$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

4 stars
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
122 reviews
Great Hotel, Great Location!!!

This hotel was fresh, clean and had a nice friendly vibe and was not pretentious. Rooms were very... See full review

  • Nonaccidental Tourst
  • Sep 9, 2014
Loved the hotel and staff !! Would stay there anytime again

Fresh remodeled and AWSOME service. The staff was very helpfull and friendly .. Bed is very... See full review

  • Tanmye
  • Jul 19, 2014
The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia makes the most of its Center City location, with a rooftop pool looking out over the skyline. In-room video games, movies and extra considerations like quiet-zone floors for working during the week make it a favorite for those in Philly on business. Funky decor in various shades of red signifies the lounge areas, and cityscape prints adorn the bed-heads in the rooms. Cafe Express is handy for grabbing something on the way out of the lobby, but if you've got more time on your hands, Rittenhouse Square eateries are just beyond the hotel steps, whether you're craving a Philly cheesesteak or some English-style pub grub.
Key facts
  • 445 guestrooms
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)
  • In-room dining
  • 24-hour business center
  • 24-hour fitness center and complimentary passes to Philadelphia Sports Club gym
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Liberty Ballroom for weddings and social events
  • Rooftop swimming pool, open from June to September
  • On-site ATM
Neighborhood
Situated on Market Street in downtown Philadelphia, the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia puts guests on the doorstep of monumental US attractions like the Liberty Bell Center, Independence Hall and the National Constitution Center. For family fun, take the kids to Franklin Square for a carousel ride or to the Philadelphia Zoo in Fairmont Park to the north for close encounters with exotic animals. Depending on the season, sports fans can cheer on Philadelphia's football, hockey or baseball teams at venues like Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia Eagles) located within a four-mile-radius of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you need accommodations for disabled travelers, ask about one of the 17 ADA-compliant rooms available in the building.

Consider an Executive Club Floor upgrade if the idea of a private lounge, complimentary breakfast service, and evening refreshments sounds too tempting to ignore.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9532 -75.17
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe Queen City View
Deluxe Queen City View 336 Sq Ft - Queen bed Various Views of Center City
Deluxe ADA King Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Queen Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm Shwr
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Comm Shower
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm
Description not provided
Deluxe King City View
Deluxe King City View -336 Sq Ft - King Bed Various views of Center City
Deluxe Two Queen City View
Deluxe Two Queen City View - 336 Sq Ft Various Views of Center City
Club Queen City View
Club Queen City View - access to club lounge Various Views of Center City
Club King City View
Club King City View - Access to club lounge. Various views of Center City
Club Two Queen City View
Club 2 Queen City View - Access to club lounge Various views of Center City
Junior Ste King Sofa City View
Junior Ste King Sofa City View - King Bed- Sofabed - Various Views of Center City
Club One Bedroom Ste King Sofa
One bedroom Suite with connecting King bedroom
Hospitality Ste Sofa Coty View
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.7 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Room Service
Available From 6am-1pm and 330pm-11pm- From Full Menu
Public House
Sports Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 122
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
3rd time traveler
Washington dc
Aug 3, 2009

OKAY but didn't fit to review's standard

they were in midst of doing construction in the hotel so there were many times when we had to wait for ONE elevator to transport the entire hotel. Valet parking was the worst. we were given an hour and half wait just to get our car out. no hotel should expect their customers to wait that long esp. when you're paying over 30 dollars to get it parked and returned to you. i could not sleep at night. the walls were so thin i could hear EVERYTHING that was going on in the hallways. it's probably not the hotel's fault for having unrespectable, noisy customers. otherwise, the hotel was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrittanyWhyte003
NY, NY
Sep 2, 2014

Not Impressed by any means

I stood at Sonesta for Labor Day last year and for Labor Day this year. They definitely did renovate but I cannot say there was a huge upgrade or that I was majorly impressed. The lobby is spacious, with two small uncomfortable couch/benches (they do not have backs). There is a bellman desk constantly unattended. There were about 4 front desk associates at the front desk when I arrived. One of the associates, a male, was on the phone with a customer when I arrived. The woman next to him offered to help me but had to work off of the computer that was in front of the male. While she helped me I just watched the guy at the desk make faces indicating his annoyance from the customer on the phone. I asked the woman for a good restaurant nearby. She suggested the Midtown Diner and insisted it was better than the food served at the Hotel's restaurant. The Midtown Diner was horrible. They did not serve bottled water, which I wanted after my meal, for the hotel room and night's sleep, so I figured I would get one from the cafe in the hotel. When I got to the hotel I asked the bartender if they served bottled water, he pointed to the fridge. I asked "are you pointing out my options or do i go get one (they were far in the back, by the service station)"? He told me I could pick. I went to open the fridge and it would not open. He told me to pull harder. I moved the entire fridge completely, it was locked. The bartender could care less. He said " that's strange, you can ask the people at the front desk if they have the key, i don't". I walked a few blocks to the nearest Rite Aid for a bottle of water. A hotel servicing hundreds of people did not have one bottle of water to spare. I asked the bartenders what if I called down from my room. His response "well room service ends at 11PM". When I was checking out, about to get my car from the parking lot, I noticed a kiosk to pay for parking. I used the kiosk and paid $109 for my 3 nights. When I returned home I noticed my card was charged twice for parking, once from the kiosk, and again from the hotel directly. Maybe they should put a sign somewhere? I could go on but I do not have time. I work for the highest grossing hospitality group in the country and Sonesta could use a few pointers. Service is everything, without that, the renovation is irrelevant, and I even have suggestions for that. One should go above and beyond. Kill them with kindness. Not a horrible hotel but not worth the price. It's your average hotel chain wrapped in a pretty bow. I am about to call them to go over the cc charges. Can't wait. I will not be staying there next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A.Kitchen = Delicious! Great Service!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jladrae1
Alexandria, VA
Jul 9, 2012

Valet is awful

The pool had a lot of pigeons around it and didn't seem clean. However, the hotel itself was pretty nice. My issue was the valet. There was nobody in line and it takes them a turnaround time of 15-30 minutes to get your car and you cannot call ahead. Secondly, they left my car lights on and my car battery died. Seriously need to re-staff that,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ernsty
Schweiz
Jan 15, 2012

Winter Classics stay 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for the NHL Winter Classics. The Hotel was OK, but we didn't get what we payed for. Compared to what other downton Hotels cost, the Crowne Plaza is to expensive. A big minus is that the breakfast is not includet and there's no complimentary Hotel shuttle to the Airport. The rooms need a renovation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Elephant and Castle Pub in the Hotel. Great food!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Harrisburg
Apr 8, 2011

Girls weekend in Philly

The location was great. Only 2 miles from the train station and walking distance to most attractions. The staff was awesome. The beds we had were older box springs and mattresses comfy but not plush. The room was very clean. I do not recommend eating at the hotel pub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The casino at the waterfront.

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler 101
Jersey City, New Jersey
Jun 28, 2012

Great weekend trip

The hotel room were very comfortable, the staff was very helpful and patient and the hotel was situated in a perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

De Nardo's Seafood was the best!! Food was great, great value, staff was excellent!!!

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angie Jill Jackie Cath
Edinburgh, Scotland
Dec 4, 2013

Girls shopping weekend

The staff were so friendly & couldn't do anymore for us, the hotel was clean, comfortable & very central.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

King of Prussia Mall, every shop you could think off is in this mall.

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Jun 7, 2009

Nice weekend

It was a really nice weekend on downtown Philly. Very friendly staff and beautiful rooms. The only downside is the price of the parking attached to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaret T
Somers Point, NJ
Jan 13, 2014

Girl's Night Out

My childhood friends get together approximately 4 times per year for girl's night out. This year we choose Sonesta in Philadelphia. It was exactly what we were looking for! A super friendly and accomadating staff, a clean and comfortable room, and a restaurant and cafe for dining for both dinner and breakfast! A great experience...we'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Belle1122
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Jan 4, 2012

New Year Eve

We got three rooms paid in full in advance and had no problems or delays with check in or check out. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The shower room is small but overall the room is very nice and the hotel is flexible with accommodating special requests like putting multiple rooms together etc. Great place to stay for new years too, central location and near all the action!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Lucky Strike its great!!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search