$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

4 stars
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
169 reviews
great stay

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter for a college audition. The room was clean and comfortable... See full review

  • Gail T.
  • Dec 9, 2013
nice hotel

That's nice and a pleasent stay here. While the internet access was not that so good. See full review

  • canguang
  • Nov 30, 2013
The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia makes the most of its Center City location, with a rooftop pool looking out over the skyline. In-room video games, movies and extra considerations like quiet-zone floors for working during the week make it a favorite for those in Philly on business. Funky decor in various shades of red signifies the lounge areas, and cityscape prints adorn the bed-heads in the rooms. Cafe Express is handy for grabbing something on the way out of the lobby, but if you've got more time on your hands, Rittenhouse Square eateries are just beyond the hotel steps, whether you're craving a Philly cheesesteak or some English-style pub grub.
Key facts
  • 445 guestrooms
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)
  • In-room dining
  • 24-hour business center
  • 24-hour fitness center and complimentary passes to Philadelphia Sports Club gym
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Liberty Ballroom for weddings and social events
  • Rooftop swimming pool, open from June to September
  • On-site ATM
Neighborhood
Situated on Market Street in downtown Philadelphia, the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia puts guests on the doorstep of monumental US attractions like the Liberty Bell Center, Independence Hall and the National Constitution Center. For family fun, take the kids to Franklin Square for a carousel ride or to the Philadelphia Zoo in Fairmont Park to the north for close encounters with exotic animals. Depending on the season, sports fans can cheer on Philadelphia's football, hockey or baseball teams at venues like Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia Eagles) located within a four-mile-radius of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you need accommodations for disabled travelers, ask about one of the 17 ADA-compliant rooms available in the building.

Consider an Executive Club Floor upgrade if the idea of a private lounge, complimentary breakfast service, and evening refreshments sounds too tempting to ignore.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9532 -75.17
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe Queen City View
Deluxe Queen City View 336 Sq Ft - Queen bed Various Views of Center City
Deluxe ADA King Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Queen Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm Shwr
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Comm Shower
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm
Description not provided
Deluxe King City View
Deluxe King City View -336 Sq Ft - King Bed Various views of Center City
Deluxe Two Queen City View
Deluxe Two Queen City View - 336 Sq Ft Various Views of Center City
Club Queen City View
Club Queen City View - access to club lounge Various Views of Center City
Club King City View
Club King City View - Access to club lounge. Various views of Center City
Club Two Queen City View
Club 2 Queen City View - Access to club lounge Various views of Center City
Junior Ste King Sofa City View
Junior Ste King Sofa City View - King Bed- Sofabed - Various Views of Center City
Club One Bedroom Ste King Sofa
Description not provided
Hospitality Ste Sofa Coty View
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.7 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Room Service
Available From 6am-1pm and 330pm-11pm- From Full Menu
Public House
Sports Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 169
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
From Another City
Washington, DC
May 5, 2014

Comfortable bed, convenient location but very old interior

The hotel was under construction, which we didn't receive any notice in advance. The room we received had a very old carpet with black marks, and the bathroom reminded me of an old dormitory bathroom. The sink was leaking too. Apparently the hotel needs an entire makeover but didn't want to close down the whole hotel. The door/wall was not soundproof as I woke up in the middle of night because some people were coming in after midnight and getting ice from the ice machine near our room. Also with the amount we paid, we would expect at least complimentary water bottle, toothbrush or a pair of slippers. Other than those, the beds were clean and comfortable, and the staff who got us a taxi and took us downstairs was very kind. The hotel's location was superb. 10-15 min walk to major tourist spots! Once renovation is done in every hotel room, I'll do come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

One-day tour itinerary: Reserve tickets for Independence Hall tour in advance (through website), get breakfast/brunch at Reading Terminal Market, and walk to Independence Hall. Once you are done with tour, get on a bus near Independence Hall visitor center to go to Philadelphia Museum of Art. Get dinner around Rittenhouse Square (18th and Walnut st).

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Christmas getaway
Mexico, d.f.
Jan 3, 2014

Can get better

Good option if you wanna be close to the city hall, bus stop is in front of the main door, there is a dinner very close to the hotel open 24 hours even on holidays! the hotel staff is very friendly and efficient. rooms need an update!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Open 24 hrs.

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gail T.
Middletown, New Jersey
Dec 9, 2013

great stay

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter for a college audition. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff could not have been nicer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
College bound son
Louisville, Kentucky
Nov 25, 2013

Nice weekend

Lovely hotel. Great location. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. My teenage son traveled with me and mentioned several times how nice and friendly people were in the hotel. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philadelphia Lover
Rockville, MD
Mar 31, 2013

Great hotel in Center City

Close to Rittenhouse Square, within walking distance of tons of stores & restaurants. Cozy room, good parking deal. Would recommend the Sonesta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Nino
New York, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Ms Nino

Great experience, the staff of the hotel very kind and helpful, I call when we were in our way to ask them to have my daughter's crip in the room by the time we would be there, since we were checking in at late night and they did it. Parking lot conveniently located next to the hotel. The hotel is located on Market street so it is very convenient and walking distance from mayor attractions in downtown. Next time we go to Philly we will definitely will stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you travel with kids look for a hotel that is walking distance from main attractions so, if you need to go back for any reason ie, nap, lunch, diaper change you can do it without loose the rest of your day traveling back and forward!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JKSV
New York City
Jun 30, 2012

College Trip

Central location, easy to explore the city on foot. Close to train stations making it easy to get to and from the hotel by train quickly. Rooftop pool was lots of fun. Rooms are on the small side and could use some updating. Lobby cafe was convenient for a quick breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sbgwmp
Kentucky
Jun 24, 2012

Too many slip ups

The hotel was a nice, slightly luxurious experience, worth what I paid for it if all went well. However, the parking was way overpriced at $42 overnight for valet, so I tried to park on my own the second night. When I asked them to take off the charges, instead they doubled them! We left our room at 2 PM one day, and we had already received a note that they tried to make it up, so I called down to arrange it. They said they would but they didn't do it. The hotel did compensate us with two room service breakfasts, which were excellent, so I suppose it was worthwhile. I'd probably give them another try if I was flying in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Essence
Detroit, MI
May 24, 2012

Staff

The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Professional on all levels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sam Superduper Dad
Taiwan
May 16, 2012

Very convenient for attending U.Penn ceremonies.

A little bit expensive but very convenient for a lot of activities in Philly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top