$299 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

5 stars
View map of 10 Avenue of the Arts, Ten Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
47 reviews
Extended Weekend Trip to Philly

My wife and I were visiting our son who was starting school in Philadelphia. First time we stayed... See full review

  • Paul T.
  • May 26, 2015
Excellent!

Everything a 5 star hotel is supposed to be! Service was great. Location was great. See full review

  • Sun and Sand from CT
  • Jan 12, 2015
This Neo-Classical landmark in the heart of Philadelphia spoils guests rotten while giving them a glimpse into the grandeur of the city's past. The grand entrance is held up by gigantic pillars reminiscent of Athenian temples, while more modern touches adorn the 10 Arts Lounge, a casual spot for sipping cocktails and enjoying live music on weekends. Reserve a private room if you wish to enjoy your Arts Bistro meal with abandon, or slip away for some luxury solitude at the Richel D'Ambra Spa - try the delicious-smelling honey and hibiscus body wrap.
Key facts
  • 299 guestrooms
  • 2 restaurant/bars: 10 Arts Bistro and 10 Arts Lounge
  • Private dining room for rental
  • Sauna
  • Full-service Spa and Salon
  • Fitness center
  • Shoeshine stand
  • 24-hour room service
  • Valet parking
  • Pets allowed (dogs under 30 pounds only, fee applies)
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)
  • 18 meeting rooms
Neighborhood
The hotel is right in the middle of Philadelphia's Center City, within walking distance of many key moments in America's revolutionary history, from the Liberty Bell to Independence Hall. The Gothic architecture of City Hall is visible from the hotel's front door, Rittenhouse Square's stores and restaurants are just a few blocks from Broad Street, and visitors can stop at Walnut Street for an evening show at America's longest-running theater.
Hints and tips
Get the number for the valet service, then text your ticket number to them about 15 minutes before you plan to leave, and enjoy a smooth exit.

If you're looking for additional restaurant options, the Ritz-Carlton is across the street from a local branch of McCormick's Seafood.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Steam bath
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.8 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.8 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.5 mi

Dining

10 Arts Lounge
Drinks and Bar menu

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Ann Club
Louisville Kentucky
Jul 22, 2013

Great stay.

I was most impressed with the staff who went out of their way to make sure I had a comfortable and convenient stay. The room was clean and beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul T.
Business
Sheboygan
May 26, 2015

Extended Weekend Trip to Philly

My wife and I were visiting our son who was starting school in Philadelphia. First time we stayed at a Ritz-Carlton. This is a beautiful old hotel (originally constructed as a bank), great location in Cental City, easy to catch a cab to different venues. Very comfortable room, had an excellent breakfast there, and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TomS
Business
Pawtucket
Feb 23, 2015

Great location

Classy bar in lobby and elegant room for a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sun and Sand from CT
Business
weston
Jan 12, 2015

Excellent!

Everything a 5 star hotel is supposed to be! Service was great. Location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LovePark
Business
Swedesboro
Dec 30, 2014

Great hotel

Great overall but they need new electronics. Soy docks and tv are old and outdated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joey bag of jelly donuts
Business
ponte vedra beach, fl
Oct 5, 2014

great location for exploring the city

great location for shopping, dining, and history. At $50 to park your car I would recommend taking public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

reading terminal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eagles 53
Business
Philadelphia, pa
Sep 24, 2014

Getaway

Me and my husband took trip without kids and stayed at this hotel. Would recommended to anyone, we had a blast!! It's close to everything !! Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family threesome
Business
Neenah, WI
Sep 9, 2014

Really a great experience in every way

Location across from City Hall couldn't be better, near everything. The lobby and cocktail lounge are memorable, staff is wonderful. Our room for three was large and spotless, we were sorry to leave after only 5 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are about 50 really great restaurants and bars within a short walk, who knew Philly was such a great foodie haven?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wamtoo
Business
Wyoming
Sep 9, 2014

Rtiz-Carlton, Philadelphia

This was a great place to stay. We loved to location and were able to walk nearly everywhere. The only disadvantages were, a charge for wifi and a a charge each time you took your car out of valet parking. The staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alfred And Beth
Business
Palo Alto CA
Aug 26, 2014

Great staff!

Not only a great hotel but every staff member was pleasant and so helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Doctor Debbie
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 23, 2014

Poor service

Arrived late due to a late flight. No one at curb check in to help with bags. Check in desk employee unable to access my Marriott account for point credit. Sign at the open lobby bar stated the bar was open till 2am. After carryingy bags to my room, on return to bar, waited ten minutes with no help only to find out even though there were still customers at tables and at the bar at 1:30 am, that the bartender had left for the evening and no one could help me! The front desk sent up a complimentary bottle of wine, that I had to pay for at $ 198.00!!!. I looked up the wine on my wine App to find out it cost $9.98 retail !! The next morning in my bathroom without clothes on, two men opened my door without knocking claiming they were security and that my room wasn't supposed to be occupied! Overall: HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE at a Ritz Hotel ! A shame !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top