$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

5 stars
10 Avenue of the Arts, Ten Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
41 reviews
Getaway

Me and my husband took trip without kids and stayed at this hotel. Would recommended to anyone, we... See full review

  • Eagles 53
  • Sep 24, 2014
Really a great experience in every way

Location across from City Hall couldn't be better, near everything. The lobby and cocktail lounge... See full review

  • Family threesome
  • Sep 9, 2014
This Neo-Classical landmark in the heart of Philadelphia spoils guests rotten while giving them a glimpse into the grandeur of the city's past. The grand entrance is held up by gigantic pillars reminiscent of Athenian temples, while more modern touches adorn the 10 Arts Lounge, a casual spot for sipping cocktails and enjoying live music on weekends. Reserve a private room if you wish to enjoy your Arts Bistro meal with abandon, or slip away for some luxury solitude at the Richel D'Ambra Spa - try the delicious-smelling honey and hibiscus body wrap.
Key facts
  • 299 guestrooms
  • 2 restaurant/bars: 10 Arts Bistro and 10 Arts Lounge
  • Private dining room for rental
  • Sauna
  • Full-service Spa and Salon
  • Fitness center
  • Shoeshine stand
  • 24-hour room service
  • Valet parking
  • Pets allowed (dogs under 30 pounds only, fee applies)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 18 meeting rooms
Neighborhood
The hotel is right in the middle of Philadelphia's Center City, within walking distance of many key moments in America's revolutionary history, from the Liberty Bell to Independence Hall. The Gothic architecture of City Hall is visible from the hotel's front door, Rittenhouse Square's stores and restaurants are just a few blocks from Broad Street, and visitors can stop at Walnut Street for an evening show at America's longest-running theater.
Hints and tips
Get the number for the valet service, then text your ticket number to them about 15 minutes before you plan to leave, and enjoy a smooth exit.

If you're looking for additional restaurant options, the Ritz-Carlton is across the street from a local branch of McCormick's Seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Dining

10 Arts Lounge
Drinks and Bar menu

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Doctor Debbie
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 23, 2014

Poor service

Arrived late due to a late flight. No one at curb check in to help with bags. Check in desk employee unable to access my Marriott account for point credit. Sign at the open lobby bar stated the bar was open till 2am. After carryingy bags to my room, on return to bar, waited ten minutes with no help only to find out even though there were still customers at tables and at the bar at 1:30 am, that the bartender had left for the evening and no one could help me! The front desk sent up a complimentary bottle of wine, that I had to pay for at $ 198.00!!!. I looked up the wine on my wine App to find out it cost $9.98 retail !! The next morning in my bathroom without clothes on, two men opened my door without knocking claiming they were security and that my room wasn't supposed to be occupied! Overall: HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE at a Ritz Hotel ! A shame !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KIER G
Business
Fairfax VA
Jan 22, 2013

Nickle and dimes

The staff was great. But the package we bought seemed not to be clear. I t was to include breakfast and parking. Both where charged to out final bill. In addition my wife made a few locale calls which appeared on out bill as long distance. The phone calls where credited as well as the breakfast. I am still working on the parking issue. Also we where given a handicap room. I have never had these issue with the Ritz group before. i guess is part of the new ownership.. Still first class place and staff is wonderful. they need to get the operation side on board with the service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ritz Philadelphia
Business
texas
Apr 9, 2013

good hotel....but not up to par with typical Ritz

It is a nice hotel, but not up to par with what you would expect from a Ritz. The staff is very friendly but the room is not exactly luxurious....Overall a nice experience but have stayed in other Ritz/Four Seasons and have had a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Papaiii
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jun 18, 2014

Philly Review

I expected more, I guess the hotel is too expensive for me. There was: Small fridge (plus) Coffee maker (plus) Chocolates bedside everyday (plus) Expensive tea bags (plus) Beautiful bathroom (plus) Very confortable beds (plus) No microwave (minus) No continental breakfast (minus, very expensive) Had to tell to vacuum carpet (minus) Very small garbage can (had to ask to have it emptied constantly, minus) Had to tell to do the beds (minus) No pool or jackuzzi (minus) Personnel was mostly courtious (one bad apple)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
collinzes
Business
Hershey PA
Jan 16, 2012

Favorite Center City hotel

great location, a WOW lobby bar, very comfortable rooms, great help from the valet to housekeeping and everyone in between. My only quibble is the so called upgrade.... OK, it's a slightly bigger room, but don't sell it like it's the penthouse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John from Atlanta
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Great locale, pretty pricey

Great staff except for bell staff. Rooms are small but very clean. Nice bed. Great concierge. Fantastic location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nld464
Business
Glendale, California
Mar 13, 2013

Very nice hotel, slightly overpriced

The hotel itself is very beautiful, but the rooms themselves are just above average. The bathrooms are nicer than your average hotel, but the bedroom itself may actually be slightly smaller. Also, when paying for 5-star luxury, I would expect 5-star luxury at every corner, but that wasn't necessarily the case. I've had better rooms, better turndown service, etc. at other hotels. However, the major draw here is the location. I was lucky to have a room that looked right out on City Hall, and the view was spectacular. The hotel was convenient to walk to restaurants, attractions, etc. I would definitely come back here, but I do think it's slightly overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr.big.
Business
Cincinnati,OH
Apr 15, 2013

Special anniversary trip.

Club level was not good experience. The staff were all very friendly and helpful but for a hotel with this reputation a guest should not have to ask for bread or replenish bath items! Only one restaurant with one limited menu.Not up to other 5 star hotel experiences!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Find out all details about Club Level and utilize if you choose to select this option.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwest Media Maven
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 29, 2013

LifghtFair 2013

The staff care about each guest and do whatever possible to make the experience positive. Two complaints - the room I had was so large that the TV being across the room from the bed is so far away I had trouble seeing it. And, I wish the shower had an overhead/recessed light fixture, it really was a little dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Asian-owned nail salons - fast, no waiting and great results!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJLJ
Business
Marina Del Reym CA
Oct 14, 2013

Love the Ritz in Philadelphia

From check in to check out great servcie. All the staff there were very nice and were always there to help out when you needed. First time at a Rtiz and won't be the last. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top