$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

4 stars
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
172 reviews
Loved the hotel and staff !! Would stay there anytime again

Fresh remodeled and AWSOME service. The staff was very helpfull and friendly .. Bed is very... See full review

  • Tanmye
  • Jul 19, 2014
great stay

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter for a college audition. The room was clean and comfortable... See full review

  • Gail T.
  • Dec 9, 2013
The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia makes the most of its Center City location, with a rooftop pool looking out over the skyline. In-room video games, movies and extra considerations like quiet-zone floors for working during the week make it a favorite for those in Philly on business. Funky decor in various shades of red signifies the lounge areas, and cityscape prints adorn the bed-heads in the rooms. Cafe Express is handy for grabbing something on the way out of the lobby, but if you've got more time on your hands, Rittenhouse Square eateries are just beyond the hotel steps, whether you're craving a Philly cheesesteak or some English-style pub grub.
Key facts
  • 445 guestrooms
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)
  • In-room dining
  • 24-hour business center
  • 24-hour fitness center and complimentary passes to Philadelphia Sports Club gym
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Liberty Ballroom for weddings and social events
  • Rooftop swimming pool, open from June to September
  • On-site ATM
Neighborhood
Situated on Market Street in downtown Philadelphia, the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia puts guests on the doorstep of monumental US attractions like the Liberty Bell Center, Independence Hall and the National Constitution Center. For family fun, take the kids to Franklin Square for a carousel ride or to the Philadelphia Zoo in Fairmont Park to the north for close encounters with exotic animals. Depending on the season, sports fans can cheer on Philadelphia's football, hockey or baseball teams at venues like Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia Eagles) located within a four-mile-radius of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you need accommodations for disabled travelers, ask about one of the 17 ADA-compliant rooms available in the building.

Consider an Executive Club Floor upgrade if the idea of a private lounge, complimentary breakfast service, and evening refreshments sounds too tempting to ignore.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe Queen City View
Deluxe Queen City View 336 Sq Ft - Queen bed Various Views of Center City
Deluxe ADA King Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Queen Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm Shwr
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Comm Shower
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm
Description not provided
Deluxe King City View
Deluxe King City View -336 Sq Ft - King Bed Various views of Center City
Deluxe Two Queen City View
Deluxe Two Queen City View - 336 Sq Ft Various Views of Center City
Club Queen City View
Club Queen City View - access to club lounge Various Views of Center City
Club King City View
Club King City View - Access to club lounge. Various views of Center City
Club Two Queen City View
Club 2 Queen City View - Access to club lounge Various views of Center City
Junior Ste King Sofa City View
Junior Ste King Sofa City View - King Bed- Sofabed - Various Views of Center City
Club One Bedroom Ste King Sofa
One bedroom Suite with connecting King bedroom
Hospitality Ste Sofa Coty View
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9532 -75.17
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.7 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Room Service
Available From 6am-1pm and 330pm-11pm- From Full Menu
Public House
Sports Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mister L
Business
California
Feb 4, 2010

No rest for the wicked...or anyone else

When I checked in at 1:00 AM, I was shown a notice that maintenance construction would start at 9:00 AM. Then I was told it would really be 8:00 AM. In fact, loud non-stop hammering started at 7:15 AM. It ended when the jack hammer started at 8:00 AM. Then it was like a continuous root canal. It was not possible to rest or to work. This is not my idea of a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Panorama Italian restaurant on No. Front St. was excellent.

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
USA1traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 5, 2014

Unexpected charges

Despite being a 3.5 star hotel in central Philadelphia, this hotel is lacking many amenities. It is undergoing renovation, so you can't even find the hotel easily when driving on Market street. I stayed in a non-smoking room that smells like a smoking room. No flat screen TV, only those old 20 inch big box old TV. Additionally, if you drive, they charge you $42 a day for valet parking that you have to pay because they don't have a regular parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Whitneyje
Business
New York, NY
Aug 13, 2013

Don't stay here unless you want your belongings stolen

I checked into this hotel and did my usual walk through of the room. I immediately noticed the shower head was full of pink bacterial mold. I looked around the bed for an outlet to plug my phone into. There was a heap of dust on the bed frame and around the sides of the bed. I pulled down the sheets and there was hair in the bed. I went down to the front desk to ask if my room could be cleaned. I ended up going to the local drugstore and getting cleaning supplies to clean the shower myself and I slept on top of the bed. I checked out of the hotel and was told I could leave my bag in the storage room since I would be checking in again shortly. When I returned, my bag was lost. It took the staff nearly an hour to retrieve it. When I went to my room, I had the same issues with cleanliness and after letting the front desk know I was given a new room. The shower head had pink bacterial mold again, but I decided to just clean it myself again. The next day I returned to the hotel from a day of work and opened my bag to find my passport (that was zipped into the side of my bag in a designer passport holder when I left) was sitting on top of my clothes. The passport holder also had spending money in it. I went to the front desk to let them know my passport holder as well as my money had been stolen. A security guard came upstairs and recorded a statement. I was told I would be contacted by the hotel's insurance company within 72 hours. I checked out of the hotel three days later and still had not received a call. When I returned home, I contacted the hotel security manager. He of course did not answer and did not return my call. The next day, I was finally contacted by the insurance company. A lovely representative let me know that the housekeeper denied stealing my passport holder and money so there was nothing that could be done. She insisted that it was her word against my own and since she denied it, there waa nothing that she could do. Unless you would like to shower in pink bacterial mold, sleep in a bed with someone else's hair, have your bags misplaced, and have your belongings stolen without remorse do not stay at this hotel. Pay the extra 10 bucks a night and stay at a real hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Blown off customer
Business
Pittsburgh
Nov 28, 2013

Might be OK -- who knows.

My daughter got admitted to the hospital for over a week when I was supposed to stay @ this hotel- -I called the hotel to see if they could give me credit, even partial, for a future stay. They said no -- Told me to talk to my travel agency. I called the travel agency, who called the hotel and were told to basically tell me tough luck. I e-mailed the hotel, got no response.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid this hotel

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gosh333
Business
Illinois
Mar 13, 2013

Fell through the cracks

I arrived before the room was ready. There was no quiet place to work while waiting. Then after I checked in, I got stuck in an elevator for 30 minutes and had to be rescued. Then after checking in I found that Internet wasn't available in the room, so the hotel moved me to another room. Just after moving into that room, another guest arrived saying it was their room - they had just checked in and had a key. I was given a breakfast voucher for my trouble. I couldn't stay for breakfast next morning and asked if I could use it for dinner instead. The answer was no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Care1223
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 23, 2014

Awful Customer Service!

I will NEVER stay at this Sonesta again, unless they have a major overhaul in their staff. It will be (it was under construction during my stay) a beautiful hotel. Unfortunately, their staff needs work! Our shower tub was not draining well so we were bathing in our filth. They came to drain it while we were gone, but when I got back, I saw that they've left the PLUNGER ON THE SINK COUNTER! it was inches away from my toothbrush, razor and hairbrush. YUCK! they then try to give me a cheap-o toothbrush, but I asked them to replace all of the items with items that are of the same quality. I then got a late checkout, and was stopped by the cleaning lady to be asked about when I will be checking out. Why are they rushing me?! I then brought my bags to the main desk to to be held for the day. I was waiting there for 15 minutes just because the couldn't find the tags and I had to run after him with other bags. Lastly, the bell men odid not bring out luggage to the main entrance with our cars and have lingered around for a tip. I have not gotten one single point of pleasent customer service during my stay at the Sonesta. It is ashame beucase it was going to be a beautiful hotel with horrible customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mister L
Business
California
Feb 4, 2010

No rest for the wicked...or anyone else

When I checked in at 1:00 AM, I was shown a notice that maintenance construction would start at 9:00 AM. Then I was told it would really be 8:00 AM. In fact, loud non-stop hammering started at 7:15 AM. It ended when the jack hammer started at 8:00 AM. Then it was like a continuous root canal. It was not possible to rest or to work. This is not my idea of a 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Panorama Italian restaurant on No. Front St. was excellent.

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Morel
Business
Miami, Florida
Aug 12, 2009

The good, the bad and the ugly

The hotel was clean, clear, quite. The stuff was friendly, courteos and helpfull. But rooms don't have mini bar and either wi-fi internet. Only on the lobby they have wi-fi. On Hotel television there is not Multi language tv. Nothing in Spanish, French, German, etc., just English. I saw many Germans tourists at the Pub having breakfast and talking in German

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

none

Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jun 26, 2011

The good and the bad

The hotel was in a nice location in Philadelphia that is central to all the tourist sites. The amenities are good. The problem with the hotel was the room was too small. The furniture took up the room and there wasn't much room to move around. There was only one chair to sit in the room otherwise, you would need to sit on the bed. I definately would not stay at this crowne plaza.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sporty Traveler
Business
Chapel Hill
May 26, 2013

Business Trip

Room was very small. Controlling temperature was impossible. Either got too hot or too cold. Not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top