$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

The Independent Hotel

3 stars
1234 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
26 reviews
Fell in love

I was very pleasantly surprised with the quality of this hotel. The room was spacious, very clean,... See full review

  • Meg Gall
  • Jan 13, 2014
Exceptional service

If you're looking for a hotel in Philly's "gayborhood", this is the place to stay! The staff is... See full review

  • BCinAP
  • Nov 3, 2013
Historic Philadelphia hotel with free Wi-Fi
Standing in Philadelphia's Midtown Village and the performing arts district, the Independent Hotel provides guests with a world of comfort, personality, and style. An impressive lobby greets guests with a glittering crystal chandelier and 30-foot hand-painted mural. Elegance and sophistication are the defining elements found in the spacious rooms. The Independent Hotel décor invites guests to relax and unwind, while the surrounding area beckons with numerous dining options, entertainment and retail venues to enjoy.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Located in downtown Philadelphia in the heart of Midtown Village and the performing arts district
  • Listed on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Full-service business center with computers, printer, scanner, fax machine; meeting area; and free Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel
Independent Hotel rooms
The room interiors of the Independent Hotel reflect its exterior architectural style that is reminiscent of historical Philadelphia and the colors give them a distinct personality and inviting warmth. The bathrooms are equally stylish and decorated with tin ceiling tiles. Many rooms at the Independent Hotel come with fireplaces, while others feature cathedral ceilings, exposed brick walls, French windows and loft bedrooms. Kitchenettes have microwaves and refrigerators. Hardwood floors are decorated with area rugs made from New Zealand wool.
Things to Do:
  • Academy of Music (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Avenue of the Arts (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)

Amenities

Activities
Exercise gym
Services
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Hairdryer in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Independent Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9479 -75.1618
Area served
Philadelphia’s Midtown Village
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 2.00, KM, E;
Area description
Airport, Airport

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.2 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 2.9 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.5 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for The Independent Hotel

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 26
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meg Gall
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 13, 2014

Fell in love

I was very pleasantly surprised with the quality of this hotel. The room was spacious, very clean, and felt like someone's really cool apartment instead of a cold hotel. I was only upset that I was only staying for one night. Will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RehabDoc
Richmond, VA, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Wonderful experience!!

I really had a wonderful experience! The hotel has a cool vibe with wooden floors, lofted ceilings and dark wooden furniture. The rooms and bathrooms were HUGE and VERY clean! I have paid much more for other hotels in Philly and have gotten much less. The location is great (just two blocks from Broad St). And you get free access to the 12th Street Gym!! NOT just a lame hotel fitness center...but a complete gym!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk around Broad St!! Shopping! Eating! All great!!

Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Jul 4, 2010

Excellent intimate upscale comfortable

Small boutique hotel in a great location. Well trained and motivated staff are friendly, informative and helpful. Decor is much nicer than my home, yet still comfortable. Maybe the price is slightly higher that a few other hotels in the area, but certainly not the most expensive. I think it's a bargain, for the service and comfort. Snacky breakfast delivered outside your door in the morning. My room would have been really great for a couple looking for romance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great fun nightclubs, bars and dining places within one or two blocks. Helpful hint, the 2010 Gayborhood guide shows this hotel on the wrong side of the street. GPS finds it easily. Hotel lets you park in front for a half hour while you check in & unload. Then park at the place the hotel recommends. It's very cheap for Philadelphia and has 'in & out' privileges.

Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Jul 4, 2010

Excellent intimate upscale comfortable

Small boutique hotel in a great location. Well trained and motivated staff are friendly, informative and helpful. Decor is much nicer than my home, yet still comfortable. Maybe the price is slightly higher that a few other hotels in the area, but certainly not the most expensive. I think it's a bargain, for the service and comfort. Snacky breakfast delivered outside your door in the morning. My room would have been really great for a couple looking for romance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great fun nightclubs, bars and dining places within one or two blocks. Helpful hint, the 2010 Gayborhood guide shows this hotel on the wrong side of the street. GPS finds it easily. Hotel lets you park in front for a half hour while you check in & unload. Then park at the place the hotel recommends. It's very cheap for Philadelphia and has 'in & out' privileges.

Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Sep 8, 2009

My fav new hotel in Philly!

This hotel was a really pleasant surprise. I had read some great reviews here and even then, it exceeded my expectations. The Independent is in a great location - close to restaurants, nightlife and shopping. The entrance is interesting - you walk through the door and have to take an elevator up to lobby. The good thing is after 10pm, you need a key to get into the entrance. The staff at the front desk were great - really friendly and helpful. They also have these wine and cheese receptions in the lobby for those who are interested. The rooms were amazing - spacious, modern, clean. Great bathrooms, with a double shower head, lots of towels and also spacious. I've been telling all my friends about it. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Sep 8, 2009

My fav new hotel in Philly!

This hotel was a really pleasant surprise. I had read some great reviews here and even then, it exceeded my expectations. The Independent is in a great location - close to restaurants, nightlife and shopping. The entrance is interesting - you walk through the door and have to take an elevator up to lobby. The good thing is after 10pm, you need a key to get into the entrance. The staff at the front desk were great - really friendly and helpful. They also have these wine and cheese receptions in the lobby for those who are interested. The rooms were amazing - spacious, modern, clean. Great bathrooms, with a double shower head, lots of towels and also spacious. I've been telling all my friends about it. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top