$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

4 stars
1800 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
125 reviews
Last minute get away

Second stay at the hotel, everything always clean, staff friendly, great place See full review

  • Jg10025
  • Oct 14, 2014
Great Hotel, Great Location!!!

This hotel was fresh, clean and had a nice friendly vibe and was not pretentious. Rooms were very... See full review

  • Nonaccidental Tourst
  • Sep 9, 2014
The Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia makes the most of its Center City location, with a rooftop pool looking out over the skyline. In-room video games, movies and extra considerations like quiet-zone floors for working during the week make it a favorite for those in Philly on business. Funky decor in various shades of red signifies the lounge areas, and cityscape prints adorn the bed-heads in the rooms. Cafe Express is handy for grabbing something on the way out of the lobby, but if you've got more time on your hands, Rittenhouse Square eateries are just beyond the hotel steps, whether you're craving a Philly cheesesteak or some English-style pub grub.
Key facts
  • 445 guestrooms
  • High-speed Internet access (fees may apply)
  • In-room dining
  • 24-hour business center
  • 24-hour fitness center and complimentary passes to Philadelphia Sports Club gym
  • 16 meeting rooms
  • Liberty Ballroom for weddings and social events
  • Rooftop swimming pool, open from June to September
  • On-site ATM
Neighborhood
Situated on Market Street in downtown Philadelphia, the Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia puts guests on the doorstep of monumental US attractions like the Liberty Bell Center, Independence Hall and the National Constitution Center. For family fun, take the kids to Franklin Square for a carousel ride or to the Philadelphia Zoo in Fairmont Park to the north for close encounters with exotic animals. Depending on the season, sports fans can cheer on Philadelphia's football, hockey or baseball teams at venues like Lincoln Financial Field (Philadelphia Eagles) located within a four-mile-radius of the hotel.
Hints and tips
If you need accommodations for disabled travelers, ask about one of the 17 ADA-compliant rooms available in the building.

Consider an Executive Club Floor upgrade if the idea of a private lounge, complimentary breakfast service, and evening refreshments sounds too tempting to ignore.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.9532 -75.17
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia Rooms

Deluxe Queen City View
Deluxe Queen City View 336 Sq Ft - Queen bed Various Views of Center City
Deluxe ADA King Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Queen Communication
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm Shwr
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA King Comm Shower
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Bathtub
Description not provided
Deluxe ADA Two Queen Comm
Description not provided
Deluxe King City View
Deluxe King City View -336 Sq Ft - King Bed Various views of Center City
Deluxe Two Queen City View
Deluxe Two Queen City View - 336 Sq Ft Various Views of Center City
Club Queen City View
Club Queen City View - access to club lounge Various Views of Center City
Club King City View
Club King City View - Access to club lounge. Various views of Center City
Club Two Queen City View
Club 2 Queen City View - Access to club lounge Various views of Center City
Junior Ste King Sofa City View
Junior Ste King Sofa City View - King Bed- Sofabed - Various Views of Center City
Club One Bedroom Ste King Sofa
One bedroom Suite with connecting King bedroom
Hospitality Ste Sofa Coty View
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.3 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.4 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.5 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.5 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • The Palestra: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 1.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 1.1 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 1.2 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.2 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.2 mi
  • Christ Church: 1.2 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1.3 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.6 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,456.7 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Room Service
Available From 6am-1pm and 330pm-11pm- From Full Menu
Public House
Sports Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Nino
New York, NY
Jul 18, 2012

Ms Nino

Great experience, the staff of the hotel very kind and helpful, I call when we were in our way to ask them to have my daughter's crip in the room by the time we would be there, since we were checking in at late night and they did it. Parking lot conveniently located next to the hotel. The hotel is located on Market street so it is very convenient and walking distance from mayor attractions in downtown. Next time we go to Philly we will definitely will stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you travel with kids look for a hotel that is walking distance from main attractions so, if you need to go back for any reason ie, nap, lunch, diaper change you can do it without loose the rest of your day traveling back and forward!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ernsty
Business
Schweiz
Jan 15, 2012

Winter Classics stay 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for the NHL Winter Classics. The Hotel was OK, but we didn't get what we payed for. Compared to what other downton Hotels cost, the Crowne Plaza is to expensive. A big minus is that the breakfast is not includet and there's no complimentary Hotel shuttle to the Airport. The rooms need a renovation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Elephant and Castle Pub in the Hotel. Great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Librarian
Business
Williamsburg, VA, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Location, Location, Location... and that is it!

The hotel room and its bathroom were actually quite small. Especially the bathroom (tiny). TV needs to be updated... Still using a "big tube" set. Valet parking was confusing, especially when retrieving the car. Location can't be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's is in a must see building

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jladrae1
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jul 9, 2012

Valet is awful

The pool had a lot of pigeons around it and didn't seem clean. However, the hotel itself was pretty nice. My issue was the valet. There was nobody in line and it takes them a turnaround time of 15-30 minutes to get your car and you cannot call ahead. Secondly, they left my car lights on and my car battery died. Seriously need to re-staff that,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Native Philadelphian
Business
South Carolina
Jun 25, 2012

Sleep Over

I was a little disappointed for the price at this 4star hotel. The room was less than what I'd imagined. The sink was off from the actual bathroom which was a severe waste of space. We could barely turn around in it. We've had regular hotel/motel stays for way less and had the convenience of a microwave and mini refrigerator. This place had neither. Nice, but a little overrated for a one nights stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food all around you!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shy Shy
Business
Upstate NY
Aug 13, 2012

Good Deal

The Sonesta Hotel is located in a nice area, and easy to get around to the various sites. Staff is friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Seasoned Traveler 412
Business
Philadelphia PA
Jan 3, 2013

Not 4 stars by far...

Bathroom is the size of a closet and the room is also small. The furniture and decor is worn and outdated. The room also has a foul odor. I meant to book another local hotel ($ofitel) and I don't know how this site fooled me into mistakenly booking this dump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gergg
Business
Connecticut
Jan 18, 2013

Pretty Ordinary

Very ordinary. Just missing something if you're looking for a nice place. Fine for a quick over night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Erri
Business
long island, ny
Mar 14, 2013

ehh

the tv was older than my grandma's! the bed was uncomfortable. the rug did not feel like it was vacuumed, for the whole week we were there. when we asked for towels to be brought up the staff member that brought them up had an attitude. when i called and asked about parking i was told by a staff member when i called that it would be one flat rate for the valet for those who stayed at the hotel, but then when we arrived we were told that it wasn't and they didn't even offer a discount or anything. i liked the location of the hotel and just wished we had a better room and more accommodating staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Runner400
Business
PA
May 14, 2013

Saturday Evening in the City

Had a Club room but it was very small, did not even have a lounge chair. Club lounge was just OK. Very pricey room, not good value. Staff was excellent. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lillykitty123
Business
Norristown, PA
Oct 28, 2013

Good location and value

Booked the Sonesta with a discount code so I was pleased with the value compared to what it would have cost me to stay elsewhere. Front desk staff were accomodating. We required a fridge in our room and got it free of charge (I believe probably because I was a Sonesta member and had stayed at the hotel before). They brought it to our room very quickly. The room is large. TV is dated and the sheets and pillows were scratchy. I didn't find the bed to comfortable at all. But, great value in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top