$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

4 stars
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
114 reviews
great stay

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter for a college audition. The room was clean and comfortable... See full review

  • Gail T.
  • Dec 9, 2013
nice hotel

That's nice and a pleasent stay here. While the internet access was not that so good. See full review

  • canguang
  • Nov 30, 2013
Restful Center City location conveniently close to shopping and dining
The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia in downtown Philadelphia offers a convenient location for business or leisure travel. Just a few blocks north of Rittenhouse Square, shopping and dining options are plentiful. Hotel amenities include free apples and coffee in the spacious new lobby; complimentary high-speed Internet access; an on-site 24-hour fitness center; free access to nearby Philadelphia Sports Club and an outdoor pool. Nonsmoking guest rooms with comfortable bedding and unique amenities make for a restful night.
Highlights:
  • Outdoor pool, on-site 24-hour fitness center, complimentary access to nearby Philadelphia Sports Club
  • Central downtown location close to Rittenhouse Square, City Hall and the Cultural District
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Floors with quiet-zone rules in place on weeknights from evening through late morning, with no housekeeping during those times unless requested
Rooms:

The completely nonsmoking Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia offers 443 guestrooms and two suites, all decorated in muted tones and dark-wood furniture. Standard amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access; comfortable beds with pillow-top mattresses and luxury linens; work-station desks with lamps; televisions with premium channels and pay movies; coffeemakers; hairdryers and irons with ironing boards.

Features:

The hotel provides guests with tastefully appointed rooms and suites with modern amenities such as complimentary wireless Internet access, cable/satellite TV with in-room movies and video games, telephone with voice mail, free local calls, desk and chair, iron and ironing board as well as coffee maker. Suites come with separate sitting area.

Dining

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia does not have an on-site restaurant but diners can sample local and international cuisines at nearby food outlets. Room service is available.

Transportation:
  • SEPTA Subway Suburban Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)
Attractions:
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • City Hall (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Historic District (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business:
  • Multiple conference/meeting rooms
  • Dedicated meetings director
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Catering services
  • Audio/visual equipment
Policies and Fees
  • Room service is available from 6:00 AM to 1:00 PM and 3:30 PM to 11:00 PM.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia Rooms

ADA Hearing Impaired Club Floor
ADA Hearing Impaired Club Floor King - 336 sq ft- ADA Tub - Free Wi Fi
One Bedroom Suite King
One bedroom suite king- 1 king Free internet access
Traditional Guestroom with One Q
Traditional Guestroom with One Queen Bed - 219 Sq Ft - Free Wi Fi - Coffeemaker
Traditional Guestroom with One K
Traditional Guestroom with One King Bed - 336 Sq Ft - Free Wi Fi - Coffeemaker
Traditional Guestroom with 2 Dou
336 sq ft -Two Double Beds - Free Wi Fi - Coffee Maker
Club Level with One Queen Bed
Club Level with One Queen Bed 219 sq ft- Free Wi Fi - Access to Club Lounge - Flat Screen TV
Club Level with One King Bed
Club Level with One King Bed 336 Sq Ft- Free Wi Fi - King bed - Club Lounge Access - Flat Screen TV
Club Level with Two Double Beds
Club Level with Two Double Beds - 336 Sq Ft - Flat Screen TV - Free Wi Fi
ADA King Hearing Impaired Roll-i
ADA King Hearing Impaired Roll-in Shower 336 sq ft - 1 King - Free Wi Fi
ADA King Hearing Impaired with t
ADA King Hearing Impaired with Tub 336 Sq Ft - Removable Tub Seat - TTY Visual Alerts - Free Wi Fi

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9532 -75.17
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.7 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Room Service
Available From 6am-1pm and 330pm-11pm- From Full Menu
Public House
Sports Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

3.6 / 5
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
Shy Shy
Upstate NY
Aug 13, 2012

Good Deal

The Sonesta Hotel is located in a nice area, and easy to get around to the various sites. Staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
Ms Nino
New York, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Ms Nino

Great experience, the staff of the hotel very kind and helpful, I call when we were in our way to ask them to have my daughter's crip in the room by the time we would be there, since we were checking in at late night and they did it. Parking lot conveniently located next to the hotel. The hotel is located on Market street so it is very convenient and walking distance from mayor attractions in downtown. Next time we go to Philly we will definitely will stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you travel with kids look for a hotel that is walking distance from main attractions so, if you need to go back for any reason ie, nap, lunch, diaper change you can do it without loose the rest of your day traveling back and forward!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
jladrae1
Alexandria, VA
Jul 9, 2012

Valet is awful

The pool had a lot of pigeons around it and didn't seem clean. However, the hotel itself was pretty nice. My issue was the valet. There was nobody in line and it takes them a turnaround time of 15-30 minutes to get your car and you cannot call ahead. Secondly, they left my car lights on and my car battery died. Seriously need to re-staff that,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Mrs. TW
Mountain Top, PA
Jul 5, 2012

Good for long weekend

The hotel and staff were wonderful. The only problem was a lack of maintenance. The towel bar fell of the wall and the air conditioner and clothes dryer filters must not have ever been cleaned. The parking fee felt like a complete rip off and the valet was the only staff member who was not pleasant and helpful. Other than these minor problems we had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The coffee shop is a great place to grab a quick bite or drink and the staff are very friendly.

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
JKSV
New York City
Jun 30, 2012

College Trip

Central location, easy to explore the city on foot. Close to train stations making it easy to get to and from the hotel by train quickly. Rooftop pool was lots of fun. Rooms are on the small side and could use some updating. Lobby cafe was convenient for a quick breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Frequent Traveler 101
Jersey City, New Jersey
Jun 28, 2012

Great weekend trip

The hotel room were very comfortable, the staff was very helpful and patient and the hotel was situated in a perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

De Nardo's Seafood was the best!! Food was great, great value, staff was excellent!!!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
berean86wp
washington, dc
Jun 25, 2012

It's not true that you get what you pay for! I got better

My stay was so over the top in terms of my contentment with my stay that I almost feel like I stole something. The room was comfortable, clean, packed with amenities, and the staff to a person was pleasant. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

beautiful outdoor bar half a block away. Septa 1/2 a block away.

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
Native Philadelphian
South Carolina
Jun 25, 2012

Sleep Over

I was a little disappointed for the price at this 4star hotel. The room was less than what I'd imagined. The sink was off from the actual bathroom which was a severe waste of space. We could barely turn around in it. We've had regular hotel/motel stays for way less and had the convenience of a microwave and mini refrigerator. This place had neither. Nice, but a little overrated for a one nights stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food all around you!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Sbgwmp
Kentucky
Jun 24, 2012

Too many slip ups

The hotel was a nice, slightly luxurious experience, worth what I paid for it if all went well. However, the parking was way overpriced at $42 overnight for valet, so I tried to park on my own the second night. When I asked them to take off the charges, instead they doubled them! We left our room at 2 PM one day, and we had already received a note that they tried to make it up, so I called down to arrange it. They said they would but they didn't do it. The hotel did compensate us with two room service breakfasts, which were excellent, so I suppose it was worthwhile. I'd probably give them another try if I was flying in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
Essence
Detroit, MI
May 24, 2012

Staff

The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. Professional on all levels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top