$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

4 stars
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
114 reviews
great stay

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter for a college audition. The room was clean and comfortable... See full review

  • Gail T.
  • Dec 9, 2013
nice hotel

That's nice and a pleasent stay here. While the internet access was not that so good. See full review

  • canguang
  • Nov 30, 2013
Restful Center City location conveniently close to shopping and dining
The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia in downtown Philadelphia offers a convenient location for business or leisure travel. Just a few blocks north of Rittenhouse Square, shopping and dining options are plentiful. Hotel amenities include free apples and coffee in the spacious new lobby; complimentary high-speed Internet access; an on-site 24-hour fitness center; free access to nearby Philadelphia Sports Club and an outdoor pool. Nonsmoking guest rooms with comfortable bedding and unique amenities make for a restful night.
Highlights:
  • Outdoor pool, on-site 24-hour fitness center, complimentary access to nearby Philadelphia Sports Club
  • Central downtown location close to Rittenhouse Square, City Hall and the Cultural District
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Floors with quiet-zone rules in place on weeknights from evening through late morning, with no housekeeping during those times unless requested
Rooms:

The completely nonsmoking Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia offers 443 guestrooms and two suites, all decorated in muted tones and dark-wood furniture. Standard amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access; comfortable beds with pillow-top mattresses and luxury linens; work-station desks with lamps; televisions with premium channels and pay movies; coffeemakers; hairdryers and irons with ironing boards.

Features:

The hotel provides guests with tastefully appointed rooms and suites with modern amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access, cable/satellite TV with in-room movies and video games, telephone with voice mail, free local calls, desk and chair, iron and ironing board as well as coffee maker. Suites come with separate sitting area.

Dining

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia does not have an on-site restaurant but diners can sample local and international cuisines at nearby food outlets. Room service is available.

Transportation:
  • SEPTA Subway Suburban Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)
Attractions:
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • City Hall (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Historic District (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business:
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Dedicated meetings director
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Catering services
  • Audio/visual equipment
Policies and Fees
  • Room service is available from 6:00 AM to 1:00 PM and 3:30 PM to 11:00 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia Rooms

ADA Hearing Impaired Club Floor
ADA Hearing Impaired Club Floor King - 336 sq ft- ADA Tub - Free Wi Fi
One Bedroom Suite King
One bedroom suite king- 1 king Free internet access
Traditional Guestroom with One Q
Traditional Guestroom with One Queen Bed - 219 Sq Ft - Free Wi Fi - Coffeemaker
Traditional Guestroom with One K
Traditional Guestroom with One King Bed - 336 Sq Ft - Free Wi Fi - Coffeemaker
Traditional Guestroom with 2 Dou
336 sq ft -Two Double Beds - Free Wi Fi - Coffee Maker
Club Level with One Queen Bed
Club Level with One Queen Bed 219 sq ft- Free Wi Fi - Access to Club Lounge - Flat Screen TV
Club Level with One King Bed
Club Level with One King Bed 336 Sq Ft- Free Wi Fi - King bed - Club Lounge Access - Flat Screen TV
Club Level with Two Double Beds
Club Level with Two Double Beds - 336 Sq Ft - Flat Screen TV - Free Wi Fi
ADA King Hearing Impaired Roll-i
ADA King Hearing Impaired Roll-in Shower 336 sq ft - 1 King - Free Wi Fi
ADA King Hearing Impaired with t
ADA King Hearing Impaired with Tub 336 Sq Ft - Removable Tub Seat - TTY Visual Alerts - Free Wi Fi

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9532 -75.17
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.7 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Room Service
Available From 6am-1pm and 330pm-11pm- From Full Menu
Public House
Sports Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

3.1 / 5
36 out of 114
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
USA1traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 5, 2014

Unexpected charges

Despite being a 3.5 star hotel in central Philadelphia, this hotel is lacking many amenities. It is undergoing renovation, so you can't even find the hotel easily when driving on Market street. I stayed in a non-smoking room that smells like a smoking room. No flat screen TV, only those old 20 inch big box old TV. Additionally, if you drive, they charge you $42 a day for valet parking that you have to pay because they don't have a regular parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
JP1234 Chicago
Business
Chicago
Jan 18, 2014

Fits the bill

Smallish room but free wireless internet worked ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
JA2013
Business
Sydney, Australia
Dec 15, 2013

Great hotel right in the heart of Philly

I stayed for two nights. The hotel was great and it was close to everything - easy walk from the station if you are travelling on the Amtrak, and walking distance to shops, restaurants and bars. Awesome, would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
Blown off customer
Business
Pittsburgh
Nov 28, 2013

Might be OK -- who knows.

My daughter got admitted to the hospital for over a week when I was supposed to stay @ this hotel- -I called the hotel to see if they could give me credit, even partial, for a future stay. They said no -- Told me to talk to my travel agency. I called the travel agency, who called the hotel and were told to basically tell me tough luck. I e-mailed the hotel, got no response.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid this hotel

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
The chef
Business
Los Angeles,ca
Oct 19, 2013

Privacy problems with housekeeping

Love the location, but had some problems with housekeeping. Had my privacy sign hanging on my door and housekeeping knocked anyway.....having working in the hospitality business in past that one of the ultimate no.no......then she reported to security that I was smoking in the room......which I did outside............next thing I know the security is at my door stating that I was smoking in the room......ironically I had seen the security outside when I was smoking so.....he knew the truth.........thank god.....cause this housekeeper was trying to get me a 250 fine for smoking in the room.......she should be fired.......thank god I had seen the security outside......he was really cool and made sure that all this would be resolved.......thanks Troy...........for doing your job correctly.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Love buddakan.......on chestnut........

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
Whitneyje
Business
New York, NY
Aug 13, 2013

Don't stay here unless you want your belongings stolen

I checked into this hotel and did my usual walk through of the room. I immediately noticed the shower head was full of pink bacterial mold. I looked around the bed for an outlet to plug my phone into. There was a heap of dust on the bed frame and around the sides of the bed. I pulled down the sheets and there was hair in the bed. I went down to the front desk to ask if my room could be cleaned. I ended up going to the local drugstore and getting cleaning supplies to clean the shower myself and I slept on top of the bed. I checked out of the hotel and was told I could leave my bag in the storage room since I would be checking in again shortly. When I returned, my bag was lost. It took the staff nearly an hour to retrieve it. When I went to my room, I had the same issues with cleanliness and after letting the front desk know I was given a new room. The shower head had pink bacterial mold again, but I decided to just clean it myself again. The next day I returned to the hotel from a day of work and opened my bag to find my passport (that was zipped into the side of my bag in a designer passport holder when I left) was sitting on top of my clothes. The passport holder also had spending money in it. I went to the front desk to let them know my passport holder as well as my money had been stolen. A security guard came upstairs and recorded a statement. I was told I would be contacted by the hotel's insurance company within 72 hours. I checked out of the hotel three days later and still had not received a call. When I returned home, I contacted the hotel security manager. He of course did not answer and did not return my call. The next day, I was finally contacted by the insurance company. A lovely representative let me know that the housekeeper denied stealing my passport holder and money so there was nothing that could be done. She insisted that it was her word against my own and since she denied it, there waa nothing that she could do. Unless you would like to shower in pink bacterial mold, sleep in a bed with someone else's hair, have your bags misplaced, and have your belongings stolen without remorse do not stay at this hotel. Pay the extra 10 bucks a night and stay at a real hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
PABinMCIN
Business
Michigan City, IN
Jul 26, 2013

Business Stay

Everything went well. Utilized Business Center, which seemed adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
RRempala
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 7, 2013

trip to philly

excellent location right in the city center in close proximity to everything you would ever want to see in philly...a walk away from south philly, the subway if you don't want to walk, just down the street from independence hall and the liberty bell, and of course the beautiful city hall building, has a cool pub in the lobby, close to banks, starbucks, and other restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Independence Hall

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
Sporty Traveler
Business
Chapel Hill
May 26, 2013

Business Trip

Room was very small. Controlling temperature was impossible. Either got too hot or too cold. Not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Bizkid
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Apr 22, 2013

Comfortable, Well-Located, Friendly Staff

Room was very comfortable, with a great mattress and just-right pillows. Water pressure was a little low in the shower, but had plenty of hot water. The room was clean and comfortable, except for a little dust in the corners of the room where it hadn't been completely vacuumed in some time. The only problem I had was with the door lock, where either the tumblers are wearing out or it needs a new battery, but the handle would only open consistently by pulling the handle up, and only sometimes pushing down. I slept very well, the room temperature was just right, and I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Cafe Express shop in the hotel makes a much better breakfast sandwich than the Elephant & Castle, for half the price.

Back to menu Return to top