$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

The Independent Hotel

3 stars
1234 Locust Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
26 reviews
Fell in love

I was very pleasantly surprised with the quality of this hotel. The room was spacious, very clean,... See full review

  • Meg Gall
  • Jan 13, 2014
Exceptional service

If you're looking for a hotel in Philly's "gayborhood", this is the place to stay! The staff is... See full review

  • BCinAP
  • Nov 3, 2013
Historic Philadelphia hotel with free Wi-Fi
Standing in Philadelphia's Midtown Village and the performing arts district, the Independent Hotel provides guests with a world of comfort, personality, and style. An impressive lobby greets guests with a glittering crystal chandelier and 30-foot hand-painted mural. Elegance and sophistication are the defining elements found in the spacious rooms. The Independent Hotel décor invites guests to relax and unwind, while the surrounding area beckons with numerous dining options, entertainment and retail venues to enjoy.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Located in downtown Philadelphia in the heart of Midtown Village and the performing arts district
  • Listed on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Full-service business center with computers, printer, scanner, fax machine; meeting area; and free Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel
Independent Hotel rooms
The room interiors of the Independent Hotel reflect its exterior architectural style that is reminiscent of historical Philadelphia and the colors give them a distinct personality and inviting warmth. The bathrooms are equally stylish and decorated with tin ceiling tiles. Many rooms at the Independent Hotel come with fireplaces, while others feature cathedral ceilings, exposed brick walls, French windows and loft bedrooms. Kitchenettes have microwaves and refrigerators. Hardwood floors are decorated with area rugs made from New Zealand wool.
Things to Do:
  • Academy of Music (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Avenue of the Arts (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)

Amenities

Activities
Exercise gym
Services
Security
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Hairdryer in room

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Independent Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9479 -75.1618
Area served
Philadelphia’s Midtown Village
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 2.00, KM, E;
Area description
Airport, Airport

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.2 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.5 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.6 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 2.9 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.3 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.5 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for The Independent Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RehabDoc
Richmond, VA, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Wonderful experience!!

I really had a wonderful experience! The hotel has a cool vibe with wooden floors, lofted ceilings and dark wooden furniture. The rooms and bathrooms were HUGE and VERY clean! I have paid much more for other hotels in Philly and have gotten much less. The location is great (just two blocks from Broad St). And you get free access to the 12th Street Gym!! NOT just a lame hotel fitness center...but a complete gym!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk around Broad St!! Shopping! Eating! All great!!

Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road trekker
Philadelphia
Jun 28, 2014

We'll done hotel, location not so good

Excellent, friendly staff. Breakfast delivery to your door at the time of your choosing. Nice clean,well laid out room. The location is the real issue. At night things looked really bad. People were yelling and swearing on the streets outside our window and it just didn't look like a safe place to walk around. This is a great hotel and the staff are on top of things. I would stay in a different location though after experiencing this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The plash bus runs around some of the main downtown attractions. It saves time on walking.

Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikey B
London, UK
May 28, 2014

Great spot for a stay

This is a wonderful hotel. It sits in a great location for anyone interested in a couple of drinks or good restaurants and yet still close enough to see the historic sights and do some shopping. The room was clean and comfortable and much bigger than what we were expecting. The staff were the best part of the whole experience for us. They really helped us when we were checking out and were very kind throughout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Barbuzzo's

Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meg Gall
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 13, 2014

Fell in love

I was very pleasantly surprised with the quality of this hotel. The room was spacious, very clean, and felt like someone's really cool apartment instead of a cold hotel. I was only upset that I was only staying for one night. Will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PjPeet
11777
Jan 4, 2014

NYE Trip

We stayed at the Independent last year for NYE and had a great time so we decided to do it again! Hotel was still great though the room was much smaller and we had to request a space heater for the bathroom twice. Would still go back but maybe try to request a certain room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get reservations for dinner! There are a lot of great restaurants nearby but they fill up very quickly and the wait can be over an hour.

Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BCinAP
New Jersey, USA
Nov 3, 2013

Exceptional service

If you're looking for a hotel in Philly's "gayborhood", this is the place to stay! The staff is ultra friendly, the rooms and clean and comfy. They serve breakfast to your room at no charge, Free wine and cheese. So well located - near all the gay bars and restaurants. While the hotel is small and you need to take an elevator to get to the lobby, the perks that come with the room more than make up for this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DE Frequent Traveler
Wilmington, DE
May 14, 2013

Pleasant & convenient hotel

Interesting boutique hotel with pleasant front desk staff. Due to the socially active neighborhood (with occasional seedy types loitering in the area) access to guest room floors requires a key, and entering the building after 11 PM also requires key access. Lobby is on 2nd floor. Room was nicely decorated and bath (shower, no tub) was smartly designed and very roomy. Room's AC unit was in ceiling of bathroom and rather noisy, in a rattling sense. Street noise was significant late at night, until bars close at 2 AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vedge restaruant is across the street, a very upscale vegan place. Great food but wine list is super-pricey.

Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tenntully
Atlanta, GA
May 2, 2013

Fantastic Surgery Vacation?!?!

Yes. We came from ATL to Philly for surgery and I wanted a nice affordable, comfortable hotel. The Independent not only fit the bill, it turned out to be a great Philly vacation for my my wife and I. The rooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable. They had hardwood floors, a good comforter/duvee, and high ceilings, and a descent sized clean bathroom. All qualities I like in a hotel room (especially a boutique hotel with smaller rooms). But the best part was the location to fantastic restaurants and food! We ate at El Vez (a hip mexican place), Barbuzzo (with a James Beard award winning chef), and had a roast pork sandwich at DiNics in Reading Terminal. All great and within a few blocks. Oh and I comfortably recovered from surgery. Crazy trip and fun. Highly recommend the Independent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amazing restaurants within 5 blocks. We didn't get to try them all but will be back.

Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bradrn
Portland, maine
Mar 25, 2013

Great hip spot in the middle of it all?

Vibrant clean and bright! Great spot with super helpful staff! We were here for a weekend and this was a great launchpad for fun in Philadelphia! Streetside rooms were a bit loud when the bars let out but otherwise a great spot!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try green eggs, vedge, and Garcia trading for food!!!!

Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikemuch1
new york city
Sep 17, 2012

Large room in perfect location

A grand old building nicely renovated in the heart of Philly's nightlife area. Our double queen room was plenty big enough for 2 couples, and tastefully furnished. Huge bathroom. No dining room, though, so they bring packaged breakfast foods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Independent Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CH27
Dunmore, PA
Jun 6, 2012

Great Location, Friendly Staff

The hotel's location was great! My boyfriend and I were able to walk anywhere downtown. We went in the middle of the week and 13th st near the hotel was the place to be! Only problem with the room was that there was plenty of lights but not light switches to turn on the lights! Also in the bathroom, there were only 2 little lights and there were on the opposite end of the shower. It was not great lighting! The staff was very friendly. For example, I ran out of contact solution at 11:00 at night and the staff told my boyfriend and I were a 24 hour pharmacy was in walking distance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

13th street which is right there has bars and resturants which look fun! My boyfriend and I stopped at one of the bars, and it was fun!

Back to menu Return to top