us for something we didn't eat at our snack bar. How could they charge us, when they didn't even come in the room? The management needs to clean up the staff in this hotel. It's not the Westin, it's the Worstin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice people and affordable diner breakfast at Little Pete's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mcknett
Business
Memphis
Aug 11, 2014

Great weekend!

The staff at this hotel is very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeeBreezy
Business
New Brunswick, NJ
Apr 20, 2014

Great stay, great location

I came to Philly to visit friends and go to Reading Terminal Market. This location was perfect walking distance to all the places I needed to go. Plus, the location is perfect if you're looking/needing to shop during your stay. Many retail stores and a 1-minute walk to a 24-hr CVS. I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The location is perfect if you're looking/needing to shop during your stay. Many retail stores and a 1-minute walk to a 24-hr CVS. I'd definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeeBreezy
Business
New Brunswick, NJ
Mar 11, 2014

Great location, beautiful rooms

I was able to walk to the Terminal Market and a lot of great bars within 5-8 minutes from this hotel. The room was beautiful, and the bed was so comfortable! I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great brunch at Devil's Alley about a 5-min walk away from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler312
Business
San Francisco
Mar 5, 2014

Good location, clean and large room

We got a 2 double bed room and it was very spacious. The hotel was in a good location, close to many restaurants and bars within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Caleb's Keeper
Business
Philadelphia
Mar 3, 2014

Very clean

My first impression of my room was that it was very clean and and home like. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right up the street. Prefect location for anything you can think of.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel789958
Business
Virginia
Feb 24, 2014

Great Location

Reception very friendly and helpful, room/ bath were very clean and in good repair. The location could not have been better and parking was a breeze ! Would stay here again !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market very close and an excellent choice to grab a bite for breakfast or lunch- Foodies will be in love ! Something for everyone !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LauraC514
Business
Villanova, PA
Feb 11, 2014

Great downtown spot!

This was a comfortable room and we had wonderful service at this hotel. The man who helped with my bags could not have been nicer or more knowledgeable, as were the front desk staff. We were able to bring our pets which was wonderful given that we were out of power at home. The room was a little hot and we had trouble cooling it down, but service was excellent, the hotel was quiet, and it was a very comfortable experience and escape from downtown Philadelphia. Also, my husband found a small stain on his pillow but instead of just giving him a new one they offered us free internet for our stay or 500 Starwood points. Unnecessary and very much appreciated!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renareds
Business
Lansdale, Pa
Jan 6, 2014

Great overnight in the city

The hotel is in a great location-only a short walk or cab ride to all the Philly fun sites. Staff are very friendly and valet is great. This was my second time here and I'll keep coming back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Otis87
Business
York, PA
Dec 31, 2013

Excellent deal

Low price for a perfect location downtown. Very friendly staff, great lobby, great room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top